AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd July, 2002, 03:42 PM
memrxukuk's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to memrxukuk

Question Intel 810E

What on earth am I going to do

When I was told my parents where going to get my machine for me I thought great my dad is quite good with computers he will get me a good one

So after much discussion they brought me this back, I don't like being ungreatful but what can I do with this. Incomes a Intel Celeron System with a jumperless mobo with the Intel 810E chipset. intels own desktop board with built on sound, lan, usb controller blah blah I freaked that they had also had a HCF Modem so straight away I had to go download some HCF drivers for linux, I use a dual boot system windows 2000 pro for my uni specific programs and red hat for everything else.

How on earth do I clock this piece of junk, a jumperless mobo, no settings in the bios a rubbish bios at that no power settings etc. Someone help me I'm going to pull my hair out.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 23rd July, 2002, 04:46 PM
Allan's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 7,914

Well, the task on hand is not an easy one... have you tried software overclocking? Anyway, I doubt you will get any speed increase that is actually worth the trouble, sorry.

What are the system specs? CPU speed, video card etc.?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th July, 2002, 04:31 AM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Looks like Allan's suggestion might be all you can try.
There's a proprietary i810 that handles 133 Mhz FSB. Maybe your mainboard can handle a PIIIEB. PIII's are a lot cheaper than they used to be.

Sadly, proprietary boxen are often too much trouble to upgrade. Sorry, mate. If it's better than the rig it replaces, there's daylight in the deal. SDRAM isn't too costly. Packing the mainboard with RAM may make for a clear boost in performance.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel 810e drivers? Staz Intel Motherboards & CPUs 2 24th August, 2004 06:50 PM
NF7 + Intel! Lazgoat AMD Motherboards & CPUs 1 3rd July, 2004 04:27 AM
About Intel Jelen Intel Motherboards & CPUs 2 11th September, 2002 07:27 AM
AMD or Intel????? The Spyder Random Nonsense! 13 3rd February, 2002 01:13 AM
AOA Intel Pinky ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 16 27th January, 2002 01:35 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:08 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0