AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2008, 06:25 PM
Abdul's Avatar
xD ~HOO-RAAH
Snake Champion, Chopper Challenge Champion, Pacman Champion, Capture The Flag Champion, Mario Bros Pipe Panic Champion, Dirt Bike 2 Champion
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 375
Send a message via MSN to Abdul

P5Q Pro and stuff

Helllo..

Just got my new system to get me through some of my time at uni! Very exciting!

Just a few questions, a lots changed since my last system.

Only one question really, overclocking my Q6600?

What CPU Voltages would i be looking at? or should be looking at?

Whadahecks CPU PLL (yeh i know coulda googled, but theres you guys!)

What NB Volatage should i be looking at?

As the title suggests my motherboard is the ASUS P5Q Pro, with the following:

Intel Q6600 G0 Stepping one..

OCZ 2x 1gb DDR2 800 Cl4 at 2.1v

WD Harddrvie

Sapphire ATI Radeon4850

AND the rest later in my sig.

Looking forward to overcloking this THING!

Cheers =D !
__________________
__________________________________________________ ___




Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2008, 06:41 PM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

FSB @ 333, and, according to some research, voltage doesn't really need to be higher than 1.368v. =)
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2008, 07:03 PM
Abdul's Avatar
xD ~HOO-RAAH
Snake Champion, Chopper Challenge Champion, Pacman Champion, Capture The Flag Champion, Mario Bros Pipe Panic Champion, Dirt Bike 2 Champion
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 375
Send a message via MSN to Abdul

Not Asking You! =)
__________________
__________________________________________________ ___




Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2008, 07:09 PM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abdul View Post
Not Asking You! =)
Your questions were addressed to the AOA community. I am, believe it or not, part of aforementioned community.

If you want help, try and accept it when it's given, instead of being picky about who you take it off.
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 7th August, 2008, 07:32 PM
Abdul's Avatar
xD ~HOO-RAAH
Snake Champion, Chopper Challenge Champion, Pacman Champion, Capture The Flag Champion, Mario Bros Pipe Panic Champion, Dirt Bike 2 Champion
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 375
Send a message via MSN to Abdul

My apologies. xD
__________________
__________________________________________________ ___




Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2008, 02:23 AM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

It's always a good policy when asking for help to not be insulting to those that offer it.
Btw, the person that answered your question is one of the more "Knowledgeable" members of the AOA Community & has been here since 2005...

Just hang out for a few days and you'll have all kinds of GOOD useful information to go off of...
When I first came here to *Cough* showoff some of my overclocking results I soon found out in short order I was going about it all the wrong way and learned a LOT
from everyone here that helped me to get better results with my overclocking.
You can get very good results with the least amount of voltage with the right settings.
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 10th August, 2008 at 03:40 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 8th August, 2008, 11:29 AM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abdul View Post
Helllo..

Just got my new system to get me through some of my time at uni! Very exciting!

Just a few questions, a lots changed since my last system.

Only one question really, overclocking my Q6600?

What CPU Voltages would i be looking at? or should be looking at?

Whadahecks CPU PLL (yeh i know coulda googled, but theres you guys!)

What NB Volatage should i be looking at?

As the title suggests my motherboard is the ASUS P5Q Pro, with the following:

Intel Q6600 G0 Stepping one..

OCZ 2x 1gb DDR2 800 Cl4 at 2.1v

WD Harddrvie

Sapphire ATI Radeon4850

AND the rest later in my sig.

Looking forward to overcloking this THING!

Cheers =D !
What are your settings like at the moment?
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 9th August, 2008, 05:43 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Quote:
Originally Posted by raphael2040 View Post
What are your settings like at the moment?
It's days later and no one knows...
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2008, 11:28 AM
Abdul's Avatar
xD ~HOO-RAAH
Snake Champion, Chopper Challenge Champion, Pacman Champion, Capture The Flag Champion, Mario Bros Pipe Panic Champion, Dirt Bike 2 Champion
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 375
Send a message via MSN to Abdul

hehe, sorry just been a little busy.

Got to 3.2Ghz, but anything over this seems to be unstable? maybe missing something?? p95 unstable.

