AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team > nVidia/ATI GPU2 clients

nVidia/ATI GPU2 clients Folding clients that use GPUs on graphics cards running the GPU2 client


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2009, 03:02 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

Huge difference in PPD

I'm running 3 rigs now with 3 different video cards and the last one being a budjet build. The drop in production for the lower end card is staggering!

Geforce GS250........6000+ PPD
Geforce 9800GT.......4000+ PPD
Geforce 8400GT.......500+ PPD

EDIT:
All three rigs are running on XP PRO SP3 x86. SMP client PPD's are:
Phenom x4 9650........2000+ PPD
E8400 .....................1800+ PPD
Athlon 64 x2 6000......1100+ PPD
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w



Last edited by PorPorMe; 24th September, 2009 at 03:14 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2009, 04:08 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

The 8400 isn't really worth folding on. The ppd/W will cost you $$ as well. 8800 is considered the one to have in the 8000 range, even the 8600s pretty much suxors in ppd value.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2009, 05:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

I expected a little more from the X4, might want to investigate your setup a little.

I know AMD isn't quite on par with Intel yet, but your quad is cranking out a little less than a 3rd of what my quad is doing.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 24th September, 2009, 05:36 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

I sue don't know what I coud do differently on set up.
Two things I know will make a difference though. I haven't OC'd yet and it's xp 32bit. 64bit makes a difference.

EDIT:
The only reason i can afford to run 3 rigs at all is the the electricity comes with the rent. So I can run the 8400gt.
500 PPD ain't much but it is something. Now that I have all 3 up, I'll start to switch one at a time over to 64 bit.
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w



Last edited by PorPorMe; 24th September, 2009 at 05:44 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2009, 06:52 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

Since the GPU client is useless on the 3rd rig, I just installed Mint 7.
Tomorrow I'll try to figure out how to install the SMP client. That should only take 3 or 4 days!
My left [blank] for an installer!
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2009, 08:30 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

I am seriously annoyed!
I can't run Mint on my 1st and 2nd rigs because there is no GPU client for Linux.
I just discovered I can't install the SMP client on my number 3 rig because it's not 64 bit!
It's back to Windows!
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2009, 09:36 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

OK! Success!!!!!!!
I've got 2 Fah clients running in Mint.
Now, how do I read production? Is there something like Fahmon for Linux?
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2009, 03:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

There is Fahmon for linux but you will need to compile it from source code under mint.
Should be easy enough to find a guide by searching fahmon ubuntu, if not I'll walk you through it tonite
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2009, 05:04 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccperf721p View Post
There is Fahmon for linux but you will need to compile it from source code under mint.
Should be easy enough to find a guide by searching fahmon ubuntu, if not I'll walk you through it tonite
Thanks cc. I can see this isn't going to produce anything like the SMP client in windows. I'm just now at 6% on one and 8% on the other.
It's better if I go back to XP and run the SMP client.
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2009, 05:06 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

Are those three machines networked? If so, just run FAHMon on the windows machine, it will monitor the linux boxen if you share the directories. There are many tuts on how to share; personally I use NFS and Windows Services for UNIX. I discovered NFS after struggling for quite a while with the now-deprecated SAMBA.

I found this tut that _should_ work for you, it's pretty generic:
How to mount NFS shares from Ubuntu box onto Windows XP as Client - Ubuntu Forums

This way you can look at all 3 machines in one monitor, rather than one monitor on each. It will also monitor the GPU clients as well.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 25th September, 2009 at 05:07 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 25th September, 2009, 07:19 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

I'll work on that in a little while, like a week or two. I've been bouncing around to much trying to get the best production and I'm burnt out. I'm going to xp on all 3 and just crank out some Wu's for a while and then tackle Mint again on the #3 box.
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2009, 02:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Lima, OH
Posts: 137

Have to ask, what shader clock on that 9800gt? 4k PPD seems low
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2009, 09:11 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

Quote:
Originally Posted by cw823 View Post
Have to ask, what shader clock on that 9800gt? 4k PPD seems low
It was at 1375. I've just bumped it to 1520-will see what that does.
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2009, 01:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Lima, OH
Posts: 137

Quote:
Originally Posted by PorPorMe View Post
It was at 1375. I've just bumped it to 1520-will see what that does.
Unless you have heat issues I'd think 1728 or even 1782 might be possible. I know any of the 8800GTs (essentially the same card) will do 1728, one that will do 1782.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2009, 09:07 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

It wouldn't handle 1678 so I now have it at 1604. Temp is at 64c so that's ok.
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 27th October, 2009, 09:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Lima, OH
Posts: 137

Quote:
Originally Posted by PorPorMe View Post
It wouldn't handle 1678 so I now have it at 1604. Temp is at 64c so that's ok.
I think you'll want 1620, 1604 might round you down to 1566 with shader stepping (increments of 54).

I put an extra fan right on top of my 8800GT's to help with temps, that could be holding you back as well.

Oh, and you're running the fan @ 100% too I assume.
__________________

Last edited by cw823; 27th October, 2009 at 09:16 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2009, 12:01 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

I had to do a double check. The shaders rounded up to 1620 and my temps dropped to 54c! Cool-in more ways than one! 4500 PPD now.
I wish that Precision worked in Win 7 x64 but it doesn't
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2009, 02:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Lima, OH
Posts: 137

Quote:
Originally Posted by PorPorMe View Post
I had to do a double check. The shaders rounded up to 1620 and my temps dropped to 54c! Cool-in more ways than one! 4500 PPD now.
I wish that Precision worked in Win 7 x64 but it doesn't

Yeah I normally use rivatuner but have to use precision sometimes due to "issues".

Is this a dedicated f@h machine or a daily user?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2009, 02:29 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

My #2 rig-dedicated F@H
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 28th October, 2009, 02:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Lima, OH
Posts: 137

Quote:
Originally Posted by PorPorMe View Post
My #2 rig-dedicated F@H
I have an extra 120mm fan blowing right on the heatsinks of my 8800GTs, lowered temps about 10c across the board. Might be able to get away with that since it's a dedicated rig.

Gonna pass you in PPD here shortly, looking at adding another 8800GT here in the next week.

Looking at stats seems we only have what, 5 or 6 running GPU clients?
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
folding@home , gpu folding@home



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Huge Favu Random Nonsense! 3 3rd March, 2006 11:58 PM
Ati X900!!! SORRY FOR THE HUGE PICS!!! cadaveca Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 23 9th September, 2005 05:35 PM
A HUGE Relief... RussianMissile1 Intel Motherboards & CPUs 3 25th July, 2004 04:16 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:48 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0