AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Hardware > Mobile Devices and Networking


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 23rd October, 2001, 07:39 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Serious networking issues

I suspect this could be a software issue, but I thought I'd put it out there anyway...

Since yesterday, when the webserver went down, I have been having problems with routing to my ISP/cable modem service. Hell, it wouldn't even talk with my router (which I have since removed to sell).

The only way I get out to the internet is to uninstall my adapter and reinstall it. Once I reboot it's back to not finding a gateway or being able to renew the IP.

I'm gonna try reinstalling from a backup. The only new components were a new Plextor drive and an extra 256MB of memory.

**I just rebooted, doing nothing different, and came back here to post I'm still connected (unlike the past 60 minutes I've been working on this).**
__________________

Last edited by Pinky; 23rd October, 2001 at 07:45 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th October, 2001, 08:20 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

I've had to reboot twice since and the networking issue seems to have solved itself with no real effort on my part.

**UPDATE: However, I seem to be having the same problem. I tried uninstalling a couple things, networking monitoring tools included with windows and simple TCP/IP to see if there's something in there... but I'm starting to suspect my ISP isn't recognising my MAC address, as there's activity but it won't load sites...**
__________________

Last edited by Pinky; 25th October, 2001 at 12:01 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2001, 08:59 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Have you tried disconnecting the uplink(from your hub, switch or LAN router)to the cable modem for 30 seconds or so. Or cycling the modem's power off, then on after ~thirty seconds? If you do so, then reboot your boxes one at a time, it might help. If you've already tried this, I apologize for the suggestion!

It appears that a call to the cable company may be in order.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 31st October, 2001, 06:38 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Quote:
Originally posted by cloasters
Have you tried disconnecting the uplink(from your hub, switch or LAN router)to the cable modem for 30 seconds or so. Or cycling the modem's power off, then on after ~thirty seconds? If you do so, then reboot your boxes one at a time, it might help. If you've already tried this, I apologize for the suggestion!

It appears that a call to the cable company may be in order.
I've tried some variations of that, but you're on the right track since it seems to be something happening between the PC and cable modem. I've been using a switched or routed setup for so many months I can't remember the last time I plugged straight into the cable modem .
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2001, 04:43 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: September 2001
Posts: 5,957

Just for the record, I was using an older, out-of-date version of zonealarm which was causing problems even after a fresh install .
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Networking The Spyder Mobile Devices and Networking 6 18th November, 2006 06:32 PM
USB Networking captaincurran Mobile Devices and Networking 5 10th March, 2006 08:17 PM
no networking gazzacbr 64 Bit computing 6 17th December, 2004 10:26 AM
Any Networking Gurus out there willing to create a networking FAQ? mookydooky Mobile Devices and Networking 0 3rd December, 2002 04:10 PM
Help!! New to Networking..... Betty Mobile Devices and Networking 16 21st May, 2002 03:43 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:07 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0