AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 9th October, 2008, 08:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2008
Location: az,hi,afg,ca
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to bk2life Send a message via Yahoo to bk2life

thanks for the help. not trying to be a jerk, just been on other boards where they arent to kind to the new guys.

hopefully i didnt burn any bridges (yet..lol)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 9th October, 2008, 08:27 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

k, then.

I'm going to bed, it's 2.30 AM here. Post back when you've digested what I wrote, and take a look at that guide. Someone will be sure to help you out.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 9th October, 2008, 08:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2008
Location: az,hi,afg,ca
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to bk2life Send a message via Yahoo to bk2life

just noticed your in thailand. i spent 6 months in Korat. lovely place. have a few friends there. --sawasdikah-- (im sure i spelled it wrong)

i am running speedfan 4.35 and it is showing my cpu @46c and core 0 @54c and core 1 @54c

i only see people talking about cpu temps, not core temps, are the cores something to wonder about?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 9th October, 2008, 09:07 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by bk2life View Post
just noticed your in thailand. i spent 6 months in Korat. lovely place. have a few friends there. --sawasdikah-- (im sure i spelled it wrong)

i am running speedfan 4.35 and it is showing my cpu @46c and core 0 @54c and core 1 @54c

i only see people talking about cpu temps, not core temps, are the cores something to wonder about?
Is this under load or at idle?
If this is at idle that's pretty high for temps.
The core temps are measured by on chip diodes that are directly on the cores, the cores are the 2 CPU's on the processor.
The CPU temps are measured by a diode that is in between the 2 cores.
What Intel bases their Max temps on is the diode in between the cores.
So this is the temp that can't exceed Max temps OK.
Also, the best temp reading utility for the E8400 45nm chip is Real Temp.
This will give you a more accurate reading of the cores using the 45nm process.
You can download that here... Real Temp

As you see I'm running a Zalman too, but my temps are much lower.
What did you use for thermal paste?
My personal favorite choice for thermal paste is Arctic Silver 5 as I've always had good results using it.

On another Note: My son is a Staff Sergeant in the Marines.
Attached Thumbnails
8400 @3.6 but wants 4.0-speedfan-temps.jpg   8400 @3.6 but wants 4.0-speefan-exotics.jpg  
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 9th October, 2008 at 09:24 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 9th October, 2008, 09:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2008
Location: az,hi,afg,ca
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to bk2life Send a message via Yahoo to bk2life

semper fi!!

Army for me though, but in my eyes, we're all US Military.

ok i installed real temp. says my cores are 46 and 48c.
speed fan says cores are 56 and 57c. (10 degrees is a big diff.)

speedfan is showing my cpu at 49c.

this is all under load using primer95 torture test with small FTT's running in the back ground.

i used the advice from others on here and my system is at bone stock settings. (i cleared CMOS)

im trying to get a baseline, and will go from there.

my temps might be ab it higher than normal, as i have has the Air Con off in my house, as i got the carpets cleaned a few hours ago and airing them dry. its about 90 degrees Ferenheit in here now. (my zalman cooler is working!!)

and for the dielectric grease on the cooler, its the stock stuff that came with the cooler.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 9th October, 2008, 09:26 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Welcome back.

We will get you sorted out here. just hang with us and be patient.

That 780i should do very well.

you should be able to unlink the memory and FSB in the settings. That way you will only be overclocking the FSB and not the memory.

You want to leave the volts at stock to start and slowly push the FSB up until it fails to boot. Then back it off and boot up and load up prime. If it fails Prime, then give it a minute volt bump and rinse and repeat. Keep a close eye on temps. Right now that looks fine for air and load.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 9th October, 2008, 09:46 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

Your temps look good for now but you'd get even lower temps using Arctic Silver 5.
This is the reason I wanted you to use Real Temp to measure the cores.
Speedfan works good for the 65nm but not the 45nm CPU's.
You can adjust the temps in Speedfan by going into the Advanced section & set the cores at -10 & the CPU to -5 to give you more accurate readings. (screenshots mouse over for info on what they are)
Even still, I'd use Real Temp for measuring the temps while testing under load to make sure they don't get too high.
Attached Thumbnails
8400 @3.6 but wants 4.0-core-temp-offsets.jpg   8400 @3.6 but wants 4.0-cpu-temp-offset.jpg  
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 9th October, 2008 at 09:48 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 10th October, 2008, 12:28 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2008
Location: az,hi,afg,ca
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to bk2life Send a message via Yahoo to bk2life

well i couldnt resist, i rebooted my system, and have been playing with Vcore voltages. seems my chip is having a good time with 1.336 at 3.8ghz.

