AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > GAMES! OH YEAH! > Linux

Linux Gaming Support on Our Favorite Free Platform


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2013, 06:09 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Quote:
Originally Posted by booman View Post
Yeah, I've seen problems with Mint 64-bit because you have to install the 32-bit libraries in order to run 32-bit programs like Wine and 32-bit games.
That is why I stuck with Mint 32-bit. Just easier in the long run.

Do you know how to install the 32-bit libraries for Mint 64-bit?
I lost my instructions, if you have them Boo, please repost so I can copy them to a safe place.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2013, 06:22 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

May or may not help you.

I honestly don't remember which wine I used to install B-2.
But currently I have POL 4.2 set to use system Wine which is currently 15.26

I did initially follow Boomans Guide to get her up and running, But I update fairly constantly.

About all that comes to mind is to be sure you've installed the needed components from POL....

What about your card drivers. I'm Using Nvidia which can update though "System updates/software sources/Additional drivers..."

I don't know if or how well this would work For an ATI card?

Thing is, keep messing about with it, I've been amazed in the past when one change has made a game snap compleatly into focus and play perfectly...
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2013, 09:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2013
Posts: 33

Yeah. I'm not giving up on it yet. other than mic and the bright terrain until you go into it, I pretty much have it where I want it.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2013, 11:12 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by booman View Post
No comments? Seriously? Battlefield 2 is a classic!!!
I still play it to this day and have some awesome mods:
Eve of Destruction
Assault Mod
Pirates 2
Dawn Patrol
Forgotten Hope 2
OH MAN!! I REALLY need to get a linux but up and running. I can't get BF2 to run on my 7 box.
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2013, 11:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2013
Posts: 33

I tried with the latest of wine and pol, but same issues. I have an amd/ati hd6450 card. I think some of the audio issue might be with that, because it has the hdmi audio. I have an old sound blaster 24 bit live sound card that I originally bought to play bf2 back in the day lol. It serves well for a cheap old card. I have sound but no mic, but my video is my biggest issue. I have been searching and finding different opinions about video driver. In your opinion, would I be better installing the proprietary drivers in additional drivers, or downloading from their site and installing?

Here is a screenshot of my biggest issue

__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 31st March, 2013, 11:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2013
Posts: 33

I posted a reply about hardware with a screenshot, but it won't appear till approved? Anyway I forgot to add I installed the 2 like it says in the guide. d3dx9 and dotnet11.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2013, 02:25 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

dotnet1.1 or dotnet20 is important
d3dx9 is important too

You can Install those later by clicking configure
Then you can click the Install Packages tab
Scroll down to the dotnet and d3dx9

After you install them there is no confirmation and no indication that they ARE installed.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2013, 05:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2013
Posts: 33

I installed mint 13 (mate de), due to it being LTS release. To no surprise, same deal. Here is the crazy part. Last night I figured I would install 13 (cinnamon) and try it. Totally different result. I ran the game, and the display was all screwed up, but it wanted to run. The best way I can describe it, picture taking one screen and split it into like 8 parts, then move them all around quickly lol. I would think that almost has to be a display driver or resolution issue.

Sent from my Inspire 4G using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2013, 06:06 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I had that issue with a few games.
I tested Far Cry this weekend and that EXACT problem. All the terrain textures were white!

I'm pretty sure its a DirectX problem. I know BF2 ran really well with Wine 1.4.1
Could be drivers with your card, but I don't have much experience with an AMD card in Linux. I have mostly read about bad experiences and driver problems.

Check your Display options too.

1. launch PlayOnLinux
2. Click Configure
3. Select your BF2 Virtual Drive
4. Select the Display Tab
5. Direct Draw Renderer: GDI
6. Video Memory Size: the amount of memory on your video card
7. Offscreen Rendering Mode: fbo


Always reboot Windows after changing these settings!

Also, did you install the BF2 1.41 patch?
Did you install the 1.5 patch too?

If you tried it with a newer Wine, I have been told that it automatically includes "mono" which can conflict with dotnet packages.

So you may have to install BF2 again.
Ironically, BF2 probably isn't the best game to install for your first PlayOnLinux & Wine experience.
It was probably one of the hardest games to get running decently.
And... too many stinking steps.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2013, 07:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2013
Posts: 33

I did install both patches. Wouldn't it be possible to download, then install .net exe just like you would the patches? That way you would know its there.

