AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Mobile Devices and Networking


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average.
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 16th December, 2005, 10:16 PM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question Dell Inspiron 2650 Memory

I swapped an older socket A system for this Dell laptop yesterday.
There is a problem with the missing adapter that goes between the hard drive and the board. I have that ordered as of today.
It has 128mb of embedded memory and one slot to add more memory.
Dell tells me that a 256mb stick is the max I can add.
They could not tell me why, but did state that it is not a bios limatition.
I need to add as much memory as I can to this system.
I have installed XP Pro as the OS, so more memory is a must.
Can anyone help me with this.
Could I add a 512mb stick or maybe a 1gb stick of memory to this laptop?
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17th December, 2005, 12:31 AM
madcatmk3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: August 2005
Location: New York, United States of America
Posts: 2,213

it's cheap dell ****. while I think there Destop PC's can gain some power if someone experianced messes with them. But on the otherhand I don't know at all who malkes dell laptops and it's definetly not clevo (which malkes high preformace). I'ts possible they do that to thier lower models so people will go for the more prices one as well.
__________________
Alienware
3.2 Ghz
1 GB ram
4-4-4-12
160GB
256 MB 6800GT 413/1102
Main Rig
AMD 4000+ 2772 MHz w/ DFI SLI DR
2GB Corsair XMS (with LED's of course)@ 2.5-3-2-11 @ 240MHz
250GB HDD SATA2
Xfi-64MB X-Ram
WMCE
7800GTX OC-516(+40Mhz Delta clock)/1300
AOA Team fah
"The motherboard installation section essentially said "refer to motherboard manual for installation instructions". My motherboard manual of course said "refer to case manual for further installation instructions"."
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26th December, 2005, 11:40 PM
BobyJo's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: NC Texas
Posts: 516

Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobyJo
I swapped an older socket A system for this Dell laptop yesterday.
There is a problem with the missing adapter that goes between the hard drive and the board. I have that ordered as of today.
It has 128mb of embedded memory and one slot to add more memory.
Dell tells me that a 256mb stick is the max I can add.
They could not tell me why, but did state that it is not a bios limatition.
I need to add as much memory as I can to this system.
I have installed XP Pro as the OS, so more memory is a must.
Can anyone help me with this.
Could I add a 512mb stick or maybe a 1gb stick of memory to this laptop?
They were right, the 256mb stick is the only upgreade available for this laptop.
I have installed this upgrade.
I still have the problem of once in awhile I get a message
"no operating system found".
I had thought if I replaced that adapter between the hard drive and the board, that would eleminate this problem.
It did not, still there, Does anyone have an idea of what it would take to remove the bottom of the case etc.
I need to get a good look at the socket where the hard drive plugs into the board.
Maybe I could see what the problem may be.
__________________
DFI LP NF4 Sli-D 606
A64 X2-4800
Zalman CNPS7000Cu
Sapphire X1950 Pro XGWarCat6.12's
Hatachi SATA2 160gb
Seagate IDE 50gb backup
2x1gb Corsair XMS
OnBoard w/Logitech 5.1
ASUS 16x DVDr, Teac 1.44
Pioneer DL 16x DVDrw EMC7.5
Tsunami Dream Blk w/blue lights
Windows XP Pro SP2
OCZ XGamer 700Watt PS
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 27th December, 2005, 12:53 AM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

It could be the HDD not spinning up in time - check to see if there is a delay option in the BIOS, if there is, you could set it a little higher and see if that cures your problem.

HTH

Favu.
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Inspiron 6400 for $599! Limited supplies! danrok Online Deals, and Steals 0 17th July, 2007 06:39 PM
Dell Small Business: Save big on Flat panel monitors at Dell Gizmo Online Deals, and Steals 2 4th July, 2007 09:25 PM
Dell Inspiron 2650 not detecting HDD captaincurran CRASHED! 3 2nd September, 2006 12:46 AM
Dell Inspiron 1150 for $548 after $100 rebate. mookydooky Online Deals, and Steals 0 7th December, 2004 10:52 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0