AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Mobile Devices and Networking


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2005, 07:11 PM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

Network's file server

What would be better for a file server on a small(5 computer) network, and Intel based or amd based? If amd, does 64 bit really matter? Opteron anyone? How much does a processor really come into play if I have Raid and 10krpm drives? I've discovered I know nothing about servers, so anything you can offer would be great. Oh and I'm not too far against using Linux based servers, as long as it wont cry about being on the same network as 4 Win boxes.

Oh and do file servers need over a gig of memory? Or is this mostly for gaming servers?
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220

Last edited by XeroHouR; 9th March, 2005 at 07:19 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2005, 07:24 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Are you looking to use a 'real' file server or just a high-spec workstation acting as a fileserver?

What will the server actual do?
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2005, 07:52 PM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

I'm using it for fast remote storage of movies, software, applications for access on the home network, maybe when I build my HTPC I'll network it with movies on the file server. Just basically a few(by that I mean a lot of )gigs of off desk storage(since that much heat would slow down the overclocks ). I looked at MP systems, and thats pretty rediculous for a modified athlon XP(by modified I mean the same...)
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2005, 08:05 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

So, it is just going to be a PC which will provide network storage for your other machines - not really a server. Dual CPU servers normally run server side applications and carry out all manner of processing tasks. By the sound of it you won't be needing that.

For your purposes, I would mainly focus on data throughput. In other words, fast drives using RAID striping and gigabit LAN (for those big movie files). 1 GB of RAM should be ample and a single processor.

Try to get something like an nForce 3 or 4 board for the server, which has a true gigabit LAN. The nVidia firewall will also be a nice thing to have.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2005, 08:29 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

It depends on how fast you need it to be, if the most it's going to be taxed is all 5 systems streaming video at the same time, then even a single drive would easily cope with this, over even 100mbit networking.
What sort of files are likely to be stored on it? how often will lots of speed be needed? Is it likely that all 5 systems will need lots of throughput at the same time?
If the most it's to be used for is streaming video, then a cheap sempron system with about 256mb ram, gigabit ethernet, and a couple of SATA drives, mirrored for safety rather than striped for speed will do, even if you need to stream 5 dvd quality videos

Theres no problem netorking linux with windows, samba can be used to create windows netwroking shares
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th March, 2005, 08:42 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Linux would be ideal for such purposes and cheap if not free.

SuSe is good if you are a Linux noob:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/...661730-4885400

..and it is 64-bit!
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2005, 12:54 AM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

i am a linux noob so the proc could be a 754 sempron and be ok, and the drives would just have to be fast? If the full network isn't gigabit, it wont do me a ton of good to have gigabit on there, but it could be there for future purposes.
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2005, 01:02 AM
Pitch's Avatar
AOA Staff
Asteroids Champion, Maeda Path Champion, Disco Racer Champion, Alpha Bravo Charlie Champion, Van Champion
 
Join Date: February 2004
Location: The cake is a lie.
Posts: 5,025
Send a message via MSN to Pitch

Give FreeBSD a try, if you can configure it. Great fun.
__________________


XBL/PNS = neolad
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2005, 01:17 AM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

tbh, the more i think about it, the less fast i think it has to be, more or less just a lot of storage. Any consensous on into or amd just for general use, some speed is still obviously necissary, but I think mostly mass storage is more important....
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2005, 01:29 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

The only thing that would make intel preferable to amd is it's thermal protection should the cooling fail, which ic more of an issue with systems that aren't monitored often like a file server.
Just get a s754 sempron 2600+, a good board which allows you to lower the voltage (these semprons don't support cool'n'quiet so it will need to be via the board) and turn the voltage down and cool it passively.
The storage is definately going to be the bottleneck, think about it even with gigabit ethernet, thats only 133mb/s, theres no way a modern cpu and memory will struggle to keep up with those requirements and 2 modern sata drives striped would also reach that ceiling, though you may want to consider a RAID mode with redundancy for such a system
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2005, 02:15 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

RAID 5 would be best.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2005, 03:46 PM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

why not get a 300gb cat-5 or USB drive?
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2005, 03:51 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Quote:
Originally Posted by surlyjoe
why not get a 300gb cat-5 or USB drive?
I was thinking the same thing. There's so many to choose from now.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2005, 07:21 PM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

Well with any luck I'll be able to keep adding hard drives to it, hopefully pushing on a terabyte of storage somewhere way down the line. I'm retiring my stacker from my primary use into the storage dept, so I can add as many hard drives as one motherboard can support I'm sure . Raid 5 is a very possible eventuallity. The other apt members might pitch in a few bucks for some storage. The whole case can hold something like 11 or 15 hard drives I'm pretty sure, if I did all 74Gb or even 36Gb 10k RPM SATAs with that many of them, thats lots of storage
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2005, 07:26 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

forget raptors, thats overkill and newer sata drives are catching them up in performance any way, grab your self maxtor 10's, theres about a 20% performance differance which won't matter if you stripe them as you will hit the limit of gigabit ethernet first and you will save a ton
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2005, 07:31 PM
XeroHouR's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: March 2004
Location: Osceola/Muncie IN
Posts: 1,264

did i say raptors? :-X
Ha also I wont have a need for a heater during the winter, I can just move it into my room and set it next to my bed, I think its the same hieght as a radiator(not water cooling...room warming).
__________________
Sony Vaio SZ220
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 10th March, 2005, 08:32 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

I know of no other 10K rpm sata drive in those capacitys
a single raptor is noisy, a raid array of them would be aweful
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with deleted file on server!!! booman OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 6 9th November, 2006 11:29 PM
Help me fix the network's internet captaincurran Mobile Devices and Networking 17 4th December, 2005 02:24 AM
Ninja File Managers - Suggest a killer file organization app. DimViesel OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 0 6th September, 2004 09:35 AM
help with inline file server and messagimg server. r0l0e Mobile Devices and Networking 24 22nd July, 2002 01:52 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:09 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0