AOA AOA AOA Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 25th October, 2008, 12:14 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,542

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio View Post
AU dollar is down at about 65c to the US dollar at the moment though dan so that's about teh same money.
There exits a currency that is worth less than the US dollar? Is the dollar about to be devalued again??? ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur


Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2008, 12:30 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

You think the poor temps in spite of water could be related to the TT waterblock? Its like a $40 Thermaltake one with an "S" channel, while most of the newer blocks are designed with hundreds of fins or small collumns instead, which would seam to give a better surface area.

The pump is 500L/hour which I figured was good enough, and the radiator is a 360mm by 120mm with 3X 120mm fans blowing over it, out in the open, and never feels warm.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles

Last edited by dsio; 26th October, 2008 at 12:31 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 31st October, 2008, 04:34 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Got the new board and installed it, ASUS ROG Rampage Formula.

Just using its "auto" overclocking feature it booted at 3.6Ghz stable which is higher than the gigabyte X38 ever managed. I didn't even set ram speed, fsb, nb strap or anything, just set the overclocking feature to auto and selected the speed "crazy".

Really is like light and day. The gigabyte's onboard sound was pants, the ASUS ROG board's onboard sound is as good as my EMU card. Cooling is better, layout is better, feature set is terrific.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles

Last edited by dsio; 31st October, 2008 at 04:37 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2008, 03:13 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Overclocking wise, just experimented a bit with stock voltages. posts fine at 520X8 ~ 4.2Ghz boots into windows unstable at 4.0.

The DDR2-800 seams to be the limiting factor at the moment.

Need a list of acceptable voltage ranges for this X48 / DDR2 board really, as the gigabyte was all + or - voltages while the ASUS is absolute voltages.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2008, 04:42 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

I'm thinking I might need to do a lap job on the IHS and the waterblock, the waterblock is noticably uneven and the core temps vary by up to 10C from hottest to coolest core.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2008, 05:08 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Sensor readings using lm_sensors under linux are a bit higher than under windows using RealTemp 2.70.

Running at 3.46Ghz stock volts on everything temps are 47 tops on the hottest core, 41 top on the coolest, and the room I'm in is stinking hot, over 30C for sure. This is running F@H SMP client with all 4 cores loaded.

Should realtemp be believed over lm_sensors?
Attached Thumbnails
Q9450 overclocking-image.jpg  
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles

Last edited by dsio; 1st November, 2008 at 05:10 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2008, 08:17 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,204

That board is a lot like mine. Watch out for those auto oc settings and be careful. The board sets unnecessarily high voltages to get you there easily. You can go much cooler with less voltage as you set the options manually. Your board, ike mine, is a board that does not like to be on "auto" anything.

I would make a small wager that OCCT fails for you within one hour as you are set now, with auto oc settings.

Re: lm_sensors: I trust the readings more than realtemp. It's what I run on my Linux boxen. There's a few front ends for it as well, so you can see it all the time.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 1st November, 2008 at 08:18 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2008, 08:58 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

I'm not running auto atm, running stock everything and 433x8 manually set, I did notice the overvolt that the auto overclocking was doing, so set everything back to the normal voltages.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 1st November, 2008, 10:50 AM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,901

Wow...that board sounds & looks Awesome!
Wish I had the $ to get a new mobo so I could push this CPU to at least 3.6GHz with a 1700+ FSB!
Not to mention my mobo isn't 45nm compatible when OCing. RRR
Attached Thumbnails
Q9450 overclocking-asus_rampage_formula.jpg  
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 1st November, 2008 at 10:51 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2008, 06:50 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,204

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsio View Post
I did notice the overvolt that the auto overclocking was doing, so set everything back to the normal voltages.
Good. The auto overclocking does it easily, but at a price. I've manually measured a couple of the voltages on auto and believe me it overvolts excessively. It's better to do what you're already doing and do everything manually, imo.

One setting that made a significant difference for me was AI Clock Twister [do you have it?]: set to "strong". Gave me more FSB headroom and made it possible to run 1:1 at my desired FSB. If it's set to auto I get a 4:5 divider for some reason. Not that 4:5 is so bad, but we kinda want to pin 1:1 on our sleeves, don't we?
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 2nd November, 2008 at 06:53 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wheres my Q9450 FFS dsio Intel Motherboards & CPUs 131 29th April, 2008 09:59 PM
More Overclocking! NarkotikBuzz AMD Motherboards & CPUs 19 8th July, 2006 04:18 AM
Overclocking your Nvidia 6800/6800LE DDR graphics card: Overclocking/Unlocking Guide. MONKEYMAN AOA FAQ 0 16th July, 2005 04:09 PM
ah, the art of overclocking...gone bad eagle63 Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 16 1st December, 2004 03:38 AM
Overclocking Mb Zephr AMD Motherboards & CPUs 20 20th June, 2003 07:42 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0