Current settings 400FSB x 8
FSB Strap Auto
DDR800 4-4-4-12 2.1v (The timings are stock ones for the RAM)

Cpu at 1.36825v (Max load p95 13h - 58, 58, 55, 56 )

1.35v got an error on Core 3

1.4v NB

LLC on

CPU PLL Auto

CPU GTL Auto

What to do next?
Attached Thumbnails
P5Q Pro and stuff-3200.jpg  
__________________
__________________________________________________ ___




Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2008, 11:53 AM
Abdul's Avatar
xD ~HOO-RAAH
Snake Champion, Chopper Challenge Champion, Pacman Champion, Capture The Flag Champion, Mario Bros Pipe Panic Champion, Dirt Bike 2 Champion
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 375
Send a message via MSN to Abdul

3.3Ghz , 1.38125v errored

Should i go higher?
Attached Thumbnails
P5Q Pro and stuff-3300err.jpg  
__________________
__________________________________________________ ___




Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2008, 02:06 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Dude, just wait for ccp or someone that has worked with this CPU & Asus boards to come along and help you with your bios settings.
Otherwise you'll be beating your head against the wall for hours getting frustrated with errors.
Why do this when someone else has already done this for you?
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 10th August, 2008 at 03:44 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2008, 03:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

It takes a little finesse to get high FSB with a quad. I'll try to get you going in the right direction.

The Q6600 will pretty much need 1.38 - 1.4 volts to get past 3.4 on the 9 multi, and will take a little more if you are trying to push the FSB on a lower multi. He's not totally out of range.

CPU PLL should just be left at 1.5v, the most important settings are going to be vtt and GTL's. at 425 and higher Vtt will probably be in the range of 1.3v or higher (stay under 1.45 for the Q6600). For GTL's try 63% core 0/2 and 67% for core 1/3 if that does not work try 67% for both.. The P45 chipset does not need a lot of volts for high FSB. I run 475 FSB with a quad at only 1.22v to the northbridge, too high a voltage on the northbridge can cause instability as well... Northbridge GTL between 61% and 64%

Edit:: Auto settings with memory can often be too loose or too tight, so reading, understanding and optimising these timings can be very benificial to high bus speeds. Too tight causes failures for obvious reasons, but too loose or inconsistent timngs can wreak havoc as well.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP

Last edited by ccperf721p; 10th August, 2008 at 07:33 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2008, 08:10 PM
Abdul's Avatar
xD ~HOO-RAAH
Snake Champion, Chopper Challenge Champion, Pacman Champion, Capture The Flag Champion, Mario Bros Pipe Panic Champion, Dirt Bike 2 Champion
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 375
Send a message via MSN to Abdul

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccperf721p View Post
It takes a little finesse to get high FSB with a quad. I'll try to get you going in the right direction.

The Q6600 will pretty much need 1.38 - 1.4 volts to get past 3.4 on the 9 multi, and will take a little more if you are trying to push the FSB on a lower multi. He's not totally out of range.

CPU PLL should just be left at 1.5v, the most important settings are going to be vtt and GTL's. at 425 and higher Vtt will probably be in the range of 1.3v or higher (stay under 1.45 for the Q6600). For GTL's try 63% core 0/2 and 67% for core 1/3 if that does not work try 67% for both.. The P45 chipset does not need a lot of volts for high FSB. I run 475 FSB with a quad at only 1.22v to the northbridge, too high a voltage on the northbridge can cause instability as well... Northbridge GTL between 61% and 64%

Edit:: Auto settings with memory can often be too loose or too tight, so reading, understanding and optimising these timings can be very benificial to high bus speeds. Too tight causes failures for obvious reasons, but too loose or inconsistent timngs can wreak havoc as well.
1.4v in Bios for CPU doing pretty well. temp <60C (60C is max it goes to)

Gonnna try 3.4Ghz with the settings ya said.
Attached Thumbnails
P5Q Pro and stuff-3300p95.jpg  
__________________
__________________________________________________ ___




Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 10th August, 2008, 08:45 PM
Abdul's Avatar
xD ~HOO-RAAH
Snake Champion, Chopper Challenge Champion, Pacman Champion, Capture The Flag Champion, Mario Bros Pipe Panic Champion, Dirt Bike 2 Champion
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 375
Send a message via MSN to Abdul

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccperf721p View Post
It takes a little finesse to get high FSB with a quad. I'll try to get you going in the right direction.

