AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Mobile Devices and Networking


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2002, 10:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 49

Collisions on Hub

While transferring files over hub the collision light is lit almost all the time - is this normal.

Also, would a switch as apposed to a hub be better at avoiding this.

Using static IP's under Win XP Pro on 2 machines.

John.
__________________
Epox 8RDA+ Rev 1.1 Bios 3129
XP 2200+ running @ (10x200)
2 x 256mb Twinmos PC3200 (7,3,3,2)
Radeon 9600pro (Cata 3.7)
1 x 80GB Maxtor FB+ 9 8Mb
Samsung 616 DVD-Rom
Antec Truepower 430w
XP Pro SP1 DX9b
Nvidia UDP 2.03

MSI K7n2 Delta ILSR (BIOS ?)
AMD XP2500+ (10.5x200)
2x512mb PC3200 Twinmos (7,3,3,2.5)
Sapphire 9700 128mb (Cat3.7)
120Gb Maxtor SATA 8mb
80Gb Maxtor 8mb 7200rpm
Samsung 616 DVD-Rom
Samsung CD-R/RW 240SB
Antec Trupower 550w
XP Pro SP1 - DX9b
Nvidia UDP 2.45
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 22nd December, 2002, 11:34 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Yup, that's pretty normal.

A hub is a half duplex device - that's just a technical way of saying that only one computer can be talking at the same time, a bit like an intercom.

When you transfer files between two computers, the computer that is receiving the file will send back "I got that" messages (ack messages) to let the sending computer know that it's receiving the data ok. That's what's causing the collisions!

As far as a switch would go - yes, it'd remove collisions as long as everything on your network can operate at full duplex. On the other hand, depending on the number of collisions and the speed of your network, it may not be worth it.

BTW, if you only have two computers (no router etc), then a crossover cable may be a better solution. The crossover cable can only connect two computers together, but they can both run at full duplex. Cheaper than buying a switch for just two computers, but you can't add any more computers later!

Áedán
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 23rd December, 2002, 06:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Posts: 49

Cheers for that.

I will have 3 PC's and a laptop going thrpugh the hub - but I think you are quite correct in saying buying a switch is not warranted for such a small number of PC's.

John
__________________
Epox 8RDA+ Rev 1.1 Bios 3129
XP 2200+ running @ (10x200)
2 x 256mb Twinmos PC3200 (7,3,3,2)
Radeon 9600pro (Cata 3.7)
1 x 80GB Maxtor FB+ 9 8Mb
Samsung 616 DVD-Rom
Antec Truepower 430w
XP Pro SP1 DX9b
Nvidia UDP 2.03

MSI K7n2 Delta ILSR (BIOS ?)
AMD XP2500+ (10.5x200)
2x512mb PC3200 Twinmos (7,3,3,2.5)
Sapphire 9700 128mb (Cat3.7)
120Gb Maxtor SATA 8mb
80Gb Maxtor 8mb 7200rpm
Samsung 616 DVD-Rom
Samsung CD-R/RW 240SB
Antec Trupower 550w
XP Pro SP1 - DX9b
Nvidia UDP 2.45
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:21 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0