Sent from my Inspire 4G using Tapatalk 2
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 1st April, 2013, 07:25 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Oh Sure!
Yeah you can install pretty much anything, but what I've never understood about what runs in the background with Wine and Linux is how all of these packages work.
You know... what if I installed ALL of the available packages?
Does it even matter the order of when I install the packages?
I'm sure there would be some major problems and conflicts.

Wine users always recommend starting with a fresh prefix (virtual drive) when having problems... but thats usually my last step after doing all of my troubleshooting steps.

I probably installed BF2 5 times before getting some success... hence why I am doing the tutorials... I don't want other people to endure that frustration.

I would guess that there is something going on with your video card, directx and video drivers. But since I have no experience with AMD cards and Linux, it would be a good idea to do some research on your card.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 2nd April, 2013, 09:11 AM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by booman View Post
I had that issue with a few games.
I tested Far Cry this weekend and that EXACT problem. All the terrain textures were white!

I'm pretty sure its a DirectX problem. I know BF2 ran really well with Wine 1.4.1
Could be drivers with your card, but I don't have much experience with an AMD card in Linux. I have mostly read about bad experiences and driver problems.

Check your Display options too.

1. launch PlayOnLinux
2. Click Configure
3. Select your BF2 Virtual Drive
4. Select the Display Tab
5. Direct Draw Renderer: GDI
6. Video Memory Size: the amount of memory on your video card
7. Offscreen Rendering Mode: fbo

Always reboot Windows after changing these settings!...
So let me get this Boo, after all this trouble what you saying is reboot into windows and just play the damn game?
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!


Last edited by chrisbard; 2nd April, 2013 at 09:13 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 2nd April, 2013, 05:57 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Yes and No...
One of my pet-peeves with Windows is a required reboot after any hardware driver, Win update, or security software is installed.
OSX and Linux do not have this problem.
So with Wine, you have to simulate this "reboot" because the registry needs to be refreshed.
Unfortunately it can cause problem if you install a windows package and don't reboot.

But it is funny saying "reboot windows" in a Linux environment.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 2nd April, 2013, 07:43 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Just so you know...":O}

I'm using the openGL setting in POL config rather than GDI. This is not a suggestion nor a comparison as I have ALWAYS used OpenGl and was satisfied so never really tried to compare them ....

Don't hate me for my complacency! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 2nd April, 2013 at 07:43 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 2nd April, 2013, 07:48 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I don't remember every troubleshooting step from when I originally installed and ran Battlefield 2, but I must have selected "GDI" for a reason.

In all my other tests "opengl" has the best results.
So you are right Daniel, stick with "OpenGL"
I'll have to try BF2 again with Mint 14 and newer versions of Wine and PlayOnLinux too.

I'm sure there was a reason for selecting GDI, there has to be... I take screenshots of everything...
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 2nd April, 2013, 08:25 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

believe me I believe you! LOL Been there way to many times myself.

I've have come to accept that there are variables I will never account for....but so long as it pops who cares! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 2nd April, 2013, 08:28 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Exactly!
crazyjust, try setting Direct Draw Renderer to OpenGL
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2013, 01:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2013
Posts: 33

I tried, but not much different. I have been doing a lot of searching, and realizing what complete crap ati/amd cards are. From what I read, the linux drivers won't support the game. I now know I need an nvidia card. What would you guys recommend? I'd like about 1 gig memory, pci-e x16, and something that won't break the bank lol.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2013, 02:03 AM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Yeah, that sucks!
Anything GeForce 8800 or higher will work great!
I have been using a GeForce 550 Ti and it runs just about anything.
It is around $100 on newegg.com right now
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2013, 02:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: March 2013
Posts: 33

I see a lot of different number GeForce GT cards? Basically something that would run bf2, bfbc2, and eventually bf3 on linux. What do you think of this?

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...FcV66wodvAoArg
__________________

Last edited by crazyjust; 3rd April, 2013 at 02:13 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battlefield , battlefield 2 , battlefield 3 , linux games , mint 13 , mint 13 games , pc games , play on linux , playonlinux



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Black Mesa Mint 13 Tutorial booman Linux 15 22nd February, 2013 07:59 PM
Dosbox Games Guide booman Linux 3 25th October, 2012 06:09 PM
Unreal Tournament 3 in Mint 13 Tutorial booman Linux 2 8th October, 2012 01:54 PM
Playonlinux Mint 13 Tutorial booman Linux 21 25th September, 2012 12:48 PM
Battlefield 3 Jet Tutorial danrok GAMES! OH YEAH! 2 1st December, 2011 08:10 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:38 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0