AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS > Linux

Linux Questions and information concerning Linux


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2012, 04:35 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Shoot me a picture of your desktop to jog my memory of MATE. Cinnamon is very ...different and... alluring...don't you like that word, it sounds just like what it means....alluring...LOL
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2012, 06:48 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

I can confirm that installing from a Live USB drive does work. I just did it with Backtrack 5 R2 GNOME-64 this afternoon.

As far as I know there is no difference between a live cd and a live USB. the process of making them is the same. The only difference is the actual medium used.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2012, 06:23 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

This is very good news. I know Boo never doubted he could pull it off, but I was haunted by something I read in the past was was afraid he might be wasting his time trying to get it to do what it could not.

Is it any faster to install from USB...That's right I converted right before your eyes! ":O}

How have you been Wonderbread?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2012, 06:30 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

Its noticeably faster than from a CD! I'm not sure what Brian's issue is. I have the exact same motherboard as he does and I've never had a problem booting to a Live USB.

I spent a little bit of time talking to him. I may, if I have time and he hasn't figured it out yet go over to his place and see what he's got going on. Its nice to be close to fellow AOAers especially when they live on the street that I grew up on.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 11th August, 2012, 07:33 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

How's that for synchronicity!

Really, the street you grew up on? That's great. I can't tell you why, But it is! LOL
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 12th August, 2012, 12:40 AM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Yeah its really strange, I"m starting to wonder if its the BIOS version I am on.
I tried it again last night... Mint was a NO Go, but Ubuntu actually booted but would hang with only text on the screen.
I'm trying to format with the HP USB format tool as FAT32 and then use pendrivelinux to install Mint without formatting.
We'll see what happens this time.
Next is a BIOS update, but I hope it doesn't screw up my Win 7 install.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 12th August, 2012, 01:01 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

Make a backup image of Win 7 first! and try UNetbootin to make the Live USB...see if that might work.
__________________

Last edited by WonderBread; 12th August, 2012 at 01:16 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 12th August, 2012, 03:23 AM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I can't do the image because all my games are installed and fills up 100 Gigs.
But I have a question. Once I use netbootin to make it bootable, how do I get the .iso on the drive?
Do I extract it myself or just copy/paste?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 12th August, 2012, 04:18 AM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

There is definitely something going on with my machine. I got to the same point as the last weekend.
I finally got my flash drive to boot and start the Mint Live.... almost
I tried added nomodeset to the boot options and it wouldn't start X
So then I tried compatability mode and here is the last line:

Code:
[     0.9074721  ACPI:  processor limited to max C-state 1
it just sits there forever.
I'm going to do some research on this max C-state 1
Maybe its an AMD CPU issue or maybe its a video card issue, but I'm not giving up!
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 12th August, 2012, 06:47 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

Try disabling USB 3.0 in the BIOS and see what happens.

Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 4G using Tapatalk
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2012, 03:44 AM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

yup, already tried that. I read that post too.
I think that would affect the booting to USB problem, but I found that my motherboard has a problem with the FAT32 formatting from pendrivelinux.
Not sure why, but when I format from that HP USB format tool, the motherboard sees the drive just fine.

I'm also pretty sure my issue running Live Linux is due to a GPU or motherboard chip. I tried running it in compatability and evne added nomodeset, but it still freezes up.

So without updating my BIOS, I'm going to have to wait until the next kernel release.

But I will check my BIOS and see if its updated, wouldn't that suck if a simple update fixed my problem?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2012, 04:14 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

The latest version for our board is F6. It only takes a few minutes to flash the BIOS from the gigabyte flash utility within Windows.

Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 4G using Tapatalk
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2012, 08:54 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

yup, thats what I'm going to try to do, I hope it doesn't mess up anything in windows.

I am curious about Grub though. If I delete the Fedora partitions and install Mint, will it still include Windows 7 in my boot options?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2012, 11:18 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

It should automatically detect the windows partitions and setup the proper parameters to select your desired OS at boot. At least that's how it worked for me and I've reinstalled Linux about 3 times in the past 2 weeks with a live USB no issues

Sent from my T-Mobile myTouch 4G using Tapatalk
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 13th August, 2012, 11:21 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

that is what I'm hoping for. Otherwise, I should be able to enter the boot information myself.
Maybe I'll copy the Grub2.cfg from my Fedora installation.
do you know if Mint Cinnamaron uses Grub or Grub2?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2012, 12:23 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

That I don't know.

Sent from my JellyBeaned myTouch 4g using Tapatalk
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2012, 06:38 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I found this here:

"

Quote:
Quote Originally Posted by nolatux View Post
Hi Terry,

Thanks for the quick reply. I understand if the Linux distro I'm using uses grub2, I should then select Grub2 in the drop down list. However I now have 4 Linux distributions (as well as Windows 7) installed on my PC (Ubuntu, Linux Mint Debian, Fedora & Slackware - all use grub2).

Currently, I have 2 entries in my NeoSmart enhanced Windows 7 boot-loader. 1) Windows 2) Neosmart Linux. The latter 3, I boot into from my Ubuntu Grub2 boot-loader. I was looking to be able to set up the option to boot into each of the Linux distros directly from the Win7 boot-loader and not from the Ubuntu Grub2 screen. How would I go about making this happen?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2012, 06:08 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Thanks Dan, I'll read that post and see if it helps me with OS priority.

Well, I updated to BIOS ver F9 still nothing. I can't run Live Mint in compatability mode or regular mode. With "nomodeset" in the boot options it fails to start X windows.

I honestly don't think using a DVD or Netbootin will help. Mint has an issue with my hardware. I may contact their support and see if they have experienced this before.

very strange... the reason I am stubbornly trying to get Linux on THIS computer is because I wanted to test games on modern hardware. I'm sure it will work fine on all of my other computers, but this one is key because I will eventually upgrade most of my computes in the future. Not to mention games run better on modern hardware, specially wine.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2012, 06:21 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Oh, I almost forgot... I read a forum that suggested booting and installing on a separate hard drive since I have windows 7 and an existing Fedora 16 installed already.
I'm not sure why that would matter, but I'll try popping a 2nd hard drive in and unplugging the original.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 14th August, 2012, 06:31 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

This happen to me in Fedora, several times! Nobody else has a problem in this world, but every time I'd turn around Gizmo had to fix me up again!

(Fedora would be dead if they hadn't developed a Gizmo!)

As to the DVD, you don't know till you try...and when you've tried everything else, try the recommend procedure...

I know,....It seems like the cowards way out to me to! But on several occasions recently...God I hate to say this...

But following the herd actually is easier.... after exhausting every possible alternative of course!!

Bless you Boo, I know this has become something of a quest for you and I just gotta say I admire the way you've kept at this...

But your just not thinking of me! I want you in Mint, don't care how you get there! LOL
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
linux mint , live linux , mint 13 , usb boot



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RGA+ woes Jsa EPoX MotherBoards 40 1st April, 2003 01:20 PM
EP-8RDA+ and Non + and USB Woes ImmortalBlade EPoX MotherBoards 13 4th March, 2003 04:54 AM
DualDDR woes.. magnux EPoX MotherBoards 8 1st January, 2003 06:05 PM
.bin file woes - please help! Ashy General Hardware Discussion 1 27th March, 2002 11:08 PM
Paypal Woes.. ItHuNkPuNk Random Nonsense! 12 22nd January, 2002 02:28 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0