AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2009, 08:38 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

EVGA 780i SLI MCP TRing for for 4.50Ghz

I'm running nice at 4.05Ghz but can't get it to 4.50G
The bios rill run it thru but Vista objects.

Is it time to start working on the memory? Just what will that do And which way do I go with it and why?
The G.Skills are rated CL4-4-4-12 1.8v~1.9v.
The bios sets it at CL5-5-5-15 2T. I've basicly left it alone except to raise the volts to 2.025v. So far 4.05 is stable. I put the shaders back to default on the video and that seems to have cured any problem. Ran Prime95 in a couple of different setups ( not long enough to be possitive, but will try for that tonite.)
I've been running ORTHO for about an hour with folding on and temps are 48-49c.

This is my set for 4.05Ghz.
Cpu Multy: x9
PCI-e: 100mhz
spp-mcp refclock 200mhz
HF Multi: both set for 5x
spread spectrums: all dissabled

FSB & Memory
FSB mem clock unlinked
FSB mhz: 1800mhz
mem: 800hz
mem timeings: what the bios wants -CL5-5-5-15 2T
not there rated cl4-4-4-12

SYS Volts
CPU Core: 1.336v
CPU FSB: 1.3v
Mem: 2.025v
SPP: 1.4v
MCP: 1.6v
HT:1.3v

Any improvements I can make? Gotta be!
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2009, 09:17 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

It's a substantial jump to 4.50 from 4.05. Perhaps, just maybe.. 4.05 is impressive enough? I'd be happy with 4.05, fwiw. Typing this on a P4 machine at stock 3 Ghz. Yes, I have no shame.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2009, 10:59 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

Don't get me wrong, I'm happy with 4.05-even if I got 4.50 it wouldn't stay there long. Long enough to get a screen shot of OCCT and CPUID. But it's looking like I won't make it. I think that a person who knew his stuff, and was sitting at this keyboard, could do it. But me? probly not.
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2009, 03:47 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

Hello there daniels co! You Photo wouldn't happen to be "Daniels Co." would it? Don't answer that question, You might incriminate yourself!
Welcome to AOA. You are welcomed here. If you have a question just ask away and somebody will come along with the answer. There are some skilled people here but you have to keep in mind not everyone visits the board every day and some of the good one are at different parts of the world. Be patient and you will get your answer.
Maybe you can be talked into the Folding team-we can use another rig! Just click on my sig and come on back and go through Samuknows Folding Team. Ask away, If you are interested. Either way you are still welcome!
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2009, 04:09 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

Wasting your breath.

Got to be a bot, look at the post history....

PS you've done well to get to 4G, but without a bigger multi you won't get it to anywhere near 4.5G...what you are asking for is to run 500FSB x 9 which I don't believe possible on your board[nor many others either].

Even the E8500 has a multi of only 9.5 which would only get you to 4.2 odd. If you are very lucky you might get 460-465FSB x 9 and that would be impressive at nearly 4.2G. To get to where you want you'd really need a 10 or preferably an 11 multi.

I have seen some reports of 4.5G on some ASUS boards with difficulty[Striker, P5K and Maximus] but I don't know how yours stacks up; maybe, maybe not. You should try setting the memory to 1:1, [you are on a divider now] lowering the multi to 8 and seeing how far you can go with the FSB; if you can get to 8 x 500FSB = 4G - well, then there might be a slight chance of getting close.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 24th January, 2009 at 04:54 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2009, 06:50 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

I can have whatever FSB I want. for 4.5g it's set at 1800mhz. trying for 4.50 I set it at 2000mhz. All the numbers change to reflect what it's going to be when when you get things set right. I've tried many combinations of CPU core volts and,CPUFSB, Memory, ssp, [northbridge] and MCP [southbridge] and HT SSP <->MCP. I can get it to boot at 4.50 but as soon as I hit Vista-I'm done. I get a blank screen or I have gotten Vista to start bu just for 30sec or so.
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2009, 04:58 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

As I said before, if you want to have a chance at success, you have to find out at what point the box craps out.

Set the memory to 1:1, and raise the FSB in small increments until Vista will not start. Then back off a few MHz and stress it for stability. This is your highest FSB possible without the memory being a factor. Then you go from there, and make changes in another variable to get higher values. It's not a hit-or-miss procedure where you try various combinations that may or may not work; it's scientific and systematic. At least for me it is. I'm not good enough to let my OC mojo instinctively tell me how to set up everything. I have an idea where to start, sure -that came after doing it for many years - but for me it's still a very slow process to get things right.

Remember that FSB isn't the only thing that affects your desktop "experience" - a somewhat lower FSB with tighter memory timings is most likely a quicker rig than a high FSB with loose timings. That's why you have to quantify accurately the point at which you have problems. It's your reference point.

