AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Mobile Devices and Networking


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2004, 10:25 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

How to enable a Pass-Thru connection on Smartphone

Q: How do I make desktop pass-through work on my SPV?
A: 1) Programs > Settings >Data Connections
2) Change the "Internet connection" option to "Automatic"
3) Menu > Edit Connections
4) Open "Dial-Up Connections" and press action on the "Orange CSD WAP" entry
5) Change the "Connects to:" option to "WAP Network"
6) Press Done twice
7) Open "GPRS Connections" and press action on the "Orange WAP" entry
8) Change the "Connects to:" option to "WAP Network"
9) Press Done twice


Save you paying GPRS tariff's whilst in bluetooth range of a suitably paired PC!
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2004, 10:42 AM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Quote:
Originally Posted by EPoX Tech
Q: How do I make desktop pass-through work on my SPV?
A: 1) Programs > Settings >Data Connections
2) Change the "Internet connection" option to "Automatic"
3) Menu > Edit Connections
4) Open "Dial-Up Connections" and press action on the "Orange CSD WAP" entry
5) Change the "Connects to:" option to "WAP Network"
6) Press Done twice
7) Open "GPRS Connections" and press action on the "Orange WAP" entry
8) Change the "Connects to:" option to "WAP Network"
9) Press Done twice


Save you paying GPRS tariff's whilst in bluetooth range of a suitably paired PC!
Just wish I could get my damn BT to work properly, anyway does it make it faster also? COuld be quite good on my opera enabled 7610 or my p910i when i finally get one (2 months till contract up for upgrade )
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2004, 10:45 AM
EPoX Tech's Avatar
EPoX Tech
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Seems not to matter
Posts: 4,720

Pass thru is much quicker yeah
__________________
If you need EPoX BIOS eeproms in the UK, goto http://www.epox.org.....................
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2004, 11:04 AM
bradmax57's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2002
Location: La Toon
Posts: 3,784

Not sure if its since changing to sp2 but my bt seems all to pot? I know the security stuff maybe causing my connection problems?
__________________
Asus Rampage II Gene - Intel i7 920 D0 - 6 x 2gb Patriot Viper 1600 DDR3 - Nvidia 285 GTX - OCZ Modstream 600W - 1 x samsung 1tb SATA HDD's - 2 x Pioneer 216D SATA DVD-RW - Antec P180 Mini
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2004, 12:46 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

XP SP2 tries to install it's own Bluetooth stack. That could well break your Bluetooth setup!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2004, 12:48 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradmax57
Just wish I could get my damn BT to work properly, anyway does it make it faster also? COuld be quite good on my opera enabled 7610 or my p910i when i finally get one (2 months till contract up for upgrade )
ET's tip only works with the Orange SPV. However, Symbian based phones have a similar trick, where they can use mRouter running on a PC. There's details out on the web!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Samsung SGH-i600 Ultra Edition smartphone MONKEYMAN Random Nonsense! 3 20th April, 2007 05:31 AM
Nokia N95 at Symbian Smartphone Show danrok Mobile Devices and Networking 0 27th October, 2006 10:26 PM
Pass!! GrahamGarside Random Nonsense! 6 9th December, 2004 12:27 AM
Qs: single pass, dual pass, tri pass, with TEC'd CPU Mahmga5 Cooling & Temperature Monitoring 4 26th March, 2003 11:56 PM
How to get a 3 day pass. mookydooky Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 0 3rd August, 2002 01:24 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:33 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0