AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home

Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 11th January, 2003, 09:45 AM

PLS HELP with Mandrake 9.0

I'm a total NooB when it comes to Linux...
I tried to install Mandrake 9.0 on my comp, but I can't overcome 1 problem. I have 2 HDD's in RAID 0 on my EPoX 8K3A+, but the installer seems not to recognize that it's RAID. When it comes to detecting HDD's it always shows my drives as hda and hdb or something like that. Then it tells me, that my file allocation table is corrupt and asks me to wipe the disks. When i refuse to do so, it states that there is no disk which could be installed onto.
Are there any drivers or patches I should use? I really don't know what to do. I don't want to lose all my data... :nervous:
Any help or hints will be greatly appreciated.
Old 11th January, 2003, 08:15 PM

i'm not an expert at this but what motherboard do you have? the distro prolly doesn't support the board. i've tried SuSE 8, Mandrake 9, and RedHat 8. only RH8 sees the drives on the 4G4A+'s RAID controllers and is able to partion them.

you might wanna take a look at Mandrake 9.1 Beta. i find SuSe alot easier to use for a n00b like myself but i still don't have SuSe 8.2 which should be able to see the drives on my raid controllers.

good luck!

Shuttle SB61G2 | PIV 2.8C @ 3.5GHz
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 11th January, 2003, 11:48 PM

Quote:
Originally posted by r0l0e
i'm not an expert at this but what motherboard do you have? the distro prolly doesn't support the board. i've tried SuSE 8, Mandrake 9, and RedHat 8. only RH8 sees the drives on the 4G4A+'s RAID controllers and is able to partion them.