AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team > nVidia/ATI GPU2 clients

nVidia/ATI GPU2 clients Folding clients that use GPUs on graphics cards running the GPU2 client


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th November, 2008, 04:56 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

XP nvidia performance quirk

I am interested in some feedback.
I have 2 machines that are similar, both on XP, running dual cores.

Machine 1, using 9600GSO
Machine 2, using 9800GT.

When I configured #1 with GPU folding, I noticed that the cpu core it uses fluctuates, and typically shows idling ~20%. This is different than my ATI system, and it is getting over 5k PPD. I am also running a single client in service mode.

When I set up #2 with the 9800GT, everything is similiar to #1, but PPD was less than 4K. I went to the single client, and affinity shows both cores checked. I set it to core 0 only. GPU usage of core 1 increased to 50% (max), with no idling, and my PPD shot up to almost 6K PPD.

Because #1 is running CPU-FAH as a service, XP will not let me touch affinity for it. I'll mess with it later to see if I get a boost, but am doubtful.

EDIT:
Links to free affinity setting apps would be appreciated. I am curious to see why my machines behave the way they do... I may mess with my ATI rig as well, even though it pegs core1 to max already.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Last edited by SteveI; 5th November, 2008 at 04:57 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 5th November, 2008, 05:24 PM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Behavior is definitely different.

ON #1, I manually ran the single client, (off service). The gpu took a full 50% of cpu core, and the single client took the other 50%.... no change in performance tho. This is with affinity set to core 0 or both on the single client.

On #2, I have to force the single to core 0, and the gpu needs the full 50%, in order to fold at full potential.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Last edited by SteveI; 5th November, 2008 at 05:24 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2008, 07:09 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveI View Post
Because #1 is running CPU-FAH as a service, XP will not let me touch affinity for it. I'll mess with it later to see if I get a boost, but am doubtful.
If you really want to run the simple client, why not start it from a registry key, or from your start folder - and use PriFinitty to automatically set the affinity for you. I linked you to this soft on your other thread.

Or use Vista. As I have said before it handles the affinities differently and is supposedly less troublesome in this regard [but that isn't enough for me to switch as yet].
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2008, 06:03 AM
SteveI's Avatar
AOA Staff
Tetris Champion
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 6,971

Sorry for not getting back sooner.
Prifinitty did the trick.

I'm not a fan of vista, but may try installing on one box, just to learn it.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 14th November, 2008, 03:56 PM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

I have a similar experience.
#1 Asus socket 939 w/2.0 single core, 9600GT- 4.2K ppd
#2 Asus socket 939 w/2.0 dual core,9800GT- 5.9K ppd
not sure why the big difference. still looking.

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD takes performance crown from NVIDIA with new 4870 X2 Daniel ~ Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 1 14th August, 2008 06:32 PM
Nvidia Reveals Tesla Solutions for High-Performance Computing. Samuknow General Hardware Discussion 5 25th June, 2007 07:37 PM
NVIDIA nTune 2.00.17.05 Performance Optimization and Monitoring for nForce mainboards aJ\/Tg EPoX MotherBoards 23 30th October, 2004 07:06 AM
BIOS quirk with 8K9A Switch EPoX MotherBoards 1 2nd December, 2002 05:23 AM
odd powerstrip quirk drow_elf Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 0 2nd May, 2002 05:21 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0