AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team > nVidia/ATI GPU2 clients

nVidia/ATI GPU2 clients Folding clients that use GPUs on graphics cards running the GPU2 client


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #221 (permalink)  
Old 23rd November, 2008, 09:12 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

I've done a clean install and what ever conflict the 9800GT was haveing appeares to have been rectified. 180.48 XP drivers and the Systry client 6.20r1 is running 1 core. The viewer sux. Besides being buggy, it doesn't tell you a lot. Is there a specific monitoring software for this client?
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #222 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2008, 02:00 PM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

FAHMon works like it does for the rest.

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #223 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2008, 02:33 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

I got Fahspy to work as well.
Miquel-mabe it's time for spell chk!
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #224 (permalink)  
Old 24th November, 2008, 02:58 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

Did a look at stats thru Fahspy and got this surprise:


PorPoMe Last updated: Mon Nov 24 04:00:03 PST 2008
Mon Nov 24 12:00:03 UTC 2008

Date of last work unit None
Total score 0
Overall rank (if points are combined) 1136197 of 1136197
Active processors (within 50 days) 0
Active processors (within 7 days) 0



Contributions by team and project:

That is all that is all that is on my page. The rest of the stat pages comeup fine. My stats come up fine if I go to them from any other link=not worried. Just got surprised an curious.
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #225 (permalink)  
Old 26th November, 2008, 03:56 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

Well, here we go again with complex, larger proteins released in new projects:
Folding Forum • View topic - New GPU projects 5749-5764

The 5749-5764 WUs are slower and run hotter, for a few more points-I have gotten a few today for 511 points.

However, on my rig they are running nearly half as fast: from 1:25 to 2:40. That's a big difference. I'm not noticing much of a temp difference(perhaps 2-3 C, within a normal error tolerance) but some are reporting 10C increases.

Keep us informed here in this thread if you make any observations or have problems. The thread on the community forum is starting to take off - expect another long one...
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #226 (permalink)  
Old 27th November, 2008, 12:21 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Othello, Wa
Posts: 3,207

Will do when I get back to my regular rig. I'm running HDD Regenerator on it, a boot loading HDD test and repair program that is VERY thorough. but it will take some where between 6 and 6 hrs to do my 160GB HDD.
So I guess I'l watch TV tonite................no, can't do that! I've up-graded this Compaq from win 98 to ME. I forgot what a dog ME is! I'll install XP PRo- beats the heck out of TV!
__________________
AOA Team fah


1ST * Asus M5A99FX Pro r 2.0 *AMD FX 8350 Black Edition *Cooler Master MasterLiquid 240 CPU Cooler * Crucial 16g DDR3 * MSI Geforce GTX 1050 * Antec 650w* Thermaltake V9 Case
2nd Asus M5A99fx Pro R2.0 Mainboard *AMD FX 4300 Black edition * l6g Crutial DDR3 * Evga Geforce Gt 730 * Coolermaster Dual fan HSF * 500w Thermaltake PSU * 320g western digital HDD


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #227 (permalink)  
Old 27th November, 2008, 02:33 AM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

now I'm getting 'client-core communications error'. actually every time I uninstall/reinstall the GPU FAH client and start it. just because I think I followed the directions every time, doesn't mean I got it right. here I go again!

Ron

edit; being the ATI card, there are 2.dll files that have NOT been made part of the latest core. they are 'amdcalrt.dll' and 'amdcalcl.dll' there are replacement files from amd.com. just drop them in there proper location.

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah

Last edited by dabaerman; 27th November, 2008 at 06:49 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #228 (permalink)  
Old 11th December, 2008, 02:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

I finally found a little time to set up the GPU2 client under linux. I haven't looked around to see what others are getting for time per step, but I am chumming along at 66 seconds per step which sounds reasonable for the clocks I am at.

I'll do a little experimenting running it along the side the smp client and see how it fairs later this week.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #229 (permalink)  
Old 11th December, 2008, 06:24 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

Cliff-that sounds about right for your card. The new series of WUs with bigger proteins (511 points)is much slower(about 30%)than the older ones, so you may still see some changes in the speed until the old WUs get finished up entirely. The really fast 480 pointers are all but gone. For now the faster ones are the 384 pointers. I'm identifying them by points because I don't have a project number breakdown in front of me right now, but lots of the bigger, slower ones are project 57xx.

Also, FWIW-the 180.xx drivers are showing me nearly no CPU usage at all. Before, I had my 2 9600s pinned to one core with affinities, and the SMP client on the fourth core. Now, with the new drivers, the GPU use of the core is so small that I can run the SMP on all 4 cores, and the GPU client shows only about a 2-3 second loss of production. I think it is a real improvement.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 11th December, 2008 at 06:29 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #230 (permalink)  
Old 12th December, 2008, 03:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Thanks for the tip on the drivers. Freed up enough cpu cycles to not have any effect at all on times.

