AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Intel Motherboards & CPUs

Intel Motherboards & CPUs Questions or comments on INTEL products?


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 18th September, 2002, 04:44 AM
TT120's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA.
Posts: 27
Send a message via ICQ to TT120

Dual PIII stepping

I was wondering if the stepping on PIII chips matters on a dual board. Do both chips have to be the same stepping?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 18th September, 2002, 05:06 AM
S_Wilson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 577

Re: Dual PIII stepping

Quote:
Originally posted by TT120
I was wondering if the stepping on PIII chips matters on a dual board. Do both chips have to be the same stepping?
Not necessarily. The same stepping thing was mostly for overclocking duals with the theory that the two chips would run similar speeds at similar voltages.

They should both be the same kind such as coppermine but stepping isn't a big deal.
__________________
-- P4 930 @ 4.1Ghz -- Asus P5WD2-P -- 2X1GB PQI DDR2 3-3-3-8 -- 7800GT -- X-FI Audio --
-- X2 3800+ @ 2.7Ghz (No IHS) -- Epox 9NPA+ Ultra -- 2X1GB G. Skill 3-4-3-8 -- 7800GT --
-- P4 3.0C -- Abit IC7 -- 2X512MB PQI TCCD -- 9800 Pro --
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 18th September, 2002, 03:55 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Hey TT !!

Great to see you 'round.

Mr. Wilson is quite right, but I thought I'd say hi!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 19th September, 2002, 06:05 AM
TT120's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA.
Posts: 27
Send a message via ICQ to TT120

Hey Pinky! hows it going? Long time.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th September, 2002, 07:19 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by TT120
Hey Pinky! hows it going? Long time.
I figure we don't run into each other because I only post in Cyber deals, the blue room, and the classifieds over there...

I also dropped Intel for the cheaper and unlockable AMD stuff, very pleased thus far with the move (so's my wallet ).

Been doing more music lately, too, something you probably didn't even know I was involved in since I was just getting back into home production the time I was most involved at oc'ers.com...

feel free to check some of it out www.the-boogiemen.com
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2002, 07:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Posts: 5

I FOUND YOU!!!!
i thought you might be dead!

good thing tho... just incase you didnt here the word there will be a lan party this weekend, if your free we'd love to see ya there...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26th September, 2002, 10:14 PM
phantompunisher's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: vermont usa
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to phantompunisher

is everyone sure about not needing the same stepping for a intel dual? i always heard you needed the same steping but ive never seen any tests or anything
__________________
new comp- Abit IT7 p4 2.4b @2.9, 512 coursair xms3200c2 @ 430 DDR, visiontek G4 Ti4200 128mb DDR
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 27th September, 2002, 04:16 AM
S_Wilson's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Posts: 577

Quote:
Originally posted by phantompunisher
is everyone sure about not needing the same stepping for a intel dual? i always heard you needed the same steping but ive never seen any tests or anything
Absolutely sure, I have done it with P3's. Matching the stepping was mainly for overclocking purposes.

I even read, not sure where and when, that you don't even have to have the same speed grade of chips as long as they are same family such as coppermine. That one I am not so sure about as I have never tried.
__________________
-- P4 930 @ 4.1Ghz -- Asus P5WD2-P -- 2X1GB PQI DDR2 3-3-3-8 -- 7800GT -- X-FI Audio --
-- X2 3800+ @ 2.7Ghz (No IHS) -- Epox 9NPA+ Ultra -- 2X1GB G. Skill 3-4-3-8 -- 7800GT --
-- P4 3.0C -- Abit IC7 -- 2X512MB PQI TCCD -- 9800 Pro --
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2002, 02:13 AM
Kris's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 554

Yep... Stepping is NOT a big deal...

I have run duals of different speeds together... no problem... P3 650 & 500... I think that was a VP6 board (but am unsure.. )
__________________
Kris

Notice to signature reader: The entire physical universe, including
this signature, may one day collapse back into an infinitesimally
small space. Should another universe subsequently re-emerge,
the existence of this signature in that universe cannot be guaranteed.


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My dual PIII, now in a case!! robbie Case Modifications 7 12th July, 2003 06:46 PM
Dual PIII Xeon machine. Worthwhile? cloasters Intel Motherboards & CPUs 16 8th June, 2003 02:14 AM
Triple Duals (Dual CPU, Dual Monitor & Dual Case) IFMU Case Modifications 6 29th October, 2002 06:37 AM
Hey you !ntel broz. Nice PIII folder mobo, Tyan Tiger 200T Dual PIII motherboard Lionfish ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 0 30th May, 2002 03:21 AM
Dual PIII SiGmA_X Intel Motherboards & CPUs 1 11th May, 2002 07:07 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0