AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Mobile Devices and Networking


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 27th November, 2001, 11:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 146

Help!

Hey there..
Righto i have a cable modem... and 2 pcs, and 3 NIcs. i need to share the cable modem between both PCs.
Can i just put 2 nics in one PC, connect it to the cable modem, and to the other pc via a crossover cable, then run winproxy or ICS on the machine?

Cheers,
Dave
__________________
Dave - Spode's Abode

Dogs can never have too much fun! See Marge, Weee, weee, woo! wayhey! weeeeeeeee!!! -Homer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28th November, 2001, 12:13 AM
Super's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 535
Send a message via ICQ to Super Send a message via AIM to Super

Yes you can do that.

PC 1

1 nic connected to the modem
1 nic connected the the second computer with crossover


PC 2

1 nic connected to the first computer with crossover
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th November, 2001, 12:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 146

Cheers!
What sort of software should i use? is their any available that lets me limit the bandwidth to the second computer?
__________________
Dave - Spode's Abode

Dogs can never have too much fun! See Marge, Weee, weee, woo! wayhey! weeeeeeeee!!! -Homer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 28th November, 2001, 01:23 AM
Super's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 535
Send a message via ICQ to Super Send a message via AIM to Super

Quote:
Originally posted by Dave
Cheers!
What sort of software should i use? is their any available that lets me limit the bandwidth to the second computer?
I use AnalogX Proxy. . Easy to use and pretty small.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 28th November, 2001, 10:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 146

Thanks!
__________________
Dave - Spode's Abode

Dogs can never have too much fun! See Marge, Weee, weee, woo! wayhey! weeeeeeeee!!! -Homer
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:03 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0