AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Mobile Devices and Networking


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2012, 10:08 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

Gone wireless problems ensue

I purchased a wireless card for my desktop because where I'm moving the D-mark is on the other side of the apartment from where I will be placing my desk.

I picked up a TP-Link TL-WN951N Wireless N Adapter with a Rosewill RNX-A2-EX 2.4 GHz Indoor Omni-Directional (2 dBi x3) Antenna from Newegg.

The day after installation, my wife sent me a text while I was at work saying the the WiFi wasn't working. She could no longer connect to the WiFi with her phone. I had her check the Desktop that had the new wifi card in it and she said the internet wasn't working on that machine either. After she put the Ethernet cable back in the desktop, it had an internet connection again.

When I got home from work I checked out the router settings and everything showed that the radio was in-fact broadcasting a signal. I figured it was something causing interference so I changed the channel the router was broadcasting on and both our phones and the desktop wireless all fired up with a solid connection.

The this morning morning I woke up and no wifi signal again...I tried a different channel, this time no signal after the change. I then disabled the wireless card in my machine and next thing I know the wifi is back up on my phone no problems. I asked my wife this afternoon if it was still up and she said yes.

So my question is, why would a brand new wireless card knock out my wireless signal from my router? is there just some setting I need to turn off on the card itself or is my card just a piece of crap?

A quick response would be helpful as this weekend I will be moved and no longer have easy access to a wired connection to the desktop.

Oh yeah, I forgot to mention that I have a D-Ling DIR-615 2.4GHz N router running DD-WRT
__________________

Last edited by WonderBread; 14th June, 2012 at 10:11 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2012, 10:57 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Have you checked how the IP addresses are set-up on the router, and devices?

It could be that 2 devices are attempting to use the same IP address.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 14th June, 2012, 11:26 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

But would that make two android phones and my desktop unable to even see the wireless connection?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2012, 02:23 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

I think it might be my router...

I re-enabled the WiFi card on my desktop after I got home from work and all connections were good and stayed strong. Then just before I went to bed all WiFi connections were down again.

I disabled the WiFi card this morning and the wireless connection never reappeared. I had to restart my router to get a wireless connection again.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2012, 03:38 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

I've encountered some oddness with WiFi on various vendor's kit recently, although slightly different to the issue you've encountered. Basically, devices can see the WiFi network, but can't communicate with it. Not amazingly helpful I'm afraid.
__________________

Last edited by Aedan; 15th June, 2012 at 03:38 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 15th June, 2012, 07:07 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Good luck hunting down the weak link..
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 15th June, 2012 at 07:11 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 17th June, 2012, 01:33 PM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

I too have had similar issues with wifi, as well as the seeing and unable to connect. This has been with netgear, linksys, d-link, dynalink, thompson, and another brand I can't remember.

Basically the only reliable fix I have been able to come up with is buying a decent wifi modem. I currently have a billion bipac 7800n which is a small business modem/router
Connected simultaneously is my desktop with a similar TP link card, a laptop - Intel card, a netbook - ralink card, my TV, 2 android phones and an iPhone, all except the TV via wireless. it has been ~2 months and not a single issue.

Basically I think most home level wifi routers are only good for about 2 devices, and need to be shutdown every night, even then after about 3 or so hours the netgear would give up and after about 12 months or so with less devices I managed to kill the Linksys.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2012, 02:35 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

They don't call it "Hard Ware" for nothing ":O}

How have been noob?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2012, 08:50 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

So are you connecting to the Wi-Fi on the desktop with your phones or does your router have Wi-Fi and your connecting to it with the desktop?

You may want to try static IP addresses. maybe the router is having a problem giving the Wi-Fi a dynamic IP address because of some kind of IP conflict.
You should have to do that, but it may eliminate the conflict.
You could also try "bridging" connection... I have never messed with that before, but you never know
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2012, 04:53 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

Wireless N Router.

I've checked for conflicting IP's and there are none.

for right now the easiest thing for me to do when the signal goes out is just pull the plug from the router wait a few seconds and plug it back in. all is well after that till it goes out again.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2012, 01:40 PM
noob's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: June 2005
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 1,639

Pretty busy, thanks Dan, involved with a large project which is getting pretty hectic. Hows things on your end?

I've personally found that with 1-2 devices the standard consumer devices work without any problems, 3 devices and some are fine. 4 seems to be the magic number that causes issues with all the consumer grade wireless devices either friends/family or I have used.

