AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Mobile Devices and Networking


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th June, 2002, 11:37 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

3COM OfficeConnect ADSL router vulnerability

There's a problem with the 3COM OfficeConnect ADSL router, affecting the network address translation (Technically it's port address translation)

The port address translation (PAT) on the OfficeConnect allows virtual servers to be set up. This allows servers to be hosted behind a single IP address. Unfortunately, an issue within the PAT means that a connection to a different port sent straight afterwards will be directed towards the server machine, DESPITE the fact that there is no assosiation for it. This could allow an external attacker to connect to any port on the server machine.

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th June, 2002, 05:23 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,951

I'm over my head with this Q, all I can suggest is trying a different modem/router. If 3com has good customer support, that may help. Especially if you don't have to call them in the US!
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 7th June, 2002, 11:24 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

It's not a question! It's a heads up for anyone who has an OfficeConnect ADSL router, cuz they might be vulnerable.

Other ADSL routers/firewalls seem to have similar issues, but I won't release details until we've notified the manufacturers!

AidanII
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wireless router/cabled router issues andrew726 Mobile Devices and Networking 6 23rd June, 2005 09:56 PM
3com and nvidia onboard lan bmexline EPoX MotherBoards 4 13th December, 2002 04:40 AM
Issue with 3com 56k Modem Con Mobile Devices and Networking 5 2nd December, 2002 02:42 PM
US Robotics or 3COM?? JayJay Mobile Devices and Networking 2 2nd November, 2002 01:35 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:15 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0