AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team > nVidia/ATI GPU2 clients

nVidia/ATI GPU2 clients Folding clients that use GPUs on graphics cards running the GPU2 client


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 2nd November, 2009, 05:00 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

9600 How to? and will do?

Ok, I just had to build the kids a new computer cuz there's went belly up. I ended up getting a 9600 video card for them for $80 (did I over pay?) Seems to be "ok". Will it fold and should I fold on it. If so, how do I do it?

Also, I plan on taking the HSF off and putting some Artic Silver on it. As the back of the card is pretty warm while the HSF is pretty cold to the touch.
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2009, 02:39 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie View Post
Will it fold and should I fold on it. If so, how do I do it?
1. Yes. 3000-4000 ppd.
2. Of course.
3. Like this: Folding@home - WinGPUGuide

Post back if you have any problems and someone will help you...
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 3rd November, 2009 at 05:33 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2009, 02:41 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Thanks brother!
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2009, 04:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Lima, OH
Posts: 137

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderRd View Post
1. Yes. 300-4000 ppd.
2. Of course.
3. Like this: Folding@home - WinGPUGuide

Post back if you have any problems and someone will help you...
I'd disagree on #1, you're not going to see 4000PPD on a 64shader card.
#2 and #3 I fully agree with though.


Edit, to offer something productive on #1, you may see up to 3700 (maybe), but it sounds like temps may be an issue which will probably prohibit your shader clock. Just be sure to use rivatuner or evga precision to set the fan to run at max (or near-max) speed.
__________________
AOA Team fah

Last edited by cw823; 3rd November, 2009 at 04:58 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2009, 05:32 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

I do 3910 ppd per card on my dual 9600GT setup regularly.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 3rd November, 2009 at 05:32 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2009, 05:37 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

My 2 9600's both ran hot. The GPU client will fail if the temps get around 70c and above so be sure to follow cw's advice and have the card fan running 100%.
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2009, 05:55 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

Maybe my cooling solution is better than yours but I have not seen temps over 62C on either of mine. I run the fans 50%-75% variable with a cooling profile I created in Rivatuner. I have not had the need to run the fans faster than that.

The slowest WUs I have seen run 3200ppd (I forget the project number), but most others run between 3500 and 3900 ppd. Both cards synch perfectly when they are on the same project number and the ppd is exactly the same. Several months ago there was a project that yielded 4100 ppd, but I think it was defective because the P# went away and I have not seen it since.

I do not overclock either the GPU or memory clocks. The shader clock is set to 1950 or so, I'm not at home ATM so I'm not certain of the exact setting. I have found that the shader clock is the only one that has a significant effect on folding operations, so I have no need to overclock the other settings.

As for heat being a problem, I have run at least 3000 WUs on each of these cards and I would guess that approximately 25 WUs have failed. And I live in a hot climate.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 3rd November, 2009 at 05:57 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2009, 02:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Lima, OH
Posts: 137

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderRd View Post
Maybe my cooling solution is better than yours but I have not seen temps over 62C on either of mine. I run the fans 50%-75% variable with a cooling profile I created in Rivatuner. I have not had the need to run the fans faster than that.

The slowest WUs I have seen run 3200ppd (I forget the project number), but most others run between 3500 and 3900 ppd. Both cards synch perfectly when they are on the same project number and the ppd is exactly the same. Several months ago there was a project that yielded 4100 ppd, but I think it was defective because the P# went away and I have not seen it since.

I do not overclock either the GPU or memory clocks. The shader clock is set to 1950 or so, I'm not at home ATM so I'm not certain of the exact setting. I have found that the shader clock is the only one that has a significant effect on folding operations, so I have no need to overclock the other settings.

As for heat being a problem, I have run at least 3000 WUs on each of these cards and I would guess that approximately 25 WUs have failed. And I live in a hot climate.
Shader at 1950 explains that PPD, wondering if that is stock speed for 9600GT?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2009, 02:52 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

Negatory, stock shader setting is 1625. I found that overclocking the shaders was quite easily done on these cards, I modded the BIOS to 1955 and use that setting 24/7.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2009, 03:13 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

I'm going to pull the fan off right now and apply some AS.

