AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 11th January, 2009, 04:09 AM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccperf721p View Post
I've had a lot of fun over the years with the Biostar Tforce and Tpower series. I still have a 939 Tforce board running 24/7 with a Venice core and 2 X 512 of some old school BH-5. The later Biostar boards are quite impressive, build quality is excellent and performance is second to none.

I should have some results Sunday. I am formatting a partition for XP64 as I type this. I'm on the stock cooler for now. Haven't decided whether I will buy a new water block or just a good air cooled setup.

What benchmarks would you like to see run? I'll run them at stock first, then at whatever the stock cooler allows for an overclock, then when I get some decent cooling, I will run them again.
Yea that's what I figured on the Biostar boards.
You wouldn't be using them if they were top notch!

Benchmarks: I'd like to see some Sandra Processor & Memory benches & a 3DMark Vantage or 06 score too.
I know what these look like on my system & how I score an it will give me a good point of reference on performance differences.
Thanks!
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 11th January, 2009 at 04:09 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 11th January, 2009, 08:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Here's a Sandra Arithmetic and Memory Bandwidth test. Hyperthreading and turbo mode are enabled. Turbo mode gives you a couple of extra multis on demand, taking it from 20 to 21/22.

I am still on the stock Intel cooler, so the clock speeds should give you some idea of what is possible with these CPU's. I must note that while my CPU is a retail unit, it was pulled by a source at Intel.

I am also running the memory well below it's rated speed and timings are set by SPD so the memory benchmarks will improve as I get more time to play.

I'll update the thread with new benches and clock speeds as I go.
Attached Thumbnails
i7 Processor learning curve...-sandra1.jpg   i7 Processor learning curve...-sandra2.jpg   i7 Processor learning curve...-sandra3.jpg  
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 11th January, 2009, 10:56 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Thumbs up

Must be nice to have a neighbor working at Intel heh? hehe!
OMG!!!
That's twice the memory speed & 3 times the processor speed of my current setup!!!
Incredible performance...WOW, just WOW!!!
Attached Thumbnails
i7 Processor learning curve...-intel-core-2-duo-e6700-oc   i7 Processor learning curve...-corsair-xms2-twin2x2048-6400c4-4-4 667 reference @ 3.3Ghz.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	404.6 KB
ID:	23527  
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 11th January, 2009 at 11:01 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2009, 06:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

It's actually my neighbor's friend that works for Intel, but yeah, it's nice to have that contact. I still have to pay for the CPU's I get, admittingly it is anywhere near a retail price and they are always hand picked best of the litter CPU's.

Corei7 packs some punch, that's for sure. Managed to get 3.6 10 hour stable at stock voltage. We'll see what she really has in her next week when I get some better cooling. I decided to stick with air cooling on this rig, went with a Thermalright U120E..
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2009, 05:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

I changed my mind on the cooling. I was running some G.Skill memory for the first runs because it was a known set that I had used before, after removing that and installing the Corsair Dominators I was able to get to 3.8 on .02 over stock voltage. Decided to buy a water block instead. Ordered a Swiftech Apogee GTZ. Gives me something to do with all that water cooling gear on the shelf..
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2009, 05:23 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

The Swiftech block was a great upgrade to my home rig, and I got 5-7 degrees improvement over the last gen Swiftech block I was running til then.

It's a bowed backplate block, so be really careful when you install it. I was shocked when I first saw how bowed it really was. Clearly visible to the naked eye. It took me a couple of tries to get it right, but it was the first time I had seen one like it.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2009, 07:08 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Thanks for the info TR. Any specifics on the installation that you went through?

I put a .002" of inch bow in my MP-05 Pro and recorded the amount of torque it takes to bring it back to perfectly flat. Worked out well, then I could just torque the block down on the board and know I had a nice mount..
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 13th January, 2009, 07:30 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

As nice as neighbours can be...you just can't top having knowledgeable fingers...":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2009, 06:34 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccperf721p View Post
Thanks for the info TR. Any specifics on the installation that you went through?

I put a .002" of inch bow in my MP-05 Pro and recorded the amount of torque it takes to bring it back to perfectly flat. Worked out well, then I could just torque the block down on the board and know I had a nice mount..
Well, first, I can say that I think a lot of the temperature improvement over the GTX is a result of the increase in the number of those small baffles inside the block, creating more effective surface area. The first thing I did when I got the GTZ was to measure the bow as best I could [it was a bit over .003" from the factory] and then flatten it; I lapped the q6600 in 6 grades to 1200 grit, polished it, and then installed the block flat and ran OCCT. IIRC, I got an immediate improvement of about 2 degrees over the GTX, running it flat.

BTW, I did not use the factory-supplied backplate. I had an old Tt backplate that was visibly sturdier, so I used that one instead.

After that baseline I re-bowed the plate to about half of the factory bow. I didn't think to measure the torque to get it flat-that's a good idea and I'll have to remember to do that next time. I do know that when I tightened it down I went as far as I felt comfortable and ran OCCT again. Temperature wise, it was worse than the old GTX. I torqued the screws a slight bit more; still no improvement. For some odd reason, the only thing that really brought the temps down dramatically was re-orienting the block at 90 degrees from where I started-which totally baffled me, but I didn't argue with success. Perhaps it was some inaccuracy in my measuring of the bow, or in the lapping; or maybe because of irregularities it just fit better that way. I suppose it could also be where the physical cores are located. I do know that core 0 in my chip generally runs the coolest of the 4, and core 3 is generally the hottest, so that could be the reason as well.

In the end I had to use what I felt was A LOT of torque, more than I ever have on a cooler or WB, but it delivered what I thought were impressive results-in some of my OCCT runs after install I got a 5 degree improvement.

One more thing-I revisited the block after about 2 weeks of use and gave the screws a final tweaking, perhaps a quarter-turn or so on each. That was when I got a few runs of OCCT in at a 7C improvement on a day with ambients identical to the installation day. I argued with myself whether or not to turn the screws more [I didn't].

I'm not familiar with your MP-05 Pro, but the Swiftech blocks create the bow with the O-ring on the perimeter of the plate, and the screws just outside it. Other blocks create the bow with the O-ring in the middle of the block; which way does your MP-05 do it?
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2009, 08:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

The MP-05 Pro has the o-ring around the perimeter, After about 6 months of use the block had become bowed the wrong way though, so I ended up putting the bow back in the base plate.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 17th January, 2009, 02:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Waterblock arrived today, should be able to get everything in place by Sunday and make some real runs.

Just in case Gizmo reads this as he is the only one I know running Gentoo besides me.. How about an 18 minute bootstrap for power.. Corei7 kicks butt
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BlackBerry Curve 8320 mookydooky Mobile Devices and Networking 0 27th November, 2007 05:09 AM
Learning to Ride aghastpumpkin Random Nonsense! 14 11th March, 2007 07:47 AM
Learning about Computers Fishboy Random Nonsense! 27 3rd August, 2005 08:50 PM
Team production curve going downwards Allan ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 57 27th April, 2005 01:51 PM
Learning cgi with linux loop OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 5 26th February, 2003 12:50 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:25 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0