AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team > nVidia/ATI GPU2 clients

nVidia/ATI GPU2 clients Folding clients that use GPUs on graphics cards running the GPU2 client


Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2009, 07:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Looks like nvidia wants to make you go to site to download the toolkit. Grab it from here and move it to the gpu folder. then chmod +x
Thank You
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2009, 07:09 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

Quote:
Originally Posted by PorPorMe View Post
sudo apt-get install ia32-libs is installed and so is wine. I think I could "probly" go and istall the GPU client but will wait furthe instructions.

A feather in the cap Daniel! He helped his first virgin. DON'T get any dirty ideas! You 'ol men can be unpredictable wit a virgin mentioned!

I'm glad I'm on the other side of the state!
I only dared to try because I have Linux Gurus watching over me! LOL
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 28th September, 2009, 11:24 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

This is odd. Even after putting the file in th Folding folder-Iget this:

chmod +x NVIDIA_CUDA_Toolkit_2.0beta2_Ubuntu7.10_x86.run
chmod: cannot access `NVIDIA_CUDA_Toolkit_2.0beta2_Ubuntu7.10_x86.run': No such file or directory


EDIT: I tried to run the last two under SU with same result.
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w



Last edited by PorPorMe; 28th September, 2009 at 11:32 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2009, 04:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Are you sure you are in the right directory when you run chmod?

cd ~/folding/gpu

Sorry it took so long to get back, forgot I had an appointment for some tattoo work.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2009, 04:27 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

I had not put it in the /gpu folder but I have now with the same resuls. Might starting from the beginning help?

EDIT: Ijust tried to install the SMP client with the same results. The download was succesfull but -config came back as no file or directory.
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w



Last edited by PorPorMe; 29th September, 2009 at 04:42 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2009, 05:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

If you could, open up a terminal and type
Code:
ls ~/folding/gpu
Paste the output
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2009, 05:23 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

ls ~/folding/gpu
thankyou_linux.html?url=%2Fcompute%2Fcuda%2F2.0-Beta2%2Flinux%2Ftoolkit%2FNVIDIA_CUDA_Toolkit_2.0b eta2_Ubuntu7.10_x86.run
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2009, 05:28 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

I'll start agian tomorrow-I'm tired and am going to read a bit before bed.
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2009, 02:52 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

This doesn't work, Cliff. I installed Umbutu 9.04 x64 on my #1 rig, went thru the same steps and am getting exactly the same results. no such file or directory even though I had to download the file and place it into the Gpu folder.
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2009, 03:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Alright, when I get home, (early today going on vacation), I will fire up my Mint rig and see what the hell is going on.
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2009, 03:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

First off, if you keep wiping the drive every time we have a little issue it will never get done and you might as well go back to windows..

Open a terminal and
Code:
cd ~/folding/gpu && rm -r ~/folding/gpu/*
Then do
Code:
wget http://developer.download.nvidia.com/compute/cuda/2_0/linux/toolkit/NVIDIA_CUDA_Toolkit_2.0_ubuntu7.10_x86.run
Code:
sudo sh NVIDIA_CUDA_Toolkit_2.0_ubuntu7.10_x86.run
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2009, 04:17 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

Could that be an ownership problem? If root owns the directory for some reason, maybe chmod can't be executed until chown takes ownership...although that really shouldn't happen in /home/*user*
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 29th September, 2009 at 04:20 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2009, 07:51 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

That worked perfict Cuda is installed.

EDIT: Sorry it took some time-I fall asleep.
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w



Last edited by PorPorMe; 29th September, 2009 at 07:52 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2009, 08:05 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,605

As we move forward we grow in POWER! Well done PPM! ":O}
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2009, 08:18 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

It's Cliff that deserves the credit! Well done.
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2009, 09:21 PM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

[QUOTE=ccperf721p;498262]First off, if you keep wiping the drive every time we have a little issue it will never get done and you might as well go back to windows..

