AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team > nVidia/ATI GPU2 clients

nVidia/ATI GPU2 clients Folding clients that use GPUs on graphics cards running the GPU2 client


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 18th June, 2008, 08:54 PM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

GPU2 client for nVidia cards

the new gpu2 client is crazy!

AMD X2 3600+/1.9GHz
Zotac 8800gt Amp
p5002: 46min -> 3000ppd

tomorrow I'll put this card into my 24/7 rig with a X2 clocked at 2.8GHz
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2008, 10:15 PM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

ok, as I said I put this card into my folding rig and played a bit with the gpu2 nv client

the system:

5000+ X2 Black Edition
Abit AN-M2HD
2GB DDR2-800 Cl5
Zotac 8800GT AMP/driver: 177.35 with modded .inf

The GPU2 client loads a whole CPU core, but it seems to be independent from CPU speed. I clocked the CPU up to 3.2GHz and down to 1GHz, both shows nearly the same time per %

3.2GHz 17sec per %
1GHz 17.5sec per %

I decided to downclock and undervolt the processor. A SMP client at the same time cuts the ppd coming from the GPU2 client too much and needs more power

I've got p5001 and p5002 till now, each of them is only worth 98 points, but nearly 50 units a day leads to 4700 ppd and more
Lets see how this theory works in practice. You can follow my stats at eoc, the one GPU2 client is the only one that folds for me.

@ccperf721p: What time per % do you get? Is it a old 8800GTS with 320/640MB or a new 512MB?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2008, 10:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

It's an older gts 320, 45 seconds per %, it's worth about 2000ppd at stock clocks. I will try clocking it up this evening and see what it does.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2008, 10:30 PM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

Do you use 174.55 or 177.35 driver?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 19th June, 2008, 11:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

it's a fresh xp install on the 175 drivers
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2008, 12:41 AM
gedon's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: November 2004
Posts: 446

try 177.35, this should improve your output by ~50%
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2008, 12:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Thanks, I will load them up tonight. I did a little testing with the GPU2 and 5 series smp client running and it actually surprised me that the GPU ran the same and the smp only took a 30 sec per % hit. Might be able to throw a 6K per day average down until I have to unplug my rig to move.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2008, 01:03 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

Am I missing something here? GPU---folding -----Nvidia????
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2008, 01:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

I thought you knew Sam, Troad posted it up in the smp thread..

second article for download links, it's just sending out testing packets that are good for 98 points but it will do a bunch. Not sure about SLI compatibility or if you can run two clients..

Folding@home
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2008, 02:36 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

They don't recommend using the GPU client and the CPU SMP client concurrently, not sure of the exact rationale but it isn't stable that way.

Instead, they say it's better to use the GPU client and a standard console CPU client(not SMP).

@cc, gedon; should we create a thread only for the GPU client, like the one we have for SMP? I think it's gonna be important to some, and we can keep the info and experiences in one place. Whaddya think?

@Sam; you've got mail in yer PM box. Didja see it?
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 20th June, 2008 at 02:41 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2008, 05:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

I will give running the two together a shot for a day just to see what's what.

I think it would be a good idea to have a GPU thread opened up, probably going to see a lot of people move in to it.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2008, 11:20 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I got it to work first time. Had to hack the 177 drivers to install though. Had a good lock up first time with SMP running. Was ok after a restart. I guess we will see what happens. I will try it both in dual view and in SLI to see if it make a difference in performance or stability.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2008, 04:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

@gedon: Thanks for the 177 tip, almost doubled the production going to those drivers.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2008, 04:18 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samuknow View Post
Had a good lock up first time with SMP running.
Yup. From what I'm reading, you can't run the GPU and SMP clients together on a dual-core cpu. The GPU client will use pretty much all of one core, and the SMP has to have both to function.

However, there are workarounds being invented to help users run this combination on Quads. For now, the clients don't use all of the CPU as yet on their own, so it can be done. That being said, it won't last forever, so when they release another client that scales better you will have to adjust/abandon your scheme.

