AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Mobile Devices and Networking


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2001, 07:36 PM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

network

ok her is what I bought
http://www.linksys.com/products/prod...prid=20&grid=5

the guy at the computer store told me that I could use this to network my pc's even though im on dial up by assigning a static ip to my main pc ...did the guy know what he was talking about or do I have to get cable in order to use this thing
__________________
AOA Team fah

fer 47 years ive been seeking a balance in life
and I’ve been from one end to the other
i may be getting close
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2001, 08:30 PM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

I'm not completely sure, but I think the guy ripped you off. All you really need is a switch, which is about $20-$25. You then use ICS (Internet Connection Sharing) to share the dial-up connection between all your computers. The drawback is that your "host" computer must be on the internet for the "client" computers to use the net. To network as in share files and stuff, that can easily be done by a switch. The router is essentially a switch that allows more than one machine to access the internet at once. There are software solutions that do the same thing, but they use some CPU cycles and that's why many people don't like them. For dial-up connection sharing ICS is pretty much the only way to go.

BTW, a switch is the same as a hub but it supports full duplex and therefore double the theoretical data transfer speed.

P.S. If you use Linux there are ICS copies for Linux.
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2001, 08:53 PM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

i dont think the ripped me off... as i told him that i would be switching over to cable soon ... but for now all i was interested in was getting three pc's to share an internet conection witch if im reading you right... this thing has what you speak of...it says on the box 4 port switch

what is ics will that alow internet sharing ? does it require hard ware ?

i also bought 4 ethernet 10/100 mbps network adapters
__________________
AOA Team fah

fer 47 years ive been seeking a balance in life
and I’ve been from one end to the other
i may be getting close
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2001, 09:01 PM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

for what he's talking about, that's probably using ics, and therefor only needed a regular switch or hub. But if your getting cable soon, then what you bought is fine.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2001, 09:33 PM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Quote:
Originally posted by kat
i dont think the ripped me off... as i told him that i would be switching over to cable soon ... but for now all i was interested in was getting three pc's to share an internet conection witch if im reading you right... this thing has what you speak of...it says on the box 4 port switch

what is ics will that alow internet sharing ? does it require hard ware ?

i also bought 4 ethernet 10/100 mbps network adapters
If you're getting cable soon then it's good that you bought this. Yes, it is also a 4-port switch. I thought that the guy told you you needed this to do dial-up sharing. Then he would have been lying. But since you're getting cable soon then you're more upgradable. ICS is Internet Connection Sharing and it's availiable in Windows 98SE and higher. It's a software solution to this problem. No extra hardware other than the switch is required. That will work. Look up Internet Connection Sharing on Yahoo and you'll find 30 million sites that will help you set it up. Hope this helps.
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2001, 09:43 PM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

Quote:
Originally posted by Superman53142


If you're getting cable soon then it's good that you bought this. Yes, it is also a 4-port switch. I thought that the guy told you you needed this to do dial-up sharing. Then he would have been lying. But since you're getting cable soon then you're more upgradable. ICS is Internet Connection Sharing and it's availiable in Windows 98SE and higher. It's a software solution to this problem. No extra hardware other than the switch is required. That will work. Look up Internet Connection Sharing on Yahoo and you'll find 30 million sites that will help you set it up. Hope this helps.

thanks Superman53142

ill do that right now i was a little bumed. as this was my week end project ,and after reading the manual it came to a screaching halt
__________________
AOA Team fah

fer 47 years ive been seeking a balance in life
and I’ve been from one end to the other
i may be getting close
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 20th October, 2001, 09:52 PM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Quote:
Originally posted by kat



thanks Superman53142

ill do that right now i was a little bumed. as this was my week end project ,and after reading the manual it came to a screaching halt
np, this is one of the things I researched in the last couple of months.
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2001, 02:01 AM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

update

so far I've been able to get my pc to recognize the nic card and the router.... and windows doesn't have a problem either..just copied a network start up disk

so if im thinking straight im ready to link pc 2

the only thing that is slowing me down ..I don't want to shut down F@H until it finishes a WU
__________________
AOA Team fah

fer 47 years ive been seeking a balance in life
and I’ve been from one end to the other
i may be getting close