My #2 rig is a dedicated folding rig that now has Mint 7 on it-I'm mainly working from it.
I thought just mabe your commands might work in Unbunto so I installed it as a duel boot on my #1 rig-0nly problem was windows wouldn't boot.
When all is said and done, #2 will stay with Mint and I will try agian to have XP and Linux duel boot on My #1. no problem.

EDIT: I have Wine and Cuda toolkit installed on both.
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w



Last edited by PorPorMe; 29th September, 2009 at 09:24 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 29th September, 2009, 11:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: April 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 2,446

Credit goes to Sydney at forums.bf2s.com for this guide. It covers ubuntu and derivatives such as Mint.. There have been a few issues that have arisen since the guide by Sydney was written. The latest set of nvidia drivers that will work with this guide are 180.60, Anything later than that set will not work. Also the 180.60 drivers will likely not install against a 2.6.30 or later kernel. Shouldn't be a problem for most as I believe the latest Ubuntu/Mint kernel is a 2.6.29 which is just right for this.

Open up a terminal, copy and pasting from within the code tags will do the job.

We need to make some directories.

I prefer to split the gpu from the cpu, so
Code:
mkdir -p ~/folding/gpu
grab the cuda package.
Code:
wget http://developer.download.nvidia.com/compute/cuda/2_0/linux/toolkit/NVIDIA_CUDA_Toolkit_2.0_ubuntu7.10_x86.run
Then install it.
Code:
sudo sh NVIDIA_CUDA_Toolkit_2.0_ubuntu7.10_x86.run
just hit enter when prompted for install location.
Nest is linking the toolkit.

Code:
sudo sh -c "echo '/usr/local/cuda/lib' > /etc/ld.so.conf.d/cuda.conf" && sudo ldconfig
Next, install wine.
Code:
sudo apt-get install wine
32 bit libraries
Code:
sudo apt-get install ia32-libs
Code:
wine notepad
Then close the notepad window after it opens. We only run the notepad command to put the wine directories in place.

Code:
wget http://www.gpu2.twomurs.com/wrapper2ndgen/2.1/cudart.dll.so -O ~/.wine/drive_c/windows/system32/cudart.dll && ln -s ~/.wine/drive_c/windows/system32/cudart.dll ~/.wine/drive_c/windows/system32/nvcuda.dll
Code:
ldd ~/.wine/drive_c/windows/system32/cudart.dll
Code:
ldd /usr/local/lib/wine/nvcuda.dll.so
Code:
 cd ~/folding/gpu
Code:
wget http://www.stanford.edu/group/pandegroup/folding/release/Folding@home-Win32-GPU_XP-623.zip
Code:
unzip Folding*
Code:
nice -n 18 wine Folding@home-Win32-GPU.exe -forcegpu nvidia_g80
Dual GPU is pretty simple, just create a gpu1 folder, unzip the windows exe into it, cd into that directory and run
Code:
nice -n 18 wine Folding@home-Win32-GPU.exe -forcegpu nvidia_g80 -gpu 1
Let me know if any of these fail
__________________
Biostar TForce X58 - Core i7 920 - 12GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 - EVGA 560ti - PCP&C 750W - Dual boot, Arch Linux/WinXP

Last edited by ccperf721p; 30th September, 2009 at 05:50 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2009, 08:44 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

My Mom is visiting and I have been out to my Aunts. I'll do this in the morning.
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2009, 10:21 AM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Don't touch linux mate. U will regret it !!!
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 30th September, 2009, 12:02 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbard View Post
Don't touch linux mate. U will regret it !!!
Attached Thumbnails
GPU clients in Linux under WINE-peanuts.png  
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Closed Thread



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Linux SMP clients on Quadcore ccperf721p Windows/Linux SMP Clients 30 27th May, 2012 05:18 AM
Download - Wine 1.1.3 for Linux/FreeBSD danrok OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 7 26th August, 2008 07:46 PM
Dual Linux SMP clients on Quadcore ccperf721p AOA FAQ 0 29th December, 2007 01:25 AM
Wine nki69c OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 3 27th March, 2004 10:34 PM
For people running Linux clients, EMIII 2.1.8 is out. mookydooky ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team 6 10th November, 2002 09:01 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:58 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0