AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Mobile Devices and Networking


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2002, 10:54 PM
majestic's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: England kent
Posts: 152
Send a message via Yahoo to majestic

HELP ME and XP

has any one else found incompatibility with XP and ME when networking
what i want is file and print sharing xp seems to be ok but me dose not like it
workgroups seem to need to be changed to get a notification form any computers.
if so how do u get around it any help is appreciated thanx
__________________


:.majestic.:
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 7th January, 2002, 11:56 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

There would be several types of configurations you could have setting these up... I think workgroups would have to be the same, probably easier without a domain. The admin accounts on both machines would also have to be identical (if not, then the login accounts for other usernames would have to be in comparable administrative groups), and NTFS file format with XP (if it was used, I use FAT 32 on mine) might cause further issues...

I will assume the PCs can "see" each other through pinging, etc...

As you see, it's not as easy as one might find hooking these up... there's probably tons I didn't even touch in this one paragraph .
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 9th January, 2002, 09:40 PM
majestic's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: England kent
Posts: 152
Send a message via Yahoo to majestic

Thanx
but there happens to be a bigger problem if they are both the same work group ME refuses even to recognise the network. XP has full acces to the ME computer and can see it all the time But ME just refuses to see any thing to even recognise there is a network intill i change the workgroup.
__________________


:.majestic.:
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 7th February, 2002, 04:17 AM
CNUCompGuy's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 164
Send a message via ICQ to CNUCompGuy Send a message via AIM to CNUCompGuy Send a message via Yahoo to CNUCompGuy

just a suggestion out of what Pinky mentioned, but could it be that you installed WinXP in the NTFS format?? Cuz WinMe won't be able to read anything what-so-ever from the hard drive, then, and probably won't even be able to see it....hhmmm....I wonder if there's a program out there that can bypass this, lol....I'm sure there is, lol, anyways, good luck, ttyl
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0