AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 4th May, 2008, 11:26 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Question about vcore readings

I was wondering if Everest and Speedfan are reading the correct vcore on my CPU or not, because they both read about the same thing.
In the bios its set to 1.3125v but in Everest & Speedfan it reads as 1.25v.
So are they reading it correct after vdrop?
Thanks...
Attached Thumbnails
Question about vcore readings-everest-sensors.jpg  
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 4th May, 2008 at 11:36 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 4th May, 2008, 11:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Only way to know for sure is to measure it on the board with DVOM.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 5th May, 2008, 03:10 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

You may also have that much vdroop under load. It seems like SOP for these Intel boards.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 5th May, 2008, 08:17 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccperf721p View Post
Only way to know for sure is to measure it on the board with DVOM.
Well I don't have a voltmeter to begin with & I'm not going to poke around in there while it's powered up...be my luck I'd short something out & the mobo would end up dead...LOL
That's not under load either. That's with it at idle. Under load it drops to 1.24v.
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 5th May, 2008 at 08:20 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 5th May, 2008, 10:03 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

I hear and concur with your position on poking meter probes somewhat blindly into thine box. Excellent policy, methinks. I used to have a vacuum tube voltmeter that read up to three volts, max. Of course it belonged to the army, I didn't take it home at night. Loved that meter!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th May, 2008, 06:01 AM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

A vacuum Tube Voltmeter??? Wow...that must have been pretty big with tubes!
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 6th May, 2008, 06:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

I don't think I've ever seen a vacuum tube voltmeter, that must have been some time ago. LOL.. Don't hate me, I'm just kidding..
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 6th May, 2008, 08:49 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

It was some time ago. Somewhat smaller than a bread box, came west on the Oregon Trail in a wagon train by golly. And then across the Pacific on a China tea clipper. Used it in aid of suppressing the heathen natives, who were more wily than we were in the end.
__________________
When the world will be better.

Last edited by cloasters; 6th May, 2008 at 08:55 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10th May, 2008, 06:44 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Don't feel alone here! I too come from the land and age of tubes before there were transistors...When I was growing up we had this old tube TV that took about 3 mins to warm up and was B&W...
If you're wondering I'm now 51...yea an old fart...
What sucks is my mind is still young, it's my body that's falling apart...rrr.
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 10th May, 2008 at 06:45 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12th May, 2008, 01:46 PM
richvanrooyen's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 62

Ha ha... You think your old Muff1n, my dog is so old, he farts dust!
I remember sitting around with that old black and white... Tee hee... We didn't even have a microwave until I was about 14 or so...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12th May, 2008, 04:58 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

That would put an upper bound on your age of about 55 if it were a domestic microwave. (1965 for the first countertop domestic unit)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12th May, 2008, 07:45 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by richvanrooyen View Post
Ha ha... You think your old Muff1n, my dog is so old, he farts dust!
I remember sitting around with that old black and white... Tee hee... We didn't even have a microwave until I was about 14 or so...
I bet my cat is older than your dog!!!
He turned 23 years old (Human years) this year...
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 12th May, 2008, 08:59 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Quote:
What sucks is my mind is still young, it's my body that's falling apart...rrr.
What can I say Muff1n,...expect more of the same...":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 13th May, 2008, 01:42 PM
richvanrooyen's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 62

Oh... Did I mention my dog died like twenty years ago? Anyway, I did personally own a Commodore 64... My first baby. Never overclocked it though... I did run GEOS though which was like a overclock.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 13th May, 2008, 02:04 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
What can I say Muff1n,...expect more of the same...":O}
I think I am like this I just cant' remember all the time. I think I am young. Maybe i just don't remember I am older. Not really sure. I am getting a little confused. I think i am going to go take a nap.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 13th May, 2008, 04:16 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Your starting to sound 50 ish to me! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8KDA3J Vcore question again The Overclocker EPoX MotherBoards 9 17th May, 2006 11:34 PM
Vcore question for 2100+ I(illa Bee AMD Motherboards & CPUs 0 26th March, 2003 07:47 PM
Vcore question for ET Photon EPoX MotherBoards 11 22nd January, 2003 03:29 PM
Question about voltage readings? JAWS General Hardware Discussion 10 9th July, 2002 03:47 AM
Vcore, hirchman clip question Kaiser Soze EPoX MotherBoards 5 25th January, 2002 01:29 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:51 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0