AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #81 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2008, 10:15 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

YAY!!!! Bet you can't wait to see what this beast will do for you!!!
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #82 (permalink)  
Old 13th April, 2008, 11:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Quote:
Originally Posted by MUff1N View Post
YAY!!!! Bet you can't wait to see what this beast will do for you!!!
I have a feeling it will do pretty well for him . Once his arrives I will start posting the results of the one I have that came out of the same tray, right next to dsio's.

I spent a couple of hours playing with blends of R404/R507 in my single stage today so if time permits I will make some phase runs next Sunday. The temps these 45nm pieces carry are much better than the older quads. I would always see positive temps with my Q6600 on phase once I got past 4Ghz, but I believe -20C will be right about where this Q9450 runs which should allow some nice OC's.

I do hope the Gigabyte is up to the task..
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #83 (permalink)  
Old 14th April, 2008, 12:06 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Still keeping enough cash in reserve to buy another board if this one stays capped at 350Mhz.

Possibly a DDR2 version of an X48 from another manufacturer.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #84 (permalink)  
Old 14th April, 2008, 05:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Not to give it away, but if it stays capped at 350 it will be 170FSB shy of where I am at on water now.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #85 (permalink)  
Old 14th April, 2008, 05:45 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

4.7Ghz?
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #86 (permalink)  
Old 14th April, 2008, 05:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

4160Mhz with the Q9450. 8 x 520 . I've only run about 45 minutes of prime95 on it and nothing else so it may or not be 100% stable there.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP

Last edited by ccperf721p; 14th April, 2008 at 05:58 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #87 (permalink)  
Old 14th April, 2008, 06:12 PM
Redroar's Avatar
Member
Space Invaders Champion, Takion Champion
 
Join Date: January 2006
Posts: 831

Holy crap.

Wow....4.16ghz on a quad core....I'm drooling.....

Sounds like a winner of a chip.
__________________
"this happened to me once, only i kept wiping my nose in my sleep, so it was my hands that were covered in blood when i woke up. i saw my hands, and was like, "dear diary, all i remember is watching half a movie and falling asleep on the couch?" -Ryan North
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #88 (permalink)  
Old 14th April, 2008, 08:06 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

My chip has touched down in Australia and passed through customs.

I'm trying to thing of the best way to cool my MOSFETs and Northbridge, given that they have large copper heatsinks that seam designed to feed off the CPU fan's air movement, and the waterblock doesn't provide that.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #89 (permalink)  
Old 14th April, 2008, 08:31 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

A BFF will do the trick.

I usually mount one to move air around the CPU area.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #90 (permalink)  
Old 14th April, 2008, 08:36 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Best Friend Forever? =\

Maybe what I need is one of those Zalman L arm brackets.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles

Last edited by dsio; 14th April, 2008 at 08:37 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #91 (permalink)  
Old 14th April, 2008, 10:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

I use one of the Zalman brackets for my P5K, Asus sends fans that mount on top of the heatsinks but they are heavy enough to actually pull the heatsink up at the top just a little.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #92 (permalink)  
Old 14th April, 2008, 10:38 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio View Post
Best Friend Forever? =\

Maybe what I need is one of those Zalman L arm brackets.
Big Freakin Fan......
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #93 (permalink)  
Old 15th April, 2008, 05:33 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

OK, I retested the board, and it still limits to 350Mhz with the E2200 in it.

The Q9450 arrived a couple hours ago, used a proper high pressure waterblock mount kit this time, and a good thermal grease application, mounted it up.

First thing: The CPU defaulted to 8X266 in this board, even with the latest bios.
I set it to 400Mhz out of the box, rebooted, and it hit 400Mhz fine. No longer limited to 350Mhz. Kicked it up to 433Mhz fsb (~3.46Ghz), still stock volts. booted perfectly. Letting it sit at that for a bit while the thermal grease settles.

Although its a quad, it produces vastly less heat at 3.46Ghz on 4 cores than the E2200 did at 3.3Ghz on 2 cores. 22C idle in a very warm room.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #94 (permalink)  
Old 15th April, 2008, 06:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

They are a nice batch, I'll have to thank my friend for giving me the premium batch # and also the supplier for being kind enough to dig it out and not charge extra.

Should get to 3.8 on just a bump in voltage and 4.0 with 1.425 or so. I am getting mine ready for some phase runs but have a feeling I will run out of motherboard before the CPU maxes out.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #95 (permalink)  
Old 15th April, 2008, 07:30 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

This is just a clean windows install purely for the sake of SuperPI / CPU-Z comparison accuracy:

Its a brilliant, brilliant CPU. Seriously, worth every cent. So glad I didn't get the Q6600.
Attached Thumbnails
Wheres my Q9450 FFS-pi.jpg  
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles

Last edited by dsio; 15th April, 2008 at 07:32 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #96 (permalink)  
Old 15th April, 2008, 12:49 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

What are you trying to say about my q6600 eh??!
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #97 (permalink)  
Old 15th April, 2008, 02:07 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

dsio, what are your load temps. What are you using for cooling? My e6400 @ 3.3 folding hits 39 with a single rad and a TDX block. Just trying to see if I should push it more. I am only running 1.25 volts.

Very nice chip there.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #98 (permalink)  
Old 15th April, 2008, 08:49 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Glad to see that your enviable hardware is working for you!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #99 (permalink)  
Old 15th April, 2008, 09:28 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Yesterday load temps folding on 4 cores were 54-56C. After a night of folding, thats dropped to 46-51C. AS5 tends to take a week or so to settle before its right, also the foam on the back mounting bracket compresses over time meaning the waterblock loosens in the first few days and needs tightening down more to get the best connection.

The E2200 dropped by about 15C load temp from when it was installed to a month later. The radiator pipes aren't even warm, so I'm fairly certain that's where the difficulty lies.

On F@H Linux SMP client it seams to go about 6 minutes / percent.

The limiting factor at the moment is the DDR2, which is rubbish DDR2-800 PNY stuff. I am looking at some OCZ DDR2-1200 but I'd have to drop back to 2GB RAM, which is a bit skinny.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #100 (permalink)  
Old 16th April, 2008, 02:12 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Loaded up a F@H workunit, at 99% complete it said deadline expired and started a new one =\ 1700 odd points gone...

but it just completed another one in about 10 hours (i was playing world of warcraft alot during that time).
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wheres my agp driver ? _MID_Viking AMD Motherboards & CPUs 39 24th May, 2004 02:52 AM
awdflash..wheres latest version? stevil EPoX MotherBoards 2 21st April, 2003 09:45 PM
Wheres Me Img Tag! The Spyder Forum Feedback and Suggestion Box 5 31st January, 2003 02:38 PM
Wheres the 8RDA+ gone? slack EPoX MotherBoards 13 22nd January, 2003 01:02 AM
Wheres Allan ? Holst Random Nonsense! 2 22nd February, 2002 01:41 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:35 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0