AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th January, 2009, 01:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal,Quebec
Posts: 27

Old technicality for p4 socket 478...

(!SEE BELOW FOR A NEW QUESTION!)



Hi!

My question might be stupid, but I'm asking anyways since I know that you are:

Kind


I got a P4 socket 478 (I know this is old, but for me it's a test field). I got a northwood that I have push from 3.2 to 3.680 ghz. I got corsair ddr 400 XMS 2-2-2-5 that I currently running at 2-3-3-5 due to complete use of memory slot. And I have a p4p800 se motherboard.

If I switch for a 2.8ghz/1m/533 might I got trouble? Will I have imcompatibility issue with my memory that run at ddr 400? Will I got beter result with a p4 3.0 ghz/1m/800 ?

Will I have trouble by switching from 800 bus speed to 533? Is that compatible with my ddr 400 memory?

Might I be able to do better overclocking? At the moment I got a fsb of 920.

Thx for
__________________

Last edited by Mavhenz; 25th January, 2009 at 08:15 AM. Reason: New question!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th January, 2009, 01:47 AM
Necorum's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Indianapolis,Indiana,United States
Posts: 1,803
Send a message via AIM to Necorum Send a message via MSN to Necorum Send a message via Yahoo to Necorum

Lol same setup i had when i first joined this forum.

Id stick with the 800mhz fsb 3.0

My setup was p4p800 SE, 2.8 Prescott, 2 gigs xms 400 2-2-2-5

Note though after overclocking for a year or so the board fried
__________________
AOA Team fah


3dMark 11: P7023
3dMark Vantage: P31097

Last edited by Necorum; 8th January, 2009 at 01:48 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th January, 2009, 03:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal,Quebec
Posts: 27

re

And how far did you go?

I mean for the CPU Oc?



PS: You might not have the ''cooling'' that I have...

cnps 9500 zalman cpu cooler
2X80mm mem cooler
Nexus Nhp-2200 Northbridge cooler

I just name that to keep it simple..
__________________

Last edited by Mavhenz; 8th January, 2009 at 03:44 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2009, 08:11 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal,Quebec
Posts: 27

re: news

Hi again!

I have buyed for a really cheap price a p4 3 ghz prescott just for fun.

I have Everest ultimate edition and I do stability test on it.

My question:

What is cpu throttling?
I tried to find any documentation and it doesn't clearly respond to my question.
Each time that the temp of my cpu reach 55 or more, the green bar turn red and it start going higher and higher...
A graph turning from green to red is usualy not good...

I have tried to desactivate the tm1 tm2 and any power saving device in the bios. Still got the trouble.

Any suggestion?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2009, 12:09 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

When the core temperature of the processor climbs into the danger zone as defined by Intel, the processor is throttled down, that is it runs slower automagically to help it generate less heat.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th January, 2009, 05:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal,Quebec
Posts: 27

re

Thx for your answer!

I tried to deactivate internal thermal control on the bios and any power saving device. I still got the trouble. Could it be a deactivate device?

I never breach the 57 degree (could it be too high?) for the core.
I am on air cooling, and I have never been over 1.6 volts. I know this is high but I won't go further....


If you got any advice to deactivate this thing, got ahead!

Thx!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 28th January, 2009, 01:45 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mavhenz View Post
Thx for your answer!

I tried to deactivate internal thermal control on the bios and any power saving device. I still got the trouble. Could it be a deactivate device?

I never breach the 57 degree (could it be too high?) for the core.
I am on air cooling, and I have never been over 1.6 volts. I know this is high but I won't go further....


If you got any advice to deactivate this thing, got ahead!

Thx!
From everything I've read on the P4 thermal throttling is that it's part of the CPU die & not in the bios at all.
In other words, it's part of the CPU & can't be turned off.
The only thing you can do to keep it from turning on is keeping the temp below the trigger point at which it turns thermal throttling on.
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 28th January, 2009 at 01:46 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Athlon 64 Socket AM2 CPU in a Socket 939 Motherboard Gizmo AMD Motherboards & CPUs 9 15th October, 2006 12:26 AM
Socket? Strongwolf Random Nonsense! 1 13th August, 2006 02:39 PM
socket 940? Anarchy420 EPoX MotherBoards 0 3rd April, 2004 10:41 PM
Waterblocks and Slot 1, Socket A, Socket 370 and so on Dieselboi Intel Motherboards & CPUs 9 18th November, 2002 06:37 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0