AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Mobile Devices and Networking


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2001, 04:28 AM
eobard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

How do I get my internet speed back

How do I do it? (get my speed back) Several months ago someone at Oc.com posted asking people to go to a specific site and run the speed tests there to determine our upload and download speeds. At the time My down was 1567 and my up was 317. Lately my machine has been as sluggish as... well as something that is very sluggish indeed. I went back and tested my machine and got 190 down and 102 up!!! I though the time might have made a difference, different amounts of people online at different times of day. To test that I went to the site with my backup machine and tested. My results were 1587 down and 194 up. My main machine is super slow. How do I get my speed back. I don't doubt that I've got all kinds of gunk and kudd bogging down my system but I don't want to do a complete system reinstall. What's the best way to get my internet setup clean, lean and mean again without a full reinstall? My os is 98FE and I'm using internet explorer v5.5.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2001, 05:49 PM
Neptune5k's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Posts: 9

Have you tried the registry tweaks at www.speedguide.net

Its worth a shot.

For what it's worth, my comcast@home has gone to total crap over the last few months. Its literally 3 times slower than it was when i first signed on. They just keep signing people up, but they don't upgrade/expand their networks. Oh well, I'm going to give DSL a try this week... hopefully it works better.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2001, 06:53 PM
eobard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally posted by Neptune5k
Have you tried the registry tweaks at www.speedguide.net

Its worth a shot.
I tried it. I shot. It shot back. My system got no faster but now I have the joy of having graphics refuse to display even though I deinstalled the "improvements" and reset things back to the way they were. Check my example below. The system is being nice to me right now, since my "improvements" it usually been much worse.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16th October, 2001, 11:51 PM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

try this: www.cyberwizardpit.com dl their freeware tweak. it works better than speedguides tweaks. just undo those first before you install this tweak.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2001, 12:51 AM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Have you tried the magical format command? It solves all my problems
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2001, 01:28 AM
eobard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally posted by Superman53142
Have you tried the magical format command? It solves all my problems
Many times in the past. And very soon I'm going to try it again. Then I'm going to think.....


If I continue with that train of thought I will get banned from here and deservedly so so let me just conclude with my most recent screen shot of what I now deal with:
Attached Images
 
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2001, 03:26 AM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Did you try the "Detect Network Settings" link? Yeah, right. Try rebuilding your winsock file. I've never done this but it will probably solve your problems.
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2001, 05:33 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

uh, delete and reintall the tcip?
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 17th October, 2001, 05:46 AM
eobard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally posted by mrpcman
uh, delete and reintall the tcip?
Going to re-do everything, it'll give me a chance to straighten out a few other things that weren't right but weren't annoying enough to cause a reinstall alone, stupid ATI can't make drivers worth wiping your aahhh hhh hh hi Daniel~, we were just talking about the weather here! Honestly we were.
__________________

Last edited by eobard; 17th October, 2001 at 05:53 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 18th October, 2001, 12:10 AM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

The new 7189 drivers are awesome! Simply amazing. Great stuff. Better than the 7075's even!
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2001, 06:27 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Quote:
Originally posted by Superman53142
The new 7189 drivers are awesome! Simply amazing. Great stuff. Better than the 7075's even!
really? they killed my system for some reason. I had to go back to the old drivers.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2001, 02:37 PM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Quote:
Originally posted by mrpcman


really? they killed my system for some reason. I had to go back to the old drivers.
Yeah, they are sweet. Did you download them from ATI?
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2001, 07:13 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

I've downloaded drivers from rage3d and ati.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2001, 01:53 AM
JAWS's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 124

Re: How do I get my internet speed back

Quote:
Originally posted by eobard
How do I do it? (get my speed back) Several months ago someone at Oc.com posted asking people to go to a specific site and run the speed tests there to determine our upload and download speeds. At the time My down was 1567 and my up was 317. Lately my machine has been as sluggish as... well as something that is very sluggish indeed. I went back and tested my machine and got 190 down and 102 up!!! I though the time might have made a difference, different amounts of people online at different times of day. To test that I went to the site with my backup machine and tested. My results were 1587 down and 194 up. My main machine is super slow. How do I get my speed back. I don't doubt that I've got all kinds of gunk and kudd bogging down my system but I don't want to do a complete system reinstall. What's the best way to get my internet setup clean, lean and mean again without a full reinstall? My os is 98FE and I'm using internet explorer v5.5.
Eobard, do you have that link handy? I'm new to cable and I have no idea how fast I'm up/down! Thanks!
__________________
"Only a surfer knows the feeling"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2001, 04:59 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

http://www.toast.net/performance/index.asp

AND

http://www.dslreports.com/tools

These are the two I use.
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2001, 05:13 AM
JAWS's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 124

Very Cool! Thanks, Daniel.
__________________
"Only a surfer knows the feeling"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2001, 06:35 AM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Anytime at all":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2001, 07:22 AM
eobard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Well I've been scooped. http://www.dslreports.com/tools was the one I used. Daniel ~ beat me to it. Oh wait, he's in charge. Sorry JAWS.

Btw: Just for those keeping score, I did do my reinstall. I'm now getting 511 by 182. Not good, but tolerable.
__________________

Last edited by eobard; 18th November, 2001 at 07:28 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2001, 03:02 PM
surlyjoe's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: caliland
Posts: 2,723

thats wacky dood, your gettin twice the bandwidth on a different machine?, have you checked the cablesfor kinks? , maybe tried a different NIC?, somethin is amiss here. how many PC's you got on the lan?
__________________
"Many people die at twenty five and aren't buried until they are seventy five"
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 18th November, 2001, 07:53 PM
eobard
Guest
 
Posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally posted by surlyjoe
thats wacky dood, your gettin twice the bandwidth on a different machine?, have you checked the cablesfor kinks? , maybe tried a different NIC?, somethin is amiss here. how many PC's you got on the lan?
If you're refering to my 511 by 182 comment I meant 511 down by 182 up. I just ran it on both. My Duron got 517 by 194 while my K6-2 got 1630 by 406. The network cards are identical. The cables are good, but different brands, I never thought about switching them. Going to try that. I've only got these two machines and the firewall they both go through.

***edit: just tried a different cable, and hub port, I got 545 by 182, no significant change. Nice suggestion though.
__________________

Last edited by eobard; 18th November, 2001 at 08:00 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Guess who's back...back again...Betty's back...tell a friend Betty Random Nonsense! 39 30th July, 2005 07:50 PM
GPU Memory speed vs GPU core speed Hoppster Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 10th July, 2004 05:00 AM
Internet "Optimizer" is an Internet Messer your Computer Upper Scardabums CRASHED! 4 12th November, 2003 05:16 PM
High Speed Internet access now availibe in the middle of the sugar cane fields! Staz Random Nonsense! 11 2nd June, 2003 02:16 AM
New core speed relative to old core speed mookydooky ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 17 18th May, 2002 04:14 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:37 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0