AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS > Linux

Linux Questions and information concerning Linux


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 27th February, 2013, 09:58 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

yeah I need to do that!
other types of copying/pasting besides to and from my server.
I could try from my Windows partitions which is on a separate hard drive.
Non SSD, he he
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2013, 01:16 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

How are those machines connected? Is it an NFS server?

Do you have the same problem when trying to copy the same file in a terminal using cp?
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 28th February, 2013 at 01:18 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 28th February, 2013, 07:09 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

nope, I'm using SMB for copying files.
I am interesting in using NFS, but until now SMB has not been a problem.
Its and old fedora 8 32-bit machine.

I havn't tried copying via terminal. I might try that out.
How do I connect via SMB over terminal?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 1st March, 2013, 06:14 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

I'm not quite sure why you chose SAMBA as your protocol. Did you have windows boxen on your network at one time, 'cause that is what it was designed for, connecting windows machines to linux machines.

I'm sure there are better/faster ways of doing it between linux machines, though. NFS, SSH, and a few others are fast and mature.

But as for your question, I've never done it, but I would think that is you have the directories that you want to share advertised in samba.conf, you should be able to create a mountpoint on the client machine and copy that way. The only way I use samba is for my windows machine to access the linux host. I would rather use NFS, because it's faster, but I bought Win7 Pro, which does not provide NFS [Ultimate does, but at the time I didn't know that.]
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 1st March, 2013 at 08:09 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 1st March, 2013, 11:22 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

SSH is often the slowest way of sharing files. While lots of people claim that NFS is faster than SMB, those who have done much in the way of benchmarking have found that NFS and SMB are generally similar in speed. Now the implementation of NFS and SMB you use will have a massive impact on your speeds!

One example of testing done is at http://www.hob.de/downloads/NFS_CIFS.pdf
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 1st March, 2013, 12:40 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aedan View Post
While lots of people claim that NFS is faster than SMB, those who have done much in the way of benchmarking have found that NFS and SMB are generally similar in speed.
Is this true for both windows to linux networks as well as solely linux networks?

I got turned off long ago with SMB because I had a lot of trouble getting it configured, wanted to go to NFS but discovered I would need a closed-source app for the windows clients, and finally got SMB to work. It's adequate, but I've always felt I was missing out.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 1st March, 2013, 06:07 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

I have mostly Windows machines connecting to my Fedora 8 server, so I don't want to turn off SAMBA.
But when I was using Mint 13... never had any problems. Probably because it was using Nautilus instead of Nemo.

I'm still going to try reinstalling Nemo.
I'll also do a test in Openbox with Nemo to see if there any differences.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2013, 02:16 AM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Ok, I removed Nemo and installed Nautilus, guess what? It works fine now. I know Nautilus is bloated and uses a lot of resources, but it definitely copies my large files better than Nemo from my Fedora 8 server.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2013, 10:48 AM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Quote:
Originally Posted by booman View Post
After reading a couple of forum posts on Mint forums its anytime you use Nemo for transferring files. Flash drive, over the network, folder to folder.
Try copying a large file and let me know if it finish's by its-self.

No one has complained about copying from DVD or CD ROM.
I have installed a 2 DVD game with no slowness and even created folders from it. No problems there.
Sorry for this post but by reading the intro I remembered Norton interface for DOS!
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2013, 10:39 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

I used that for a year or two myself! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 3rd March, 2013 at 10:40 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
freezes , linux , mint 14 , nemo , slow



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mint 12 and Mint R.C. 13 with Mate or Cinnamon Daniel ~ Linux 0 20th May, 2012 10:18 PM
XP SP2 and Freezing GFX Abdul CRASHED! 9 24th November, 2005 12:23 AM
freezing!! Rain_of_Fire EPoX MotherBoards 16 11th May, 2004 01:19 AM
BB freezing pepps2010 Mobile Devices and Networking 1 12th March, 2004 01:37 AM
Freezing.....again!!!! CaesaR CRASHED! 47 3rd August, 2003 08:06 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0