AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th July, 2002, 08:59 PM
Freedom's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Greece, Athens
Posts: 63
Send a message via ICQ to Freedom

Exclamation About P4 and thermal compound

I am a happy owner of a brand new P4 1.8A. To be honest, it’s the first P4 of mine.

Being used to have P3s and Athlons I have a question about applying the thermal compound to my P4: like all the P4s there is a little hole at the lower left. So, what happens if a small quantity of arctic silver goes inside this little hole? I’ve heard that this could cause a serious damage to the cpu. Is this true?

Wouldn’t be better if I didn’t apply a thermal compound at all?

Not to say that I am planning to OCed to “death” and that I have a Volcano 7+.
__________________
My Mojo…
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th July, 2002, 09:15 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Warning those V7+ are known to have a VERY uneven base! And who told you that if thermal compound go into that hole it would fry???? Thats a damn lie! It has done nothing to the p4 1.8 @2.4 clients computer i built! Good luck!
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th July, 2002, 11:36 PM
Freedom's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Greece, Athens
Posts: 63
Send a message via ICQ to Freedom

Who told me about this? Don't ask!!!!

So, are you absolutelly sure that even the arctic silver won't hurt my precious P4 if it goes through the hole???

What is that hole for anyway, mate?

Oh, and Volcano 7+ seems ok to me. I am testing it right now with my P3.
__________________
My Mojo…
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th July, 2002, 12:13 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

I have been asking myself the same question- i think ill have to call my friends at intel for an answer, but for 2-3weeks it has been on a P4 1.8 and 2.2 with retail heatsyncs and they have run fine- NEVER, please never have a heatsync mounted with no thermal paste or atleast a TIM!!!
sPDYER
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 7th July, 2002, 02:09 AM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

The hole is to let water vapor escape in the event of condensation. Getting AS in the hole probably won't harm it unless you live in a South American jungle where the normal temperature is 40C with 80% humidity.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 7th July, 2002, 08:19 AM
Freedom's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Greece, Athens
Posts: 63
Send a message via ICQ to Freedom

Thanks mates!
__________________
My Mojo…
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 8th July, 2002, 03:51 AM
drow_elf's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 721
Send a message via ICQ to drow_elf Send a message via AIM to drow_elf

wouldnt the AS help w/ cooling it too? AS is non-conductive (right?), the little hole has to be sealed (dont want dust getting in there!) so since AS has a lower thermal resistance than air (thats why you use it!) it should "pull" heat from the little hole to your heatsink...
__________________
"Pointillists shouldn't use Scantrons" -me
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 8th July, 2002, 08:01 AM
eobard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

I always thought AS was conductive, it was AA that isn't.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 8th July, 2002, 01:32 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Hmm, I guess I wasn't specific enough in my post. The original Arctic Silver WAS conductive. I believe it was made of micronized silver. The recent editions of ASII and ASIII are made of a polysynthetic compound and are NOT electrically conductive.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 8th July, 2002, 01:36 PM
mookydooky's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: Everywhere you want to be.
Posts: 7,903
Send a message via MSN to mookydooky

Quote:
Originally posted by drow_elf
wouldnt the AS help w/ cooling it too? AS is non-conductive (right?), the little hole has to be sealed (dont want dust getting in there!) so since AS has a lower thermal resistance than air (thats why you use it!) it should "pull" heat from the little hole to your heatsink...
The point of the hole was to let water vapor escape. It's highly unlikely though, that you would get enough water vapor in there for it to condense unless you go from a really hot humid environment to a dry cold. Just leave it alone. The CPU will runner hotter than ambient and if you happen to put it infront of a humidifier or a pot of boiling water or something, who knows, when you shut the machine off and the temperature drops, you may get some condensation.
__________________
Need a laugh? Take a peek at
AOA's Mookydooky's "Just for laughs!" Joke Topic


AOA Team fah

我喜欢大屁股, 我不能骗你..... 他们弟兄不能否认......
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 8th July, 2002, 10:17 PM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Good having it for peltiers..............
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2002, 02:13 AM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

The little hole in the IHS is needed in the process of making the CPU. It is there to allow gas to escape as the newly-made chip cures. Who would have thought of a farting CPU? lol

Anyway, once the chip is made you should fill it with paste, as you certainly don't want an air pocket of that size so close to the core. It will get VERY hot...

I know I would fill it out if I had a chip with an Integrated Heat Spreader (IHS).
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 9th July, 2002, 02:15 AM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Oh yeah, I nearly forgot... don't EVER run a chip WITHOUT using thermal compound!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2002, 08:35 AM
Freedom's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Greece, Athens
Posts: 63
Send a message via ICQ to Freedom

Ok, lets clarify this issue then:

Is Arctic Silver 3 conductive at all?

Should i prefer Arctic Alumina instead?
__________________
My Mojo…
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2002, 08:52 AM
Uncle Bob's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2002
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 3,734

Quote:
Originally posted by Freedom
Ok, lets clarify this issue then:

Is Arctic Silver 3 conductive at all?

Should i prefer Arctic Alumina instead?
From the Arctic Silver III Homepage:
Arctic Silver 3 was formulated to conduct heat, not electricity. It is only electrically conductive in a thin layer under extreme compression.
(While much safer than electrically conductive silver and copper greases, Arctic Silver 3 should be kept away from electrical traces, pins, and leads. The compound is slightly capacitive and could potentially cause problems if it bridged two close-proximity electrical paths.)

From Arctic Alumina Homepage:
Arctic Alumina Compound is a pure electrical insulator, neither electrically conductive nor capacitive.

I think I'd trust the manufacturer.
__________________
Main Rig: Gigabyte GA-965P-DQ6 (rev. 1.0) cooled by the Monster Water Cooling Setup
HTPC One BIG Case Asus 8 CORE Monster
Current PC Count:
ASROCK: 1 * BIOSTAR: 1 * ASUS: 5 * CHAINTECH: 7 * GIGABYTE: 2 *IWILL: 1 * MSI: 3* TYAN: 2
175+ GHZ total power for PC Perspective Killer Frogs Climate Prediction Team as The Uncle B's!!
and more coming all the time!

I'm the Uncle your Aunt won't talk about. Go ahead and pull my finger!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2002, 08:53 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

I use artic alumina personly and it gives me fine temps :-D
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 10th July, 2002, 09:29 AM
Freedom's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Greece, Athens
Posts: 63
Send a message via ICQ to Freedom

All riiiiiiight!!!!!!!!


Its Arctic Alumina, then!!!

__________________
My Mojo…
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does thermal compound go bad? Nate-X Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 11 8th August, 2006 04:37 PM
How do I clean off thermal compound? aghastpumpkin AMD Motherboards & CPUs 38 20th February, 2006 11:56 PM
Re-using thermal compound andrew726 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 21 11th April, 2005 04:32 AM
What cooling compound should I use? Kobaia Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 1 5th May, 2004 08:12 PM
Thermal pads or thermal adhesive glue Veky Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 3 19th October, 2003 04:38 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:44 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0