i have been running prime95 in the background for a few hours now, and seems to be working good.

i had to up the voltage from stock to get it to boot, and it seems pretty happy with the 1.3 its at now.

also according to real temp my cores are @47 and 47

i do custom painting on the side, so i just happen to have several grades of sand paper laying around, and since i have some "stock" thermal paste on my CPU, and will be applying this new artic silver i just bought, what a good time to void my warranty and lap this CPU and my heat sink.

ill key you guys in on the difference in temps, and ill have some pics to boot.

again thanks for the help, oh and i found all sorts of overclocking tutorials on youtube. there is even a 20 minute long video on lapping cpu's.
__________________

Last edited by bk2life; 10th October, 2008 at 12:29 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 10th October, 2008, 02:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2008
Location: az,hi,afg,ca
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to bk2life Send a message via Yahoo to bk2life

So here it goes,
lapped both the CPU and the Zalman cnps9500at cooler (although the zalman cooler is made very well, the actuall surface was extremely flat and required very little if none at all, work performed to it)

the 8400 chip looks very pretty in all her shiny glory, and under primer95 tests, stays at the same temps as when it was benched bone stock (no OC)

speedfan 4.35 says CPU@ 52c with core 0@58c and core1 @58c

real temp 2.70 says core 0@49 and core 1@47
this is @1.32 Vcore voltage.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 10th October, 2008, 03:59 AM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Wink

I think you understand now the main point we were trying to get across & that was use the least amount of voltage for your OC settings.
So you're on the right track now!
So far so good...

Also Arctic Silver 5 will take 4 days to totally set to where you have maximum heat transference, so you should see your temps drop even further as time goes on.
Mine dropped by an additional 30F after 4 days.

You might want to take a look at WeldZilla's post here on his OCing of the E8400! It's in the WOW Zone!!!
P5KE-Wifi + Wolfdale = Incredible!! (check out the screenshot of how fast its running on AIR)
Attached Thumbnails
8400 @3.6 but wants 4.0-piguy.jpg  
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 10th October, 2008 at 04:11 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 10th October, 2008, 06:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2008
Location: az,hi,afg,ca
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to bk2life Send a message via Yahoo to bk2life

so far all is well with 4.0!!

im alitttle drunjk but its ok!!

my CPUI is @ 40c

and all is wel.l;l


this thing is fast, fasted copm,puter i ever seen.

crysis is fun again/11!!

uits 1048 pm


-bye
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 10th October, 2008, 08:52 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

lolz
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 10th October, 2008 at 08:53 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 10th October, 2008, 10:31 AM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Quote:
Originally Posted by bk2life View Post
so far all is well with 4.0!!

im alitttle drunjk but its ok!!

my CPUI is @ 40c

and all is wel.l;l


this thing is fast, fasted copm,puter i ever seen.

crysis is fun again/11!!

uits 1048 pm

-bye
LOL
Yea, I'd say you were very drunk by the looks of your typing...

Glad you were able to do what you wanted with your setup!
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 10th October, 2008 at 10:32 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 10th October, 2008, 11:31 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

Quote:
Originally Posted by bk2life View Post
so far all is well with 4.0!!

im alitttle drunjk but its ok!!

my CPUI is @ 40c

and all is wel.l;l


this thing is fast, fasted copm,puter i ever seen.

crysis is fun again/11!!

uits 1048 pm


-bye

That's great! When you sober up, you'll still be happy about it, as you should.
Hopefully, in the not to distant future, I'll be able to say the same thing, a little clearer I would think!
That is if the bridge still stands and the horse doesn't die!

