AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17th November, 2009, 02:20 AM
candle_86's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2009
Posts: 53
Send a message via MSN to candle_86 Send a message via Yahoo to candle_86

HP Board flash

Ok Ive looked at both P4SD-LA Stingray and Cobra they are physiclly identical at least to my eye. The issue is stingray doesnt support presscot and Cobra does and I have a 3.2 P4. The only diffrences i can see from HP is stingray is max 2gb cobra is max 4gb and northwood vs presscot support
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th November, 2009, 04:57 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

I suspect there is a difference in the VRM specification supported by the two boards, the Stingray probably doesn't have a good enough VRM to drive the Prescott reliably. However, I can't find any definitive information on the Cobra's VRM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17th November, 2009, 05:27 AM
candle_86's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2009
Posts: 53
Send a message via MSN to candle_86 Send a message via Yahoo to candle_86

well i found something interesting out my super I/O chip is the same as the P4800G-V wich is the Asus ATX version of my board, and a guide to flashing to that board. It unlocks other features such as voltage and FSB control along with ram voltage and AGP apature control. Im gonna try this and see if it really works, if it doesnt I have an AMD Sempron 3000 Barton core with a chaintech Nforce2 400 Ultra board to fall back on lol
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17th November, 2009, 02:45 PM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Good luck. Let us know how it turns out.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th November, 2009, 03:33 PM
candle_86's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2009
Posts: 53
Send a message via MSN to candle_86 Send a message via Yahoo to candle_86

im now using an ASUS P4G800-V
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2009, 04:37 PM
MUff1N's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2007
Location: Payson/AZ
Posts: 1,905

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by candle_86 View Post
im now using an ASUS P4G800-V
Nice...so the flash was successful!
__________________



EVGA GTX 470 SC 37% OC (855/1710/2004) 160.5Gbs
3DMark Vantage: P24352
3DMark 11: P5119

Last edited by MUff1N; 18th November, 2009 at 04:37 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2009, 05:27 PM
candle_86's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2009
Posts: 53
Send a message via MSN to candle_86 Send a message via Yahoo to candle_86

yep OC features dont work like I thought they might apperntly ASUS disabled them on taht bios also but i have some settings I didn't have. Now to find a program that let me edit this bios, I know there where a few back in the early 2000's for like award 5 and such, just cant find any grahpic editors for award 6
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
!!!help Please Bad Flash Dead Board 8rda3+pro!! SHOUTSAMD CRASHED! 9 18th February, 2006 07:42 AM
Flash Flash Revolution. mookydooky Random Nonsense! 8 11th December, 2004 03:20 AM
Guess which board received the Editors Choice Award in the 9 board Nforce 2 shootout? Mr T EPoX MotherBoards 1 16th April, 2003 01:04 AM
Hot flash 8RDA+ bios chip with 4BDA2+ board? Smultron EPoX MotherBoards 11 9th December, 2002 09:27 AM
cant boot, wont boot, cant flash, wont flash. cant live, help stallen CRASHED! 27 4th September, 2002 08:55 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0