AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Mobile Devices and Networking


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th April, 2002, 12:45 PM
burekar's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 58

ADSL latency optimisation

A few months ago when i got ADSL I opened a topic about speed optimization, but now, speed is not an issue anymore, latency is

So, here`s the point. I play a lot of online first-person shooter games and my ping is around 70 in neighbour countries, and around 30 in my country. And I found out that there is some major difference between playing with 50 and 70 ping. So, I am wondering how to squeeze a little bit more out of my internet connection. My ADSL modem is a Siemens xpresslink and I believe that this modem is making the latency worse. I have already opened the case of the modem and put three heatsinks on the chips that heat the most. I even installed a fan for sucking the hot air out. That gave me approximately 5ms less ping(from 70 to 65).
Is there anything else that I could do with this modem to improve the latency?

Btw, I`m running my computer on windows XP,.
__________________

Last edited by burekar; 24th April, 2002 at 01:09 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th April, 2002, 01:07 PM
Jazz's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: December 2001
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 1,105
Send a message via ICQ to Jazz Send a message via AIM to Jazz

First off make sure QOS packet manager is turned off in xp. This can steal cycles. I don't know how to really lower latency because its mostly on the network end not typically on your end.
__________________
AOA Team fah
"Remember there is a time to pray and there is a time to fight, anything can be a weapon if you are holding it right "
Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the ark. Professionals built the Titanic.
"Folding protiens and taking names"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2002, 08:39 AM
realManiac's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: malaysia
Posts: 17
Send a message via ICQ to realManiac

help! i am using aztech dsl turbo 900, 384k D/128k U adsl, wMe, wXPPro.. how to speed it how? latency set what?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2002, 01:23 PM
burekar's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 58

realManiac:

First of all, relay and tell us what your exact problem is. Is it going too slow or what? And second of al, latency means how lomg it lasts till the signal comes from your computer to a specific computer(server). The better the latency, the less delay.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25th April, 2002, 05:10 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

You will not be able to do a damn thing, the issue is in the routing of your packets once they leave your DSL modem. The ONLY route is to run "tracert" to an ip, see which hop is delaying your ping/response time (in 'ms'), and then contact your DSL provider to see if they have any influence/ownership over the offending hop/communications device.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26th April, 2002, 05:32 AM
The Spyder's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,086
Send a message via AIM to The Spyder Send a message via MSN to The Spyder

Pinky - that is exactly what i was going to say- is like the NODE for cable modems- the slower hte node and the more people the worst the connection!
Spyder
__________________
~The Spyder~
I7 965, 6gigs, ASUS, 4870 X2, WD640 AALS Lian Li PC65
Nikon D700, 24-70, 70-200 2.8, SB 800x2
1993 Mazda Rx7 R1 345whp. 2008 Mazda 3 Hatch
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 5th May, 2002, 07:43 AM
realManiac's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: February 2002
Location: malaysia
Posts: 17
Send a message via ICQ to realManiac

Quote:
Originally posted by realManiac
help! i am using aztech dsl turbo 900, 384k D/128k U adsl, wMe, wXPPro.. how to speed it how? latency set what?
mind to sent me a email? or icq chat, coz i can enter here often..


my dl speed is at 10k +/- ultra slow!!!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UK ADSL connection problems... tevildo Mobile Devices and Networking 1 21st November, 2006 03:54 PM
ADSL Max - recommended routers? Áedán Mobile Devices and Networking 4 11th July, 2006 11:37 AM
Sharing ADSL Broadband? Razorfish Mobile Devices and Networking 9 31st December, 2004 08:51 PM
NVIDIA nTune 2.00.17.05 Performance Optimization and Monitoring for nForce mainboards aJ\/Tg EPoX MotherBoards 23 30th October, 2004 07:06 AM
ADSL Woo! GrahamGarside Random Nonsense! 10 18th September, 2004 09:35 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:31 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0