You'll have to excuse me guys. If I run spell checker on this, I'll be here all nite.
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2008, 07:12 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2008
Location: az,hi,afg,ca
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to bk2life Send a message via Yahoo to bk2life

heheh, sorry for that last post. was a bit happy last night. got this camaro ready for primer, and soon paint, and was relaxing and having a few stiff drinks.

anyways, i ran prime95 and my machine was not stable at the 4.0 i put it at, so im playing around with numbers to get it stable. seems as of now it will only stay stable around 1.38-1.4 volts.

is there a way to gte the cpu to be happy with lower voltages?

or is the voltage ok, but i need to monitor cpu temp?

i am at stock temps with my lapping job (stock meaning no Oc) @4.03 with 1.4 Vcore.

i read the voltage is a bit high, as everyone states, but voltage =heat correct?

so if i have no heat, then is the voltage ok?

thanks for any info.

also i saw mineral oil cooled, or submersed, computers today. what is th pros and cons of this? looks really amazing, but have never heard anything about it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2008, 07:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2008
Location: az,hi,afg,ca
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to bk2life Send a message via Yahoo to bk2life

im @ 3.98gz @ 1.36 vcore as of now. im not haveing any stability problems at this point, but prime95 has only been runing a few minutes. but this is good, as it wouldnt run before i dropped the OC and lowered voltage.

acording to speedfan my cores are @62, but real temps reads 53c on both cores.

speed fan reads 52c on the cpu. (these readings are under load, prime95 with small ffts)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2008, 08:07 AM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

I'm glad your doing all of your testing at lower voltages so that you don't fry that puppy.
Anyways, 1.4 vcore is not bad for the E8400 at the temps you're running so if you want to use that it's fine.
Also, in almost every case there will be a certain amount of vdroop when your system is loaded under stress.
So even though you may have it set to 1.4 vcore, it may actually be running at 1.3650v.

I have mine set to 1.4120v, but with vdroop it's actually 1.3480v. (screenshot)

These are the specs for the E8400. (If it's underlined, its a link)

Once you are happy with your clock speeds the next thing to do is see about tightening up your memory timings so you'll get more throughput.
I other words, it will be even faster still! This is very good for gaming & your response times when playing FPS games.
I'm really into playing FPS games...

Then after that I'll help you on getting your graphics card set up with the right drivers with a bit of OCing on that too...
Attached Thumbnails
8400 @3.6 but wants 4.0-everest-cpuid.jpg  
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 11th October, 2008 at 12:12 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2008, 08:19 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

Quote:
Originally Posted by bk2life View Post
anyways, i ran prime95 and my machine was not stable at the 4.0 i put it at,
Good to run prime95 for at least 12 hours; I don't declare my rig stable until it can do 24 hours without error. The Folding @Home client will stress it even more than Prime95 if you really want to be sure of its stability.

The mineral oil ****e is just some nutter going for benchmarks. It's not a real-world application any more than liquid nitrogen is, AFAIK. I mean, it's doable, but not realistic.

PS your voltage and temps look ok, a little on the high side but not dangerous. As time goes on you can do better, I think.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2008, 05:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2008
Location: az,hi,afg,ca
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to bk2life Send a message via Yahoo to bk2life

update==

prime95 for 10hours no faults, speedfan shows 55c

(if speed fan is inacurate for the 45nm chips, what is a better program to see the temp? "real temp" only shows cores, well im using the freeware program also, maybe the buy program has all bells and whistle, but im sure there is a good free program that will acurately tell me the temps?)

also i cannot OC with out upping the vcore. i see some guys with 4.5ghz OC and runnin like 1.3

i cant OC go past 3.83ghz without raisng vcore above 1.36

any suggestions?

i can do 4.03ghz "stable" but im at 1.4325 vcore
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 11th October, 2008, 06:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2008
Location: az,hi,afg,ca
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to bk2life Send a message via Yahoo to bk2life

here is a pic.

you can see under load @55.2c
and no load at 38-40c

(if these temps are accurate?)
Attached Thumbnails
8400 @3.6 but wants 4.0-cpu-temps.jpg  
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
overclocking



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wolfdale 8400 vs Q6600 skool h8r Intel Motherboards & CPUs 4 8th February, 2008 12:06 PM
HD 2400 slower than the 8400 GS? danrok Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 10th June, 2007 05:35 AM
Dell 8400 with 3.2Ghz for 649.00 AR. Inc. 17" LCD mookydooky Online Deals, and Steals 0 2nd December, 2004 10:38 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0