AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Mobile Devices and Networking


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2001, 07:31 PM
Walter:-)'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark :)
Posts: 190

Question Question about Zonealarm

I have just installed Zonalarm. I have never dealt with firewalls before, so I have no clue about how they are suppose to act. I'm getting a little pop up thing in the lower right corner of my screen, telling me that: "The firewall has blocked internet access to your computer....." Why am I getting this pop up all the time? Is it bad? Should I do something about it? Is there other basic things I should know about Zonealarm or firewalls?
Thank a lot, it really appreciated!
__________________
Epox 8K7A
1200MHz AXIA "9" T-Bird@1490MHz 1.95V
256Mb DDR RAM
Asus GeForce2 MX 191/221MHz (Mem/Core)
45 Gig IBM HD

Avatar by reddeathdrinker
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2001, 07:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Kansas City, MO.
Posts: 9
Send a message via ICQ to shep

You will get a popup everytime a program tries to access the internet you can tell ZA to let it or not. you can also disable the popup feature, I think it is under configuration. You will get alerts when somebody or some program is trying to access you pc.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2001, 07:57 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

If it's a program, like Internet Explorer, that will be using the internet all he time, you may also want to check the box "remember this each time..." when you get your next popup. Be careful what you give access to, this is Zonealarms defense for you. If you say yes to a worm/virus, you just scr*wed yourself; I say no sometimes and then go into zone alarm and check the program out (see if it's listed, etc) and enable it there if need be.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 8th October, 2001, 08:58 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

You can set ZA so that it does the blocking, but won't announce it every time. Just go to "Alerts," then un-check the "Show the alert popup window" box.

Not all alerts indicate that skullduggery is happening. Your own box may be trying to access the Web for legit reasons, and Web sites may be trying to access your box for innocent reasons.

The only secure box is not connected to any network and locked in a safe that only you have the combination of!

Even then, some nosey shack*ss may have bugged your box via a radio transmitter planted out of site.
When "they" can monitor our brains---then it'll be 1984 Forevermore, instead of only 1984, Plus! the deluxe edition.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 9th October, 2001, 03:17 AM
burn'em's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Santa Ana CA
Posts: 37

Re: Question about Zonealarm

Quote:
Originally posted by Walter:-)
I have just installed Zonalarm. I have never dealt with firewalls before, so I have no clue about how they are suppose to act. I'm getting a little pop up thing in the lower right corner of my screen, telling me that: "The firewall has blocked internet access to your computer....." Why am I getting this pop up all the time? Is it bad? Should I do something about it? Is there other basic things I should know about Zonealarm or firewalls?
Thank a lot, it really appreciated!
If it blocked internet access to your machine it's something from the outside. If it stop a program from accessing the Internet it from your computer. If you have a lan and win2k on one of your machines it (win2k) pings the net work all the time and that would show up as "firewall has blocked access from...... " ZA should show an address from witch the intrusion came. It could also be your ISP pinging you.
Just to check up on you and insert evil software that will hypnotize you and make you buy a Yugo!
__________________
Fold on My Brothers!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 9th October, 2001, 06:13 PM
Walter:-)'s Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Denmark :)
Posts: 190

Now I have been running with Zonealarm for about 24 hours and I'm almost not getting the pop up's anymore.
Yhanks for your reply's!
__________________
Epox 8K7A
1200MHz AXIA "9" T-Bird@1490MHz 1.95V
256Mb DDR RAM
Asus GeForce2 MX 191/221MHz (Mem/Core)
45 Gig IBM HD

Avatar by reddeathdrinker
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ZoneAlarm 2006 Firewall/Antivirus chrisbard OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 1 29th June, 2006 12:29 PM
ZoneAlarm help please ~* InSoM *~ Data Security 8 18th August, 2005 12:50 PM
ZoneAlarm Program Control Ads1 OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 2 17th April, 2005 05:36 PM
ZoneAlarm 5 suite....is blocking "mirc" michealwolfe OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 3 1st June, 2004 07:46 AM
Zonealarm working... Pinky OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 5 24th September, 2001 03:54 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0