AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS > Linux

Linux Questions and information concerning Linux


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2012, 02:46 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

Linux Desktop dead? [NOT]

An interesting blog post about the Linux desktop, specifically Gnome, and some *creative* interpretations of how and why the APIs have been [intermittently] broken. I don't see why much of the blame is being placed on Linus; afaik he has always strongly advocated continued backwards compatibility, maybe even to a fault. The blogger, Miguel de Icaza, is one of the founders of the Gnome project. He also blames developer attitudes and disparities between distros. He seems to blame practically everything but himself:

https://plus.google.com/u/1/11525042...ts/hMT5kW8LKJk

Read the following comments. Some of the BIG guns in the Linux kernel world are here; Theodore T'so, Ingo, Alan Cox, and Linus T. 'hisself. I like what Cox says:

"Gnome isn't really a desktop anyway - it's a research project."

Flame war in the making?
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 5th September, 2012 at 03:25 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2012, 04:39 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Sounds a bit like the kernel then - sound, wifi, /proc, /sys - they've all changed hugely, and not maintained backwards compatibility.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 5th September, 2012, 10:54 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I must be missing something...what a surprise! ":O}

This guys an expert right?

Quote:
"Why bother setting up the audio?

It will likely break again and will force me to go on a hunting expedition to find out more than I ever wanted to know about the new audio system and the drivers technology we are using. "
Ah, I haven't had a problem that couldn't be fix in config since.... I can't remember having a problem other than buying a Sound card for windows then switching to Fedora...never got to use it.... but that was years ago.

So what makes this so difficult for him?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th September, 2012, 09:18 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Is that with OSS, ALSA, EsounD, aRts or JACK?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th September, 2012, 01:31 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

As if Windows is free from audio hassles!

My PS3 is very easy when it comes to audio, plug it in, and press play. The PS3 being Linux-ish
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 6th September, 2012, 02:42 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Try that with HDMI and Linux... I've bashed my head against that one before, even when the hardware's supposed to be able to do it (and can under Windows). Gotta make sure you've got the right audio drivers, the right video drivers, and that you don't mind editing text files to tell the sound subsystem what it actually needs to do to make the interface work. Even then, it was hit and miss, but with more miss than hit.
__________________

Last edited by Aedan; 6th September, 2012 at 02:42 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 6th September, 2012, 03:44 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

I've never used anything but ALSA, and it seems to work fine for me. I don't do anything fancy, though. I did have an odd problem once on sidux - I don't remember the details - but after some playing around it seemed to work itself out. It was one of those things I got working, but can't rightly say HOW I did it Like danrok says, I don't remember it being any more of a hassle than getting audio set up properly on Windows.

OSS is deprecated now, I *think*
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 6th September, 2012 at 03:46 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 6th September, 2012, 05:05 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I have to say that my sum experience with audio under Windows has pretty much been plug it in[*], with the exception of one firewire device which only needed a driver to be installed. No configuration needed, no playing around needed.

* Not quite true - I did write some code on a microcontroller that acted as a USB microphone. That wasn't quite plug it in! I didn't need to write a driver for it either.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linux and the Mysterious Netbook-to-Desktop Gap Daniel ~ Linux 9 21st December, 2009 04:56 AM
The Day, Or Year, The Linux Desktop Died Daniel ~ Linux 3 15th May, 2009 05:14 PM
Windows 7 is enough to kill Linux on the desktop danrok Windows 7 64 30th January, 2009 06:18 PM
Linux is a desktop creature Daniel ~ OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 2 23rd November, 2007 07:07 PM
Why you can't give desktop Linux away Samuknow OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 15 15th June, 2007 04:28 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:19 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0