AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10th December, 2011, 11:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2011
Posts: 4

Question Help Please with OVERCLOCKING Intel Core Duo / ASUS P5N-E 650i SLI

Hello, All

What an AWESOME Forum (found thru link via GOOGLE "overclocking").

I'm a beginner for the most part, having somehwat overclocked a coupla systems mostly via FREEWARE "on the fly" software.

However, as I'm fairly knowledgable with BIOS, I wanna do some "true" overclocking on my current system.

It was highly recommended that I post here (as mentioned above) for assistance.

Thanks you all very much in advance for your assistance - greatly looking forward to it!

Peace, Love, & Success
alex
__________________

Last edited by BigA135; 10th December, 2011 at 11:24 PM. Reason: (typos)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2011, 10:51 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,871

Welcome to AOA, BigA135, Bump, please!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2011, 04:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2011
Posts: 4

hey, cloasters

thanks - apologies, but what does "bump please" mean - lol - can't find definition in FAQ etc?

Peace, Love, & Success
alex
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2011, 08:43 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

He just wanted to be sure your post was seen by the other members by 'bumping' it.

First thing that you have to do is post your precise systyem specs. Make and model of MB(we have this already), CPU, memory, power supply, and any other important info. Then tell us what you use your system for.

After that, someone can get on the case.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 13th December, 2011 at 08:44 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2011, 09:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2011
Posts: 4

thanks, thunderrd

k, guys, here's my specs (and basically just trying to get FSX running smoothly & the FSX forums say FSX is mostly CPU dependent - as opposed to GPU - so that overclocking the CPU to it's most stable/highest is key):


OS...

Windows 7 Ultimate (x64) Service Pack 1 (build 7601)


System Model...

ASUSTeK


PROCESSOR...

2.80 gigahertz Intel Core 2 Duo
64 kilobyte primary memory cache
4096 kilobyte secondary memory cache
64-bit ready
Multi-core (2 total)
Not hyper-threaded


Main Circuit Board...

Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC. P5N-E SLI 1.XX
Bus Clock: 279 megahertz
BIOS: Phoenix Technologies, LTD ASUS P5N-E SLI 0401 Velocity Micro 01/12/2007


RAM...

4096 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory
Slot 'DIMM_A1' has 1024 MB
Slot 'DIMM_A2' has 1024 MB
Slot 'DIMM_B1' has 1024 MB
Slot 'DIMM_B2' has 1024 MB


GPU...

NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS


BUS...

NVIDIA nForce RAID Controller
Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller
Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller


thanks, again, guys - yall are awesome indeed

Peace, Love, & Success
alex
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2011, 10:26 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

There is some details on overclocking with your motherboard here:
ASUS P5N-E SLI 650i Thread
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 13th December, 2011, 10:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2011
Posts: 4

thanks, danrok

this may be a "naive/newbie" question - lol - but is there a basic "step-by-step" overclocking thread/guide for my specs anywhere here?

the thread link above looks great, danrok, but it's over 900 pgs long & i can't really find any "basic" overclocking guidance - most of the jargon assumes an experienced reader & for the most part i'm a total newb (other than using nTune etc)

thanks, guys!

Peace, Love, & Success
alex
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 22nd March, 2012, 09:43 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,871

Beginning with small steps always makes sense.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2012, 05:16 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

I "think" a hold back might be that you have 4 ram sticks in your system. I know I have trouble overclocking mine with all 4 sockets filled. I would get 2 2 gig sticks, and with that you'll be able to run the ram in dual channel mode and that will give ya alittle more speed. I could be wrong though.
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asus K61IC-X4 16” Laptop Intel Core 2 Duo only $649.95 danrok Online Deals, and Steals 1 28th November, 2009 02:07 PM
Overclocking Core i7 at Intel 2008 Gizmo Intel Motherboards & CPUs 13 9th November, 2008 09:30 PM
Asus P5N32-E SLI Plus nForce 650i Motherboard Review danrok Intel Motherboards & CPUs 2 17th May, 2007 04:40 PM
Core2duo 650i Epox coming? MasterAtArms EPoX MotherBoards 16 11th April, 2007 07:04 PM
What core voltage is best for overclocking my XP 2100? antisystem EPoX MotherBoards 1 20th July, 2004 03:39 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:33 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0