AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 4th April, 2008, 07:16 PM

Burn in Period & OC Stability?

Since I've been overclocking my system for 10 months now I was wondering if there's a correlation between CPU burnin period and stability.

Before I needed 1.3375 vcore for a stable 3.34Ghz OC.
Now it seems that all that's needed is 1.3250v (what normally was used for 3.2Ghz OC) for my system to be stable.

I decided to test my systems stability at the lower vcore just to see and I was surprised that it was now stable where as before it would throw up a red flag seconds into testing with errors...hmmm
Thoughts???

EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 4th April, 2008 at 07:46 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 4th April, 2008, 07:20 PM
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion

Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

There is some anecdotal evidence to suggest that there actually is a sort of 'burn-in' phenomenon that occurs with chips. It seems that if you crank them right up to their limits from the outset, you can sort of 'stretch' them out as they age.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 4th April, 2008, 07:28 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gizmo View Post