AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Mobile Devices and Networking


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 31st May, 2006, 01:32 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Transferring large files....

I've got two machines at the moment both with dual Gigabit connections. Currently they are networked to my Netgear DG834 router. I've got some holiday video that I took off my camcorder on the hard drive of one machine that I'd like to transfer over to the other machine. Is it possible to link the spare/unsused Gb network ports directly together to speed up the file transfer rather than going through the router? Will it be any faster? Will a simple X-over or straight through Cat5 cable do?

Thanks.
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 31st May, 2006, 01:42 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

If the DG834 has only 100meg ports, then going from GbE to GbE is faster.

However, if you have two connections between machines, be aware that Windows will simply choose whichever one it feels like using for the connection. It will not automatically use the fastest connection available.

Thus, if you want to speed up the transfer, I'd recommend disconnecting the links to the DG834. Ideally, you'd be using Cat5e for GbE, and it should be a crossover if you're going direct from PC to PC.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 31st May, 2006, 02:01 PM
Lazgoat's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,868

Excellent, thanks Áedán .
__________________
DFI SLi-D, Opteron 144 @ 2.8Ghz, 4x512MB PDP XBLK, 160GB WD Caviar SE, Benq 1620DW DVD-RW, X1800XT 256MB,Custom WC.


AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 31st May, 2006, 03:04 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Áedán
However, if you have two connections between machines, be aware that Windows will simply choose whichever one it feels like using for the connection. It will not automatically use the fastest connection available.
Near as I have been able to ascertain, Windows actually tries to load-balance the connection, so it will use BOTH connections (and probably be slower than if you used just one).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 31st May, 2006, 04:20 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

My examinations so far tend to support the view that it's whichever connection responds first to a name request... I have never seen Windows attempt to try to load-balance at all.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 31st May, 2006, 04:39 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

It might be on a per-session basis or something then. Here's what I know:
We have a configuration of our server application that involves redundant servers. Because many facilities have networks that are, shall we say, less than reliable, we use two network interfaces, one public and one private. Windows was sending our replication data across BOTH network connections when we were referencing the servers by name; once we changed the setup to reference the servers by IP address, the data that we wanted to travel internally (only on our private segment) did so.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice? {warning} Large IMG RenegadesRemors Case Modifications 11 14th October, 2003 12:32 AM
transferring data resolnaisa General Hardware Discussion 5 30th August, 2002 12:02 PM
LARGE Lighting storm! Daniel ~ Random Nonsense! 8 9th June, 2002 01:35 AM
Files that are suitable for uploading to AOA's files?? cloasters Forum Feedback and Suggestion Box 5 20th May, 2002 03:13 PM
Transferring data (NTFS) sfa ok OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 8 29th October, 2001 11:43 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:44 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0