AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Mobile Devices and Networking


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 21st May, 2011, 06:44 PM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

wireless network trouble

components:
Dell Inspiron 9300/OS is XP/Intel Pro Wireless 2200BG
Linksys WRT54GL Wireless-G Router
AMD based Tower/OS is XP

accessed the router to set it up and it was easy! laptop 'sees' the wireless networks in the area
including the one that was just set up. error message says 'unable to connect to network'.
just when I think I know what I'm doing. so far I've set the encryption, passkeys
and all the hardware/software needed to get started. even tho this is not the first time I have
set up a wireless network/connection, this one has been a pain. also tried a different router
with the same results. will add that the laptop would 'lose' the nearby wireless networks. it
seemed to be refreshing the list almost constantly and never made a connection.
it's not firewalled, excluded or otherwise disabled and as far as I know is working.

I am beginning to suspect the lappy's integrated Intel adapter. sadly, I don't have another to try.
I am tempted to buy a USB Wireless Adapter and give it a go.

Ron

ps: after a little research, I find that I am not alone. and I did update the drivers and firmware
without success.
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah

Last edited by dabaerman; 21st May, 2011 at 07:00 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 25th May, 2011, 09:44 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

A little assistance would be greatly appreciated!
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th May, 2011, 09:48 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Hmm, I'm not a wireless expert but here are some suggestions.
Is the laptop also a "G" connection?
Try connecting at a friends house too.
You could try updating the Wireless drivers or reinstall them.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2011, 03:35 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

If you can't seem to get it working with encryption turned on then leave the encryption off and filter via MAC address. No one but you will have access. Course this won't keep out the guys that know what they are doing, but I bet in your neighborhood YOU are the guy that knows what he is doing.
BlackBerry8330m/4.5.0.186 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/104
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 27th May, 2011, 07:31 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Good call. I thought about doing that on my router at home.
Only allow the MAC addresses for my local computer and IP address for my local computers.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 30th May, 2011, 05:15 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

I have to do that for copiers we set up with a wireless bridge, for some reason the brides do not like it when you turn on encryption so I had to do something. Couldn't knowninly leave an open wifi access at a customers site.
It works.
BlackBerry8330m/4.5.0.186 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/104
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 4th June, 2011, 05:52 AM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

wouldn't connect at any level of security. it seemed to find the network, try to connect, fail, then
not see any network. then go thru the process of finding networks in the area and not connect
turned out to be the Intel Pro Wireless. will have to do a driver clean and use the Intel drivers.
many have had issues with the oem drivers. will get it fixed soon enough!
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 4th June, 2011, 02:23 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

What I am thinking:

1. if unable to connect to that with any other devices ->router faulty
2. if only unable to connect with 1 device ->wifi on that device faulty/software problem
3. sometimes two routers with same class ip arguing with eachother on wifi!
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 22nd June, 2011, 03:42 AM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbard View Post
What I am thinking:

1. if unable to connect to that with any other devices ->router faulty
2. if only unable to connect with 1 device ->wifi on that device faulty/software problem
3. sometimes two routers with same class ip arguing with eachother on wifi!

1. it will connect at a wi-fi hot spot but not at the house. so the lappys' wi-fi works.
2. no other devices to try.
3. tried 2 routers 1 @ a time. going to try removing all network devices and drivers. pita!
4. re-program the router to use mac addy and give it a go.
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
networking



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless network Toro General Hardware Discussion 8 23rd January, 2005 10:36 PM
My wireless network...DONE! Logan Mobile Devices and Networking 3 9th January, 2005 11:53 PM
Linux + Wireless Network SiGmA_X OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 31 28th July, 2003 08:55 AM
trouble with home network RandyB Mobile Devices and Networking 5 14th April, 2003 02:35 AM
Need wireless network help TranceBear Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 2 28th September, 2001 01:37 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:25 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0