It looks like you are using some kind of auto-OC feature where "all the numbers change". My feeling is that if you are to get a really high OC you will have to dump that system and use the manual settings. I, for one, have never had good results from canned overclock settings[example-you set the FSB and the BIOS sets everything else]. For one, they normally pump far too much voltage than you really need to get there - this is by design, to make it easy for less experienced users.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 25th January, 2009 at 05:06 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 25th January, 2009, 06:00 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

I said that wrong about all the numbers changing. If I put in any x FSB and/or x multiplier it does the math and tells me what Ghz I am looking at with those numbers plugged in. It does nothing in the way of guidance for what else to do. At 9x 1600 FSB =3.60GHZ- 1800 FSB =4.05Ghz - 2000 FSB = 4.50Ghz.

Thanks for posting what you did, that is exact what I needed to know. I may take another crack at it tomorrow but at this moment I'm inclined to let it go until I get back from the hospital.
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 27th April, 2009, 08:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2008
Location: az,hi,afg,ca
Posts: 99
Send a message via AIM to bk2life Send a message via Yahoo to bk2life

hospital, man you alright?
__________________
james
www.ifitsgotwheels.com

e8400 @3.6-4.0, EVGA 780i, 4Gb Corsair Dominator, Antec 900 Zalman 9500, GTX280, 26" LCD, 750w Thermaltake, SSD-raid0, windows 7, 1.5Tb back up
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2009, 05:31 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

Thanks! That felt good!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bk2life View Post
hospital, man you alright?
I picked the absolute perfect time to come back here and check! I had not realized it had been so long! The hopital stay went as well and better than expected. I have been healing quite well but it takes almost a year to fully heal from this.
But I've been so damn busy this is the first time I've been up in this thread since the hospital.
Things have changed a bit if you remember. My sig just keeps changeing.
The reason i came up here to post was I have to tear mine back down agian. I just got it back together after a fun mod. Pics are down in the mod section.You might get a laugh out of them. Anyway, I've got a bad install of most of my HS. Temps are just unacceptable for such a weak OC. I can't do anything untill next month as I am out of thermal compound.
I took a quick glance at the link. Is that yours or just what am i looking for? Forgive me-it was a quick glance.
This is the reason I have to tear mine down agian!
Attached Thumbnails
EVGA 780i SLI MCP  TRing for for 4.50Ghz-bad-readings.jpg  
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2009, 03:04 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Wink

I guess you've gotten pretty used to having the E8400 & much higher clock speeds heh PPM...

I can't even get my system stable at 3.60GHz & you are calling it a
"Weak" OC! LOL

My next upgrade with be to the Core i7 system with the x58 chipset or whatever chipset will be newer then in about 4-5 years
(Or more) from now.
Then I'll see about what kind of clock speeds I can put up then...
But yea, your NB temps are really high! Mine is at 80F.
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 28th April, 2009 at 03:08 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2009, 05:37 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

Tha one that yells is the SPP, but it's a bad install all around. I must have been in to much of a hurry and I'd removed the aftermarket junk that was on it and re-installed the OEM Chipset system-except for the MCP. And the reason this boad is something for OC'ing AND the reason I know it's a bad install-I didn't up the volts on anything.
I'd never set the FSb at 1600 befor so what the heck, lets see about that with no voltage change.. I know that 1700 (3.85G i think) I just have to bump the volts just a little-CPU Core and CPU FSB. Everything else i leave alone untill I get to 4.00G once all the hardware is up to snuff. I did some diagnostics yesterday and my memory is weak. Good-passes memtest, but cheap memory.
I wen't and and got the approved list from EVGA and a lot of odd ball name brands. Of the name brands-which re few are OCZ which ccp said he wounld not buy an Kingston, which i wont buy.
There is some time to do some reserch.

And I can see why you like Win 7-this is nice!!
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 28th April, 2009, 06:11 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

Quote:
Originally Posted by bk2life View Post
hospital, man you alright?
I took a little time this mirnig to go thru your link. Some nice stuff.
I painted aircraft parts for a while and while it's not what custom painting is, it's a lot more complicated than most even think about and gave it a long thought about going into custom painting.
There was just one thing that got in the way. 90% of custom painting is learned in custom auto shops. The big snaffu- I can't do body work. It is realy strange, my eye can read the the paint but I can bairly see the body work.
So I moved up in the company I was in, got my A&E lic. and worked aircraft.
Now I play computer!
Attached Images
 
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
eVGA 8600GTS $29 after MIR PorPorMe Online Deals, and Steals 1 11th September, 2008 10:26 PM
EVGA UV Plus+ HellasVagabond General Hardware Discussion 0 12th May, 2008 02:16 PM
*NEW* eVGA Graphics card Overclocking Utility!!! eVGA Precision MUff1N Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 17 10th May, 2008 07:47 PM
EVGA, better late than never? Logan 64 Bit computing 6 20th April, 2005 09:38 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:16 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0