AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Mobile Devices and Networking


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 28th November, 2001, 08:22 PM
JAWS's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 124

What about this: I have the cable out of the wall to a cable connector. One line goes to my cable modem, the other goes to my tv. Is this anyway cutting down on some of my speed. I'm just checking every option. Thanks.
__________________
"Only a surfer knows the feeling"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 28th November, 2001, 08:39 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Unfortunately, there's no way to know without testing it... real easy. With your spliter in place, go to a site like DSL reports and run a test to determine your bandwdth. You can tweak there too. Then repeat the same process after removing the splitter.

The splitter isn't going to help performance, but it can hurt it, especially if the same line has already been split numerous times, or if the signal is not strong or clear.

Test it out,
SteveI.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2001, 05:25 AM
JAWS's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 124

I did find out something! When my TV is on, I have tiny lines in my monitor. I thought my monitor was dying! Is it bad to have your TV close to the monitor?
__________________
"Only a surfer knows the feeling"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 8th December, 2001, 10:31 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Three or four feet apart should be fine.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 9th December, 2001 at 12:11 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 9th December, 2001, 12:04 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally posted by JAWS
I did find out something! When my TV is on, I have tiny lines in my monitor. I thought my monitor was dying! Is it bad to have your TV close to the monitor?
It's not bad for the TV or the monitor, but it might well be bad for your eyes! It's just the magnetic field from the TV knocking the beam off target on the monitor.

Best way to deal with it is to seperate the TV and the monitor until you can't see any of the lines/flickering any longer! Some monitors are more suspect to such interference, and some TVs generate more than others. Generally the larger they are, the worse they are. This is unless you're lucky enough to have LCD or projectors...

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inserting memory card causes USB card reader to get removed videobruce General Hardware Discussion 2 6th November, 2006 03:26 PM
new card for me i think skool h8r Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 76 28th May, 2006 12:45 AM
ATI/Nvidia multi-video processing!!!!1 AGP card-1 PCI-e card (ATI ONLY) cadaveca Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 20th May, 2005 03:15 PM
Which PCI DVB-T card? tottyspotter Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 13 18th May, 2005 06:07 PM
No VGA Card RussianMissile1 General Hardware Discussion 3 5th September, 2004 08:56 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:35 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0