I'll fold through the weekend to see how it does. I'll have to shut down for a couple of days next week to make the transition to my new i7 920 setup but should be back up and folding by the end of the week.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP

Last edited by ccperf721p; 12th December, 2008 at 03:42 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #231 (permalink)  
Old 25th February, 2009, 04:56 PM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

can we get a 'STICKY' on this?

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #232 (permalink)  
Old 3rd March, 2009, 05:07 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

New forced core update has gone out for fahcore_14.exe.

So far on my rigs it is a bit faster, but that may be because of the new projects that have been released [5900+], and not the core.

This core will exhibit some unusual behaviors. For one, the temperatures will be lower, reportedly, 10-15C. The other unusual behavior is that it will have variable CPU usage - which also will indicate heavily variable frame times. Don't be alarmed if you notice these symptoms. For more info check this thread:
http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.ph...core_14#p86208

Keep us informed here of any observations on the new core and/or projects.

PS to Daniel, GIz, Aedan, et al...I second the motion for a sticky, we shouldn't let this thread fall off the first page...
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 4th March, 2009 at 04:54 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #233 (permalink)  
Old 4th March, 2009, 02:10 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I am down to hardly any CPU usage on GPU already. Sweet.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #234 (permalink)  
Old 31st August, 2009, 09:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

What kind of PPD are people getting from 9 series cards? Contemplating the GPU client under wine but my card still has the stock cooler so I'd have to replace that I'm sure. Depends on the PPD the card adds I guess..
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #235 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2009, 03:18 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

My 2 9600GTs do about 3500 ppd each, sometimes a bit more or less depending on the WU. There are a few WUs out there that they will only do 2800ppd on.

Essential reading if you are going the WINE route:
Folding Forum • View forum - unOfficial Linux GPU (WINE wrapper) (3rd party support)
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #236 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2009, 05:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Thanks for the info and the link. I had the GPU client running under wine for a short time awhile back but with the stock cooled card I just wasn't able to keep it going.

I was trying to figure out PPD with my core i7 at stock clocks, but I restarted hal while I had folding running in a terminal so restarting hal kills the xserver and logs out. When I restarted fah I got a write to local file error I couldn't recover from.. I was looking at about 6500 PPD and overclocking brings the steps from 4:15 to 3:07 so once everything if final I should be in good shape for production..

Still making my move to 64 bit, I have the main things set up the way I like it, Internet and multi-media apps are in place. Now for the rest of the crap..
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #237 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2009, 05:40 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,241

Make sure you have the ia32-libs package installed if you go to 64-bit or you won't be able to start the client. In 64-bit debian distros it isn't present so it has to be user-installed. Not sure whether your 64-bit distro of the day has it, though, so check.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #238 (permalink)  
Old 1st September, 2009, 08:58 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Post

...or u can simply use Windows and forget about all this problems! Did i mentioned that using WHQL NV driver will double your ppd output?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #239 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2009, 02:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbard View Post
...or u can simply use Windows and forget about all this problems! Did i mentioned that using WHQL NV driver will double your ppd output?
That was actually kind of funny Pope Bard 3.5, but sometimes I enjoy my computer doing what I want it to do, so I use linux..
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP

Last edited by ccperf721p; 2nd September, 2009 at 02:25 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #240 (permalink)  
Old 2nd September, 2009, 03:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderRd View Post
Make sure you have the ia32-libs package installed if you go to 64-bit or you won't be able to start the client. In 64-bit debian distros it isn't present so it has to be user-installed. Not sure whether your 64-bit distro of the day has it, though, so check.
Everything is in place as far as that goes. I churned out a few WU's to make sure everything worked correctly.

I pretty much stick to Gentoo for my main rig, always some other distro on another partition though. Biggest problem is the 32 bit install was a 6 year work in progress with a ton of overlays and apps compiled from the authors source. As it stands now I barely have the basics and it it took four overlays, and compiling a few apps from the authors source to get that far.

I have personal quirks that I have not been able to resolve yet. One is theming of GUI driven apps. If I cannot theme a GUI to exactly match my system I won't use it, instead I will grab something CLI that does the job and write bash scripts to handle the chores I need.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP

Last edited by ccperf721p; 2nd September, 2009 at 03:04 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nvidia



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD/ATI and NVIDIA Graphics Cards in Video Decoding Tasks Print Gizmo Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 26th June, 2007 05:26 AM
ATI, Nvidia prepare inexpensive DirectX 10 graphics cards Gizmo Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 14th June, 2007 07:50 AM
Nvidia DX10 G86 cards from $69 danrok Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 5 26th January, 2007 10:18 AM
Clock speed profiles for Nvidia cards? MONKEYMAN Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 6 24th November, 2005 03:13 PM
nVidia cards SteveI Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 41 29th December, 2004 04:24 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:13 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0