This is the thread you need to do your homework, y'all, so check it out:

Folding Forum; View topic - smp & gpu2 [with a quad core]
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 20th June, 2008 at 04:22 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2008, 04:31 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

GPU2 client for nVidia cards

OK, no one has done it yet so I will...
Here's a new thread to post all of your experiences with the new GPU2 beta client. I think that many folks with graphics cards supporting CUDA will be interested.

Quote:
Originally Posted by from Pande Group
We're happy to roll out the beta nVidia client, it's a nice beta, and so here we go...

First and before you do anything else, LOOK OVER THE FAQ: Folding@home - FAQ-NVIDIA
Lots of important things in there that you'll need to know if you do anything beyond run the installer and run it.

Drivers
You MUST use the 174.55 version of the drivers: Download CUDA Code - complete and free toolkit for creating derivative works
(or better, from that URL) for now. You do not need the other files, just the drivers.

Known bugs:
It's a beta, and yes we meant that, not like Google but like software engineers - expect glitches and updates. The main thing is that the viewer will not work, as we're in the middle of changing how the live coordinates get to the viewer. Other then that, visit our nVidia beta Forum to see what's happening.

Download: http://www.stanford.edu/group/pandeg...tray-612b6.msi
6.12 beta 6
Here's a starting place to visit for current information from other users on the community forum:

Folding Forum; View forum - Beta testing the GPU2 Win client (nVidia GPUs)

EDIT: Newer thread here: http://foldingforum.org/viewforum.php?f=49

Here's a list of the minimum nVidia hardware you need:
CUDA-Enabled GPU Products - NVIDIA

@Daniel~, Gizmo, Aedan:
Do you have the awesome power to move the last dozen posts or so [relative to the GPU client]from the other thread ["AOA is losing ground"] into here? There's some good info there already, maybe we can keep it together.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 9th September, 2008 at 03:01 AM. Reason: Added current GPU thread at FCF
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2008, 05:32 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Of course we can - although, would you mind listing which posts you want combined into a thread? What would you like the thread to be called?

How long before the CUDA client gets out of beta?
__________________

Last edited by Áedán; 20th June, 2008 at 05:33 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 20th June, 2008, 06:47 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

Thanks, Aedan. Everything from this post:

AOA is loosing ground

to the end of that thread(about 15 posts) can be moved to this thread that we are in right now, "GPU2 client for nVidia". That would be great. I think this will be a very active thread in the near future.

As for getting out of beta, Pande operates in one of two modes: 1) we're working on it; and 2) It will be ready when it's ready.

They rarely give a timeline for development stuff.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 21st June, 2008, 12:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Since moving to the 177 drivers it has really picked up a bunch. I have also been running the smp client along with it, so far no issues. Note Will not work on a dual core as the gpu client will use one core itself and causes strange results. It does however run on quad without much of performance penalty
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 21st June, 2008, 03:15 AM
Samuknow's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana
Posts: 8,941
Send a message via MSN to Samuknow

I have noticed the same. I am at this time running SMP and GPU. I can't do it in SLI. It is bad....

But I am not in SLI most of the time.

I feel bad for missing this. I have been buried at work and been doing several side jobs after. I get time to post and am lucky if I actually have a clue what I am posting about. i will spend a little time on this and help Bob and Cliff get this sorted and add it to the front page in the FAH section.

Thanks guys for staying on top of things.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel ~ View Post
It's OKAY WE accept you as you think you are here! ":O}

Last edited by Samuknow; 21st June, 2008 at 03:15 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 21st June, 2008, 04:18 AM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

certainly looks like a job for the TRI-core cpu's, eh!

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nvidia



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD/ATI and NVIDIA Graphics Cards in Video Decoding Tasks Print Gizmo Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 26th June, 2007 05:26 AM
ATI, Nvidia prepare inexpensive DirectX 10 graphics cards Gizmo Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 3 14th June, 2007 07:50 AM
Nvidia DX10 G86 cards from $69 danrok Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 5 26th January, 2007 10:18 AM
Clock speed profiles for Nvidia cards? MONKEYMAN Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 6 24th November, 2005 03:13 PM
nVidia cards SteveI Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 41 29th December, 2004 04:24 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0