Last edited by kat; 21st October, 2001 at 02:07 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2001, 07:14 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

it can't pause half way thru?
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2001, 02:12 PM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

the last time i shut it down it started all over again
__________________
AOA Team fah

fer 47 years ive been seeking a balance in life
and I’ve been from one end to the other
i may be getting close
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 21st October, 2001, 02:34 PM
Superman's Avatar
Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: WI
Posts: 4,406
Send a message via ICQ to Superman

Quote:
Originally posted by kat
the last time i shut it down it started all over again
Same with me. It screws up if you stop it halfway through and dl's a new WU.
__________________
"And, most of all, remember this descendant of David who beat the hell out of death."
-from the book "Six Hours One Friday" by Max Lucado

"You have to go outside the sequence of engines, into the world of men, to find the real originator of the rocket. Is it not equally reasonable to look outside nature for the real Originator of the natural order?
-C.S. Lewis


Director of JavaScript section of the Allied Sites Support Team, web designer and programmer for DaOCPlace, and co-web designer and programmer for AOA Files

Avatar by Epox Tech



<>< I Believe-Do You?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 23rd October, 2001, 03:47 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

ah, I wouldn't know. I still do rc5, and it can be paused anywhere.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 23rd October, 2001, 03:53 AM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

sure would be nice if you were folding
__________________
AOA Team fah

fer 47 years ive been seeking a balance in life
and I’ve been from one end to the other
i may be getting close
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 23rd October, 2001, 04:15 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

yeah, well I'll stick to rc5 for the remainder of the contest..
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 23rd October, 2001, 04:22 AM
kat's Avatar
kat kat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: belding MI
Posts: 2,166

Quote:
Originally posted by mrpcman
yeah, well I'll stick to rc5 for the remainder of the contest..
that could be years

i ran rc5 for a number of months when i was visiting anadtech forums regulary
__________________
AOA Team fah

fer 47 years ive been seeking a balance in life
and I’ve been from one end to the other
i may be getting close
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 23rd October, 2001, 05:35 AM
Kris's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: San Clemente, CA
Posts: 554

Quote:
Originally posted by kat
the last time i shut it down it started all over again
Same for me... I shut down about 4/5 ths of the way through a villin... strated all over & TC got ahead of me...

I downloaded again and have shut off successfully several times now...
__________________
Kris

Notice to signature reader: The entire physical universe, including
this signature, may one day collapse back into an infinitesimally
small space. Should another universe subsequently re-emerge,
the existence of this signature in that universe cannot be guaranteed.


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 23rd October, 2001, 06:17 AM
mrpcman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,689
Send a message via AIM to mrpcman

Quote:
Originally posted by kat


that could be years

i ran rc5 for a number of months when i was visiting anadtech forums regulary
well, I started running it at compu-geeks over a year ago, and plan on pulling it thru.
__________________
Alex Worthen
Director Of Web Design for the Allied Sites Support Team
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 26th October, 2001, 09:10 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Quote:
Originally posted by kat
update

so far I've been able to get my pc to recognize the nic card and the router.... and windows doesn't have a problem either..just copied a network start up disk

so if im thinking straight im ready to link pc 2

the only thing that is slowing me down ..I don't want to shut down F@H until it finishes a WU
Sorry to jump in late, but the only reason to reboot would be after changing configuration in your nic, ie. TCPIP binding.

I have the same router. Instructions basically say to reboot the router and all pcs for changes to the router config. But I've almost never had to reboot PCs, just unplug the router, wait a few seconds and plug it back in. The router resets itself, and the internet connection for me.

My cable modem is moody sometimes, so I do this often to reset my internet connection.

It's an old workhorse, but I love my router/switch.

SteveI.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Network Help QSDT Mobile Devices and Networking 0 31st August, 2006 10:57 PM
Network Hub Mod captaincurran Mobile Devices and Networking 140 7th January, 2006 01:22 AM
Network Names SiGmA_X Mobile Devices and Networking 35 24th August, 2003 06:28 PM
XP can't see network mykeowl Mobile Devices and Networking 3 3rd February, 2003 12:53 AM
yea network is up kat ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 8 24th October, 2001 01:36 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:27 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0