AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 9th February, 2008, 09:35 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuknow View Post
4.7 on air....that is just silly....I can't even imagine under water....5.0 anyone????
5Ghz on watercooling. Galaxy 8800 Ultra (stock cooler no mods)
So yea, it's already being done...
Wolfdale E8400 ES 5ghz 1m Vapo LS - XtremeSystems Forums
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 9th February, 2008 at 09:36 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2008, 02:07 AM
weldzilla's Avatar
Metal Wizard
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,412

Well Thankyou dsio You know I am into my 20th year of intels. Although back in the day it was not Intel that was considered evil by us Amiga users. It was IBM based systems that were considered to be the "darkside". We just thought Intel and AMD were slow!!!
But I made the move cuz Amiga was a horribly managed company and I could see that the 68000 series was going to be it's last decent product.
Over the years I really began to love my intel's. It seemed like I could always get more from them then most people. Not all people but most.
It may sound weird since they are inanimate but, I kinda have a feel for them and a sense about them. Can't really explain it. I am just simpatico with them.

WZ

Last edited by weldzilla; 10th February, 2008 at 02:10 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2008, 04:27 AM
Strongwolf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2006
Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
Posts: 1,969

I'm speechless! What kind of case is that, I love it!
__________________
Live Long and Prosper

ASUS G73 SW, IE7, 20 GB DD3 ram


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2008, 06:30 AM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

From day one (starting 5 years back) I've been and "Intel Man" so to speak and have always like the rock solid reliability of them. I know exactly what you mean by "having a feel" for something. Whether it be playing guitar, running machinery, working on car engines, building something out of wood or whatever...It's like a sixth sense about things and is a rare quality in most people that possess this.
But having years behind you working with Intel and their settings doesn't hurt either...but even still there is an art to doing this right and effectively...something you seem to do well Weldzilla
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 10th February, 2008 at 06:03 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2008, 08:37 AM
weldzilla's Avatar
Metal Wizard
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,412

Cheap Case

If you have seen my builds then you know it is a cheap!!! case!
It had standard HDD rack But I cut it away so I could transverse mount my HDD's to allow more room for vid card. This is why I like inexpensive cases. I know going in I am going to cut them up anyway. I have yet to see any case cheap or spendy that could not improved on.
I do like the fact that the red has so much intensity that it makes even the CPU cooler look like it's red.

WZ
Attached Thumbnails
P5KE-Wifi + Wolfdale = Incredible!!-img_4215.jpg  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2008, 10:40 AM
Strongwolf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2006
Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico
Posts: 1,969

Looks with a lot of room from here. BTW, that monster of you, does it folds???
__________________
Live Long and Prosper

ASUS G73 SW, IE7, 20 GB DD3 ram


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 10th February, 2008, 06:13 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

I got a question for you Weldzilla since I don't recognize that CPU cooler...
You said it's a Scythe Cooler with 100mm fan, but what model is it??? It does a great job of cooling that Wolfdale and it looks like it's light Aluminum as well.
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 11th February, 2008, 03:18 AM
weldzilla's Avatar
Metal Wizard
 
Join Date: January 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,412

Here you go Muff1N. This is the link to where I got mine

Scythe SCMN-1100 Mine Rev. B Heatpipe CPU Cooler for AMD K8, AM2 and Intel 478, LGA775

That is the price I paid for mine too. That remains the same.

WZ
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 11th February, 2008, 09:55 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Quote:
Originally Posted by weldzilla View Post
Here you go Muff1N. This is the link to where I got mine

Scythe SCMN-1100 Mine Rev. B Heatpipe CPU Cooler for AMD K8, AM2 and Intel 478, LGA775

That is the price I paid for mine too. That remains the same.

WZ
Thanks...The CPU cooler looks good too.
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2008, 05:39 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

I hate to resurrect a dead thread, but since i've got one of these arriving after the weekend, i don't suppose you could post what BIOS settings you've set to reach those speeds on air, e.g. Voltages, Clocks, Multi's, etc. I'm looking to get at least 4Ghz out of this wolfdale as Abit boards just don't OC very well, this one i have doesn't like to OC at all it seems .
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 26th April, 2008, 02:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

I can't give you exact settings but I can give you what I run on my board at and over 500FSB.