Either nothing will connect even though they can 'see' perfect signal strength, or no signal from the wireless.

I have found if you hammer the wireless with 2 devices you can often cause this after ~ 5-10min.

Is the router warm/hot when the connection drops? If so, then you are most likely going to have to upgrade Depending on your preferences for brand, maybe look at:
D-Link DIR-655 or DIR-825
TP-Link TL-WDR4300
Asus RT-N16


The one I am currently using is:
Billion Wireless ADSL2+ VPN Firewall Router Series
US Site - same device:
BEC Technologies, Inc. 7800TN
__________________
AOA Team fah

Corsair AX650
Asus P8H77-M PRO
i7 3770 (non K series)
- Noctua NH-L12 Low Profile CPU Cooler
2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Sapphire 7970
2 x SanDisk Extreme 120GB RAID 0
Western Digital Green 3TB
Asus Xonar Essence STX
TP Link TL-WN881ND
Fractal Design Arc Mini
- 2x Noctua NF-P12 120mm, 2x Noctua NF-P14 FLX 140mm, NZXT Sentry 2 LCD Fan Controller
Asus ML249H
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2012, 04:37 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Heat could be an issue... we are in the Arizona valley. Yesterday it was 113 degrees!

My Cable Modem and Router are in my new office where it gets pretty hot. So I put a little fan next to them and it seems to keep them cool enough.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2012, 07:22 PM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

I just so happen to have a little fan that would work. I'll give that a try this week.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 25th June, 2012, 11:28 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

did that help or did it give-up-the-ghost?
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2012, 03:08 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

its still struggling. I have to pull the plug every few hours or so...

Most likely going to get this router...Newegg.com - NETGEAR WNDR3700-100NAS Wireless Gigabit Router/ USB port Rangemax 2.4/5GHz Simultaneous N600 Dual Band IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab

I've been researching since I created this thread and everything points to the n600 except for this, Newegg.com - Linksys EA4500 App Enabled N900 Dual-Band Wireless Router with Gigabit and USB , one which is truly in another galaxy when it comes to my budget.
__________________

Last edited by WonderBread; 26th June, 2012 at 03:08 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 26th June, 2012, 04:57 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

the Netgear is pretty nice. Good to have some Gigabit LAN ports too. Might as well add your server to one of those and hide it in the corner somewhere.
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 27th June, 2012, 06:57 AM
WonderBread's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: December 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via MSN to WonderBread Send a message via Yahoo to WonderBread

Had to settle for the WNR3500L. Its going to give me what I need and a much more pleasing price point.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 27th June, 2012, 04:16 PM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Agreed! Its really not THAT bad...
I have been avoiding wireless at home for a long time. I don't have smart phones and only have 1 laptop and 1 netbook. The battery in the laptop doesn't work so its not portable and the netbook goes to work and Church from time to time.
For now, I'm not messing with it.
Good Luck
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2012, 12:18 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

I use to have a whole list of things I wasn't going to mess with, still do! But somehow it keeps catching up with me, How seductive is the new! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic


Last edited by Daniel ~; 28th June, 2012 at 12:18 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 28th June, 2012, 12:24 AM
booman's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: December 2005
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 4,030

Tell me about it...
I have been avoiding MAC's for a long time and I know some day I'll end up with one. I refuse to pay $3000 on one, but maybe I'll get a hand-me-down.
I have been messing with G5's at my new job and I'm starting to like them. Honestly, Linux isn't so different...
__________________
Booman
Mint 17.3 64-bit
Wine 2.0
PlayOnLinux 4.2.10
Linux Guides: PC Games Linux Beginners Tips Linux Games List
Mack Truck Dungeon Of Fire Spray Booth Tutorial
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
converting an wireless adsl to wireless cable fearless joe Mobile Devices and Networking 4 30th April, 2008 09:17 AM
Got wireless signal problems? danrok Mobile Devices and Networking 2 24th August, 2006 01:16 AM
problems with wireless network Smoney22 CRASHED! 6 13th May, 2006 10:45 PM
Yelp! Wireless Problems aghastpumpkin Mobile Devices and Networking 8 7th January, 2006 08:54 PM
EP-8RGA+ Problems, problems problems and misery offie EPoX MotherBoards 12 17th September, 2003 08:13 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:12 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0