AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Mobile Devices and Networking


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th September, 2009, 05:38 PM
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to piccoLEW Send a message via MSN to piccoLEW Send a message via Yahoo to piccoLEW

ADSL gone down hill

Is anyone else here in the uk and on ADSL?

THe last couple of weeks i have seen my download speeds plummet by half. I havn't noticed it as much a few weeks ago as i was plying more single player games, but as of late my pings in games have been stupidly erratic, ranging from the normal 38 up to >300 which is when i get kicked from some steam servers in tf2.

I have also noticed when downloading game updates from steam the download was usually 350KB/s now its just 170 if i'm lucky. Is anyone else experiencing smilar symptons?

IT was probably at it's worst last night, it was just me connected to the net according to my router and the wireless was disabled. Looking at BTs website and other speed testing websites this (about 1.4mb) is the most our phone can reach, but have been getting at least 3mb up until recently
__________________
to make a mistake is human. but to REALLY screw things up you need a computer.
-End Of Line-
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st September, 2009, 11:55 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Does your router provide any line stats at all?
Which ISP do you use?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st September, 2009, 07:49 PM
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to piccoLEW Send a message via MSN to piccoLEW Send a message via Yahoo to piccoLEW

bt are the isp here. After my angsty email i called up their customer support line and explained the problem to the guy on the other end. They got me to do some testing and got them to do a more thorough test on our line, they found a fault and said within 48 hours you'll hear back from the networking team.

The next day saw an engineer up the pole in the morning and later in the afternoon, after which the speed seemed to have gotten better.

Using speedtest.net i've done a few tests and got 5 different results (avg 5.76) although most are around 6.1 - 6.2 which seems better than what i had before i reported the fault.

Although the chap i spoke to did a test from there and and said it was 7.616 which i find a bit exaggerated but will monitor for next 24 hours.
__________________
to make a mistake is human. but to REALLY screw things up you need a computer.
-End Of Line-
AOA Team fah

Last edited by piccoLEW; 21st September, 2009 at 07:50 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 22nd September, 2009, 09:37 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Your router should have some stats, like line rates, signal to noise ratio, error rates and others. These give a picture of the line quality, so you see if the line is degrading.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 22nd September, 2009, 12:11 PM
Rondog's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 3,298
Send a message via MSN to Rondog

Quote:
Originally Posted by piccoLEW View Post
bt are the isp here. After my angsty email i called up their customer support line and explained the problem to the guy on the other end. They got me to do some testing and got them to do a more thorough test on our line, they found a fault and said within 48 hours you'll hear back from the networking team.

The next day saw an engineer up the pole in the morning and later in the afternoon, after which the speed seemed to have gotten better.

Using speedtest.net i've done a few tests and got 5 different results (avg 5.76) although most are around 6.1 - 6.2 which seems better than what i had before i reported the fault.

Although the chap i spoke to did a test from there and and said it was 7.616 which i find a bit exaggerated but will monitor for next 24 hours.
My basic understanding of ADSL connections tells me that connection speed on the pole will be higher than in your home, because its closer to the exchange.

Someone will need to confirm though, not positive.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Rig 1: Intel Core i5 750,4gb,HD6870,500gb,W7 Ult x64
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 22nd September, 2009, 02:50 PM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rondog View Post
My basic understanding of ADSL connections tells me that connection speed on the pole will be higher than in your home, because its closer to the exchange.

Someone will need to confirm though, not positive.
It's the length of the LOOP, not how far you are from the CO. As a practical matter, those are usually the same, but in the case of the lineman on the pole, the loop would still be the same length unless he broke the circuit and terminated at the pole for the test, instead of just tapping it (the usual test method).

Last edited by Gizmo; 22nd September, 2009 at 02:51 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 22nd September, 2009, 05:32 PM
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: England
Posts: 1,229
Send a message via AIM to piccoLEW Send a message via MSN to piccoLEW Send a message via Yahoo to piccoLEW

THe router does have some line checking stuff. I didn't take a screenie of it on friday night when it got really bad, but i think the noise was higher then:

I tested it last night and downloaded the bf2 1.5 patch I wasn't paying lots of attention to it but it did reach speeds that i havn't had befroe like 600KB/s so i was pretty chuffed.
Attached Thumbnails
ADSL gone down hill-adsl.png   ADSL gone down hill-adsl2.png  
__________________
to make a mistake is human. but to REALLY screw things up you need a computer.
-End Of Line-
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 22nd September, 2009, 05:54 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

That's cool! Just a quick explanation of the figures:
  • Downstream connection speed - that's how fast the exchange talks to you.
  • Downstream line attenuation - that's how much signal the line is losing. The bigger the figure here, the more "muffled" the exchange is to your modem.
  • Downstream Noise Margin - that's how easy it is for your model to hear the exchange. The smaller this figure, the harder it is for the modem to hear the exchange.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shoe, meet other foot: Microsoft bashes Google on Capitol Hill over DoubleClick Daniel ~ Random Nonsense! 4 28th September, 2007 09:10 PM
Bill & Hill robbie Mookydooky's Just for laughs! 3 25th March, 2006 11:53 PM
Hill Climbing, so much fun! keithwalton Random Nonsense! 4 21st June, 2005 01:34 AM
WTF? Bomber on capitol hill? stigweed Random Nonsense! 20 13th April, 2005 09:21 PM
King Of The Hill BobyJo Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 12 22nd July, 2002 08:26 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0