AOA AOA AOA Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS > Linux

Linux Questions and information concerning Linux


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2010, 07:15 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,204

vlc in gentoo

In addition to vlc, what packages do I need in order to play DVDs in gentoo? Or do you have another recommendation for a media player?
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2010, 09:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

you shouldn't need to explicitly install any other packages, just set the proper use flags and needed packages will be pulled in when you emerge vlc.

vlc recommends these use flags - dvd ffmpeg mpeg mad wxwindows aac dts a52 ogg flac theora oggvorbis matroska freetype bidi xv svga gnutls stream vlm httpd cdda vcd cdio live

Nothing wrong with vlc, it will play pretty much everything and has some nice features as well. My personal preference is mplayer without a gui front end.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2010, 10:20 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,204

That is pretty much the same list of flags that I have set, although a couple of those you gave me are ignored for some reason during the compile. I recompiled after adding the flags you posted, and here are the ones actually used:
Code:
X a52 aac alsa amd64 bidi cdda dbus directfb dts dvd elibc_glibc ffmpeg flac gcrypt 
gnutls httpd id3tag kernel_linux libnotify live matroska mmx mp3 mpeg multilib musepack 
ncurses ogg opengl png qt4 sdl skins sse stream svg truetype udev userland_GNU vlm vorbis x264 xcb xml xv
I have used vlc for the last couple of years, it has always worked fine for me and works if I boot to my sidux/aptosid install. In gentoo it is ok for all media files, but won't play a DVD.

I have to play with it some more. Maybe vlc is looking for the wrong mountpoint for the DVD drive.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 12th October, 2010 at 10:21 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2010, 10:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

try running it from the command line and see what error messages pop up.

vlc /path/to/dvd/

I'm betting the lack of hal is the problem, there is a commit for vlc without hal but I don't know how far along that is.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2010, 10:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

The only other thing I can think of is libdvdnav but it should have been been pulled in.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2010, 10:59 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,204

libdvdnav is in. No errors at the command line, just hangs forever.

I'll take a look some more tomorrow. Time for some ZZs

BTW that QX is on the way, should arrive in a week or so.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 12th October, 2010 at 11:00 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2010, 12:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Other thoughts. Make sure you are in the cdrom group

and if you have a cdrom line in your fstab either get rid of it and let udev take care of it or make sure users have access to it

Here is my fstab line for the cdrom, /mnt/cdrom can be symlinked to /dev/cdrom# if need be.

/dev/sr0 /mnt/cdrom auto noauto,user 0 0
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12th October, 2010, 11:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Also did you include udf support in the kernel?
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2010, 03:54 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,204

Interesting. I commented out the cd line in fstab and it works now, but only for DVD, and won't mount a normal audio CD. Not too important, but I wonder why?

My user was already in the cdrom group and udf fs is enabled.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2010, 08:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

If you comment out the line it can play dvd's but not audio cd's, if you uncomment the line it can play cd's but not dvd's? Is that correct?

Show me your fstab line.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2010, 09:22 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,204

If the line is out, DVDs automount and can play in vlc.

With the line in, neither DVDs nor CDs will play, but the DVDs will automount. I did not test CDs before now, so I didn't know before.

EDIT: wait a minute, I'm having a brain fart... Maybe...I have an idea
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 13th October, 2010 at 09:27 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2010, 09:33 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

You won't be able to mount an audio cd in that manner, they don't have a valid filesystem. Still I'm not sure sd0 would be the correct path.

Will vlc play an audio cd from the menu with the fstab line commented out?
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2010, 09:37 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,204

sd0 was a typo. When a DVD automounts the device is sr0.

Cannot automount nor can I manually mount a CD. It doesn't seem to matter if the line is commented out or not. Now I understand that it isn't a valid fs, so it's normal.

Code:
OPTERON-185 ~ # mount -r /mnt/cdrom
mount: /dev/sr0: can't read superblock
fstab:

Code:
/dev/sr0                    /mnt/cdrom    auto        noauto,user        0 0

EDIT: OK, I've figured out what I was missing. I had to change the default path in the vlc options to /dev/sr0. I guess my original suspicion was right; it was looking in the wrong place

So actually I don't need the line in fstab at all, I'll just leave it commented out. DVDs will automount, and play in vlc and audio is OK now as well. How does one display the contents of a audio CD in the file manager though? Can that be done? I seem to remember being able to do it in nautilus in the past. Maybe Thunar doesn't support it?
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 13th October, 2010 at 09:47 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2010, 10:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

I don't know how to display them in thunar. I just use a terminal for file management and audio cd's are just mplayer cdda://
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2010, 10:11 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,204

Thanks as always and have a good day. You are up early. Well, too early for putzing around with me, anyhow. Don't you have something better to do with your time?
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 13th October, 2010 at 10:13 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2010, 10:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

At the moment, I don't have anything better to do. Diagnosed a couple of cars and am waiting for parts to show up while I drink coffee and see what's happening on the www.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 13th October, 2010, 08:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

TR, you're just running with ~amd64 in make.conf, nothing in package.unmask or any overlays?
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 14th October, 2010, 01:09 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,204

Running x11 overlay. Portage 2.2 unmasked.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gentoo OpenRC Migration ThunderRd Linux 6 2nd October, 2010 07:19 AM
Some confusion re: layman/gentoo ThunderRd Linux 3 20th August, 2010 03:22 PM
Getting SELinux working on Gentoo Gizmo Linux 8 18th December, 2009 04:05 PM
Gentoo overlay concept ThunderRd Linux 22 15th December, 2009 09:05 AM
Geforce2 TV Out on Gentoo Áedán OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 7 15th February, 2004 01:32 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0