AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 30th March, 2003, 10:25 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Help with Linux

Can anyone point me to a site that will help me with Slackware?!?!?

I got it installed on a dual PIII board and I've got it too boot, but now it just sits there. I don't know any commands and I want to run gnome or KDE. (yes I've installed them)

Sorry but I'm NEW too Linux.
Please help.
Rob


(of course I'm trying to get this thing up and running for folding!! )
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 30th March, 2003, 03:18 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

www.tldp.org may help. You can see if www.justlinux.com has the answer for your Slackware questions, too.

And in the wrong topic heading, too. Shocked, shocked I am.
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 30th March, 2003, 05:25 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Thanks for the links bud!!

?? Wrong topic?? **edit** nevermind my bad!! I figured it out. (climbs back into his hole )

It is an Alt OS correct?
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah

Last edited by robbie; 30th March, 2003 at 05:31 PM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 30th March, 2003, 06:53 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Ok, I've got it installed and have played for a bit. Couple questions,

I should have mentioned that I am running a DUAL PIII board and would like a distro that will use BOTH cpu's (seems like this one is only using one.) Does slackware support dual CPU's and if it does then how do I enable this.

I've gotten into KDE but I can't seem to get onto the web. I have a cable modem and running threw a router. What do I need to change (or setup) to get onto the web?

I've gone in a changed things (IE background) but it doesn't seem to change to what I've selected. (yes I clicked apply)

Sorry guys, but I'm a REAL noobie at this.
Thanks for you help.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 30th March, 2003, 07:25 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Ok did some reading, looks like I might have to do a REinstall and setup the kernal so it will see my dual cpu's (or can I run it without having to reinstall?)

Also, I'm really having trouble finding a how-to on how to get on the web or setup so I can.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 30th March, 2003, 10:59 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Well after a little back and forth with my new found friend Aeden We determined that I'm going to have to create a custom Kernel. Not as hard as it sounds but he provided me links (as well as Cloasters) to do this.

So when I get some time to sit down and tackle it I'll let ya know how it goes.

BTW here is what I'm working with, and NO KVM!! ( I know I know I need one)
Rob
Attached Thumbnails
Help with Linux-im001509.jpg  
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 3rd April, 2003, 03:57 AM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

I'm surprized that no one has mentioned how GHETTO it looks.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 4th April, 2003, 10:12 AM
Lovechild's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: In front of computer... Aarhus - Denmark
Posts: 9
Send a message via ICQ to Lovechild Send a message via AIM to Lovechild

www.linuxjunior.org - friendly guys, good help and of course always up for an argument (read blantant flamewar)
__________________
Jam Jars, proof that <insert deity here> exists and that he/she/it wants us to happy.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2003, 05:19 PM
cloasters's Avatar
Asst. BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Location, Location
Posts: 21,956

Quote:
Originally posted by robbie
Well after a little back and forth with my new found friend Aeden We determined that I'm going to have to create a custom Kernel. Not as hard as it sounds but he provided me links (as well as Cloasters) to do this.

So when I get some time to sit down and tackle it I'll let ya know how it goes.

BTW here is what I'm working with, and NO KVM!! ( I know I know I need one)
Rob
That is the shiniest heatsink I've ever seen. The thing would blind everyone in that there desert sunlight. How do you get your HS's so shiny? All? Cheer? Tide? Don't tell me that it's just that brown soap that grannies used to love, plus elbow grease?
__________________
When the world will be better.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 7th April, 2003, 08:51 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Quote:
Originally posted by cloasters


That is the shiniest heatsink I've ever seen. The thing would blind everyone in that there desert sunlight. How do you get your HS's so shiny? All? Cheer? Tide? Don't tell me that it's just that brown soap that grannies used to love, plus elbow grease?
I hand washed it of course!!

honestly, it must be the light cuz they are pretty dull.

Do you like my CUSTOM cooling that I did to the heat sync's?:devil: :clown:

I actually have it off right now, I really want to put it into a NICE case, but don't have the money to do so right now.

Well, there IS a show next week. Maybe I'll pick one up there.
I can get them for pretty cheap.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 20th April, 2003, 03:29 AM
cyPHer_138's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: April 2003
Location: Stapped to an electric chair
Posts: 55

First I have to say thats the best see-thru case I've ever seen.:-D
Slack is nice but Debian IMVHO is alot better just for apt-get alone. The install is a little tough but it's smooth sailing from there.
Just compile the kernel for your specs and you'll be off. FreeBSD may even be faster and better for what your trying to do. You have to config the kernel as soon as you install. It's also done in console. If you get the handbook you'll learn much about *nix and your hardware. Well good luck.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11th May, 2003, 03:00 AM
BrianW's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2003
Location: Desert City, CA
Posts: 44
Send a message via ICQ to BrianW

I would try Gentoo man... http://www.gentoo.org . Thats what we have on all our game serers and our intranet/file server.

Brian

BTW You woud not of been able to use Glen's processors with that motherboard(unless u got a slot converter). That is a slot mb whereas Glen had Socket370's. I git em in a 2u rackmount case now. Just waiting for memory.
__________________
Water Cooled Inwin Q500 (Dual Rads: Rad1 = DTEK Pro Core | Rad2 = Blick Ice Estreme, Hydor L30, Dangerden Maze2, Bay Res Typhoon Reservoir, 1/2 " DD Tygon Thick Wall Hose).

Flow: Res, Pump, CPU watervlock, Y into both rads, both rads into res independently.

Athlon XP 1800+ (@ 1731 - 150mhz fsb.), on a Asus A7N266-c, and a Radeon 9000 *waiting for RMA'd Saphire 9800 ultra from Newegg)

Last edited by BrianW; 11th May, 2003 at 03:07 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
and then there was linux..... fireball_87 Random Nonsense! 14 31st August, 2009 06:07 PM
Linux Mod Rondog Case Modifications 88 5th September, 2005 07:50 PM
PS3 Add-On HDD to run on Linux Rondog General Hardware Discussion 22 13th June, 2005 07:08 PM
802.11X and linux dsio OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 1 31st December, 2004 12:15 PM
Linux help bigjohnson OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS 3 19th July, 2003 10:26 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0