AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > General > ThunderRd's AOA FOLDING@HOME Team > nVidia GPU3 Clients

nVidia GPU3 Clients Discussions about how to install, run, troubleshoot, and maximize the performance of your GPU3 client running on nVidia hardware.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 14th January, 2011, 03:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Lima, OH
Posts: 137

Sold the GTS450, upgraded to a GTX460 for about $15 more. Clocking at 775/1550 it's 10.7k PPD, although I think I can clock it higher.

Also added an x6 to the mix. Hopefully bonus from last year (soon?) will let me sell the x6 for a 2600k.
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 18th January, 2011, 12:55 AM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

me too. I don't think baking it will fix the GPU. it is worth a try tho. as soon as I have the 460's, I'll replace the 295 with one. maybe I'll put a new rig for the 2 of them, together.


Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 18th January, 2011, 04:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Lima, OH
Posts: 137

If you need a board I have a P6N Platinum that would give you 4 slots
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2011, 05:30 AM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

Quote:
Originally Posted by cw823 View Post
If you need a board I have a P6N Platinum that would give you 4 slots
don't know what I'd do with 4 slots . and then there is the CPU I don't have. I do have 3x460GTX and that
will be a work in progress.

I have a 3 slot board/mem/cpu and no place to put it till next month. and now I have messed with the JuJu.
I have two rigs down to swap the vid cards around and get them folding again. that's going to take
a few days for me to get it sorted out. basically uninstalling and reinstalling drivers until it works.

One issue I ran into with the W7 64bit box involves the editing of the GPU shortcut. I am sure I followed the
directions however, when I edit the "Start in" to the required syntax, I get an error message that states
the path is not valid. this means I can't fold, yet. like I say 'if I can fix it, it wasn't broken. or, if I can't fix it, it can't be fixed.

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 22nd January, 2011, 11:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Lima, OH
Posts: 137

are you editing the shortcut that it creates automatically or are you creating a new shortcut?
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2011, 04:27 AM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

editing the shortcut I made from the X86 after install. actually after starting the client.
attempts made to get 2 cards/clients working have met with resistance. tomorrow I will succeed, after reading the guide again.

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2011, 04:41 AM
ThunderRd's Avatar
Irreverent Query Chairman
 
Join Date: June 2007
Location: NYC native in northern Thailand
Posts: 2,232

What you need you'll prolly find here, Ron:

Folding Forum • View topic - Guide For GPU3 BETA Client {Windows & Linux}
__________________
#1: Tt Armor, ASUS Maximus Extreme, QX9650@4.1G, 8G Corsair Dominator GT DDR3-2000, Corsair HX1050, H2O-Swiftech, Gigabyte GTX470/Arctic Accelero Xtreme Plus II, Intel 520 SSD, Kingston SSD, 2xRaptor 150G RAID0, Win 7 Pro 64
#2: Tt Shark, ASUS P5Q Pro Turbo, Q6600@3.8G, 4G HyperX-1600, Corsair HX850, CoolerMaster V10, 2xASUS 9600GT, 2xRaptor 74G RAID0, OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, Gentoo/siduction Linux [64-bit]
#3, #4: Opteron 170@2.75G nude, A8N-SLI Deluxe, Gentoo

AOA Folding @HomeOur sister site: www.gamersonlinux.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 23rd January, 2011, 08:15 AM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

thanks TR. along with focus and some rest, I fixed it. of course I broke it first. now they are folding along @ 800/1600.
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 24th January, 2011, 03:56 AM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

had to back off the oc on the 460's to 735/1470. applying the oc in smaller steps over a few days.
they are quiet and actually oc very easy in a one card rig. two on one board may be harder.
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 12th February, 2011, 11:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: January 2002
Location: Lima, OH
Posts: 137

My MSI 460 does 851/1703 @ 1025mv, fwiw. Equates to whatever my t45 PPD is. ;D
__________________
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 13th February, 2011, 04:35 PM
dabaerman's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: October 2001
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,101

Quote:
Originally Posted by cw823 View Post
My MSI 460 does 851/1703 @ 1025mv, fwiw. Equates to whatever my t45 PPD is. ;D
I have 1 at 850/1700 & .987V. the other 2 at 775/1550 & 1.0V. they make 10+K.day.

Ron
__________________
Folding 24/7 with AMD QuadCore CPU's & nVidia Cuda Powered GPU's

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Post your SiSoft results ! chrisbard Benchmarking 1 11th January, 2006 09:27 PM
Post Your Inte/amd O/c Results Here... Invalid General Hardware Discussion 33 20th September, 2003 12:30 PM
2100+ B (post Your Results) CooledByWater AMD Motherboards & CPUs 28 14th February, 2003 06:54 AM
New pOST PICS THREAD!!! The Spyder Random Nonsense! 95 17th December, 2002 07:09 PM
GCSE Results Thread loop Random Nonsense! 22 23rd August, 2002 04:32 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0