Disable C1E and CPU TM Function under Advanced/CPU Config

Under Jumperfree Config
Leave CPU and N/B GTL V reference on auto, disable spread spectrums, enable voltage dampner (also called load line calibration depending on bios version)
Voltages (Can be left on stock past 400FSB)
CPU PLL > 1.6
FSB Termination > 1.3
Northbridge > 1.55
Southbridge > Auto

Memory timings for DDR1000
tCL > 5
tRCD > 5
tRP > 5
tRAS > 15
tRRD > 4
tRFC > 50
tWR > 7
tWTR > 5
tRTP > 5

If It's not listed it can be left on auto.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 26th April, 2008, 05:06 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

Ah cheers!

Should be here on tuesday, so gonna be working on getting into the 4Ghz area, and into the sub-9 SuperPiMod times
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 26th April, 2008, 05:21 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

So you would leave loadline calibration on? Someone told me to always disable it.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 26th April, 2008, 05:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Shouldn't be much of an issue getting there, if it doesn't just jump right up there I would be surprised.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 26th April, 2008, 05:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

I've read a few negative reports of leaving it enabled. I have not seen it measured with any capable equipment yet.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 26th April, 2008, 08:40 PM
WarriorII's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 47

WZ this is some really sweet info !
Thanks for sharing it !!!!

@ccperf721p -
Those settings work nice.

I have this same board and have had.... a bit of a time with it.
although not as much as other boards.

This is a really good mobo. I haven't had a good Asus board in years.
I think this is the one to hold me over for quite some time.

Next purchase - Wolfy.


EDIT:

Little tweak here, little tweak there.... Shaved 30 secs off my Folding TPF's.
(now 10.29 @ Frame)
__________________
Unlocked & Ready to Rock !

Last edited by WarriorII; 26th April, 2008 at 09:54 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 27th April, 2008, 03:35 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Runing 1.28V core, when all cores were fully loaded it was dropping to 1.23V, with loadline calibration enabled its dropping to 1.26V
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 27th April, 2008, 05:31 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Will I never have a fast computer again!? LOL

In the new couple of weeks I hope to up grade from my current 2.4 @3.6 Core 2 to something close to that in a Quad, that's a pretty big boost in power! and I'm still falling behind faster than I'm catching up! LOL

On the up side....looks like break neck speed is going to be jaw dropping cheap!
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 27th April, 2008 at 05:32 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2008, 05:13 AM
Logan's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2004
Posts: 1,235

I actually just retired my 3500+ Winchester last week (now in the woman's computer). I built a new rig myself and came here to see about some cheaper Core Duos vs. X2 processors for my mom for a not-so-omgwtfbbqsauce computer she can browse the net and grandkid pictures on.

My setup is:

8400
eVGA 780i
4GB Corsair SLi DDR2
1 x eVGA 9800GTX
3 x 500gb SATA 3.0gb/s in RAID5
Sparkle 900 watt MAGNA power supply
Samsung insane-o speed DVD burner with lightscribe. Wanted a Blu-ray burner but they're so fricken expensive...and I don't have a ps3 or a BR player.

All running on Vista Ultimate 32bit.

It is the most insane speed I've ever experienced on a computer. I'm absolutely floored. Also...surprisingly enough I love Vista.

Sorry to whore the thread, but I agree on loving my 8400. I'd kiss it but I'd get shocked and have to buy a new computer.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2008, 07:24 AM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

That's what I thought when I upgraded from my last system (P4 2.4 / PC2700 memory/ ATA 100) to the one I have now.
What used to take 30 mins on my old system takes 3 mins on the new one! (Image backups of C:\Drive)
That and DVD burning now is mins instead of an hour. ( Old drive was x1 DVD-RAM )
You'll get used to the speeds pretty quick though and you'll start pushing it to go faster still! hehe
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 28th April, 2008 at 07:25 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
intel , overclocking



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wolfdale gives Conroe a good pasting (45nm vs. 65nm) keithwalton Intel Motherboards & CPUs 5 25th August, 2007 12:30 AM
Incredible artwork aghastpumpkin Random Nonsense! 13 28th March, 2006 10:03 AM
X64 and Wifi ? grandmaster_b 64 Bit computing 3 30th May, 2005 04:51 PM
new ram .. incredible speed .. ballermann EPoX MotherBoards 10 28th April, 2003 08:27 PM
incredible story lito EPoX MotherBoards 2 15th April, 2003 09:25 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0