The Q6600 will pretty much need 1.38 - 1.4 volts to get past 3.4 on the 9 multi, and will take a little more if you are trying to push the FSB on a lower multi. He's not totally out of range.

CPU PLL should just be left at 1.5v, the most important settings are going to be vtt and GTL's. at 425 and higher Vtt will probably be in the range of 1.3v or higher (stay under 1.45 for the Q6600). For GTL's try 63% core 0/2 and 67% for core 1/3 if that does not work try 67% for both.. The P45 chipset does not need a lot of volts for high FSB. I run 475 FSB with a quad at only 1.22v to the northbridge, too high a voltage on the northbridge can cause instability as well... Northbridge GTL between 61% and 64%

Edit:: Auto settings with memory can often be too loose or too tight, so reading, understanding and optimising these timings can be very benificial to high bus speeds. Too tight causes failures for obvious reasons, but too loose or inconsistent timngs can wreak havoc as well.
Board dun seem to have 67x GTL and not for different cores? Just GTL for all 4 cores. have 63x and 65x and 61x?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ___




Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2008, 02:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

65x should work well for your CPU. Experiment with it a little.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2008, 11:38 AM
Abdul's Avatar
xD ~HOO-RAAH
Snake Champion, Chopper Challenge Champion, Pacman Champion, Capture The Flag Champion, Mario Bros Pipe Panic Champion, Dirt Bike 2 Champion
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 375
Send a message via MSN to Abdul

I think this is it, 3.4Ghz.

Would it be safe to stay at this Voltage? 1.4375v? Anything below this me gets an error?

Attached Thumbnails
P5Q Pro and stuff-3400.jpg  
__________________
__________________________________________________ ___




Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2008, 01:35 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

As long as you stay within the specs for a processor it will last a long time.
It's when you go passed the VID Voltage Range that the processor will eventually breakdown regardless of how cool it is from the over-voltage...
Intel® Core 2 Quad Processor Q6600 - SLACR

Package Type: LGA775
Manufacturing Technology:65 nm
Core Stepping: G0
CPUID String: 06FBh
Thermal Design Power: 95W
Thermal Specification: 71°C
VID Voltage Range: 0.85V – 1.5V
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 11th August, 2008 at 01:41 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2008, 01:51 PM
raphael2040's Avatar
Member
3D SuperBall Champion, Caray Snake 2 Champion, Casino Blackjack Champion, Helicopter Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Blackburn, UK
Posts: 2,188
Send a message via AIM to raphael2040 Send a message via MSN to raphael2040

I'm planning on getting a Q6600 soon, with same motherboard as Abdul, but maybe slightly faster RAM.

This thread has been a great help!
__________________
ASUS X58 P6T-SE
OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3-1600
750W Corsair CMPSU-750TX
Intel Core i7 920 (Bloomfield) o/ced 4.03Ghz
ATI Sapphire Radeon 4850 w/ Accelero Twin Turbo Cooler
All housed in a Thermaltake Tai Chi Case with lots of silent fans.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2008, 02:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Can't go wrong with that combination. The P45 chipset is fun to play with, especially with a quad. The best I ever had with a P35 board and a quad was 450FSB, I've hit 475 stable and booted into Windows at 500 on the new Biostar. Going to try to get 4Ghz stable from this Q9450 this weekend..
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2008, 02:56 PM
Abdul's Avatar
xD ~HOO-RAAH
Snake Champion, Chopper Challenge Champion, Pacman Champion, Capture The Flag Champion, Mario Bros Pipe Panic Champion, Dirt Bike 2 Champion
 
Join Date: April 2005
Posts: 375
Send a message via MSN to Abdul

Awesome! im happy with this Overclcock, and that concludes this chapter!

Thnkz !
__________________
__________________________________________________ ___




Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The right stuff - The wrong stuff Southern Man Random Nonsense! 0 23rd October, 2004 02:44 AM
Some more fun stuff.... Southern Man Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 4 12th October, 2002 05:12 PM
Fav. Stuff Rippin Random Nonsense! 39 4th October, 2001 09:45 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0