Ok done, now let's see how much of an overclock I can do. It was at 700mhz core and before I modded it I put it up to 709. (light I know) but now I'm thinking of around 750. What do you think?
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah

Last edited by robbie; 3rd November, 2009 at 03:43 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2009, 04:17 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

I don't overclock anything except the shaders. Pushing the core clock and the memory yields very little in the way of folding gains, and delivers a bunch of heat.

Your shaders are the key to folding speed. My GTs are stock at 1625. You should be able to get to 1750 comfortably and with some work, to 1850 or more. This will give you the most gain in folding speed with not much extra heat.

Here's a screenshot of my main rig running two 9600GTs at 1955 shaders:

Is the client set up already? Did it go OK?
Attached Thumbnails
9600 How to? and will do?-fahmon.jpg  
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2009, 04:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Lima, OH
Posts: 137

I can get a little more PPD from my 9600GSO, but can't clock it that high. Considering it has 96 shaders rather than 64, that 9600GT looks like a bargain.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2009, 05:41 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

I'll post some screen shots when I get home. I cranked the core up to 724 (ish) maybe I'll clock it back down and crank up the shaders. Its not folding yet. Tonight probably.
BlackBerry8330m/4.5.0.175 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/104
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 3rd November, 2009, 05:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Lima, OH
Posts: 137

I normally clock core down to 600, sometimes that helps with temps, albeit not that much
BlackBerry8330/4.5.0.169 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2009, 04:39 AM
PorPorMe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2008
Location: Spokane, Wa
Posts: 3,131

Looks like I made a bad choice in my 9800GT. My stock shaders are 1350 OC'd to 1512, but I am getting 5k production out of it.
__________________
AOA Team fah

1ST Thermaltake V9 Case * Windows 7 x64 * Gigibyte GM-MA74GM-S2 * Phenom X4 9650 2.3Ghz @ 2.76GHz * G Skill 4 GB DDR2 * EVGA Geforce 9800GT 512GB * Antec 650w



Last edited by PorPorMe; 6th November, 2009 at 04:40 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2009, 05:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Lima, OH
Posts: 137

Quote:
Originally Posted by PorPorMe View Post
Looks like I made a bad choice in my 9800GT. My stock shaders are 1350 OC'd to 1512, but I am getting 5k production out of it.
I had a couple 9800GT Ultimates from Asus, shaders would run @ 2052. should've kept them
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2009, 08:09 AM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

But if that is for the kids how will they play games if the cpu or gpu is folding?
Opera/8.01 (J2ME/MIDP; Opera Mini/3.1.10423/1724; en; U; ssr)
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2009, 02:25 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

I would assume the folding switches to a background program when they start up games?
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2009, 04:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Lima, OH
Posts: 137

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie View Post
I would assume the folding switches to a background program when they start up games?

You may find GPU intensive games unplayable, especially if the GPU client is set to priority=96 (which you have to do if you're also running a CPU f@h client). That being said, I played BF2142 a couple times without closing f@h and noticed 0 issues.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 6th November, 2009, 05:08 PM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

To add to what cw823 has said, I leave the SMP client running constantly in the background whether gaming or not with no problems, but normally will shut down the GPU client when gaming. I have noticed some minor stuttering on games with it running. Your kids may not notice it, but you would if it happens.

The priority=96 argument that cw is referring to is invoked at the client start automatically if you set up the GPU client to use "slightly higher" core priority. It isn't as difficult as it sounds. You just tick the option on the Advanced page in the client control panel. You do not want to do this if you aren't running a CPU client, though.
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com

Last edited by ThunderRd; 6th November, 2009 at 05:12 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9600 overclock DjJohnny1989 Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 56 8th March, 2006 08:50 PM
Ati 9600 Se Agp 128 DKMOC Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 15 26th May, 2005 03:04 AM
AIWs >>> 9600 or 9600 XT serlv Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 12th August, 2004 02:50 AM
Flashing a 9600 to 9600 pro HotshotUK OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 4 21st July, 2004 11:30 PM
9600 np overclock cadaveca Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 4 2nd April, 2004 03:48 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:05 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0