AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Mobile Devices and Networking


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11th November, 2001, 01:25 AM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

2 or 3 NIC's ?

3 nic's and a hubb or 2 nic's and a router ?

Difference/ benefits.

For WHEN my DSL ever ges here.

TIA.
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11th November, 2001, 09:56 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I'm making a few presumptions here. I'm presuming that your ISP provides an ethernet handoff. I'm presuming your ISP provides you with an IP address rather than a netblock.

How many machines do you have? I'm presuming two.

In your three NIC scenareo, I'm assuming you're going to put two NIC in a machine that will be running something like smoothwall or ICS, and connect the second machine to the first.

In your 2 NIC and a router/NAT box, I'm presuming you're connecting the handoff to the router/NAT box, and the two computers to the local side of the router/NAT box.


3 NICs

- The main computer needs to be on whenever the other needs access.
- Crashing the main computer kills the connection to the second machine.
- Some programs don't like being run through ICS.
+ Don't need a router/NAT box
+ (ish) Can run ICS for connection sharing.

Router/NAT

- Need the router/NAT box
- Some programs don't like be run through NAT
+ Don't need to leave any computer on for access.
+ Easier to expand
+ Supports Non Windows machines



That's all I can think of before 9 in the morning!

AidanII
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11th November, 2001, 06:31 PM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

In your three NIC scenareo, I'm assuming you're going to put two NIC in a machine that will be running something like smoothwall or ICS, and connect the second machine to the first.

[slaps self] Yes connecting the two sys to share just a DSL line when it gets here, 2 nic's in 1 sys to the other [slaps self /]

Both on 24/7 F@H.
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys

Last edited by Lionfish; 11th November, 2001 at 06:34 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11th November, 2001, 09:05 PM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

IMHO, a router is the way to go. No CPU utilization on the host machine, only $80, and easier expandibility.
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2001, 04:48 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

a router is the way to go.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2001, 05:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 89
Send a message via AIM to SEiZe Send a message via Yahoo to SEiZe

Lionfish - If you are going to get a router, most people get the linksys. If you choose Linksys there are many options 1,4,8-port versions. I would spend some money and get the 8 port since it comes with a little more security features than the other ones.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 13th November, 2001, 07:49 PM
Lionfish's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: So Cal, near Robbie
Posts: 2,767

THANKS all !!

Looks like the router it is.
__________________
Ep0x 8K3A, XP1700+ T-bred JIUHB-(310)XPMW,DLT3C,189x12.5=2.36
1 gig mb PC 3200 Corsair .
Swiftech H20 setup with MCW372 block.
eVGA 6800 GT.
350 w Sparkle PS.

XFIRE= rottys
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NIC's Toro OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 7 15th October, 2005 02:48 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:26 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0