AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 3rd December, 2003, 05:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: August 2003
Posts: 101

A Error...

This Happens When i Try to launch my Paint Shop Pro, And Sometimes does It For Others, this is what it says


The Instruction at "0x00411f7a" referenced memory at "0x00000000". the Memory coud not be "read"



Soo.. Please Help Me And It Tells Me To Terminate Or Debug ive pressed both , nothing happens except for it closing
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2005, 03:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2005
Posts: 5

Dear Microgers87,

Did you get this problems resolved? I am a new user and I'm learning my way about this website, but I have that exact problem, and I wondered if you could direct me towards a solution.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2005, 03:05 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Whenever you post a problem post also the components inside your computer...like CPU, memory, motherboard..... I suspect a faulty or not compatible memory but can be a lot more than just that. So what comp do you have?
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2005, 03:24 PM
Chesso's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Chesso

Could also be a core problem iv'e had a few applications i made myself present themselves with these errors somewhat randomly though i fixed them eventually......well most of them heh.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2005, 05:58 PM
skool h8r's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Rotherham, UK
Posts: 3,157
Send a message via MSN to skool h8r

No, these are usually software problems, usually, re-installing the application will fix the problem.
__________________
i7 2600K (4.3Ghz 1.34v) | GTX580 | 16GB (4x4GB) Patriot Viper Sec. 5 Ser. 2 (1866 - 9-11-9-27) | P67A-UD4-B3
Corsair AX1200 | Vertex II 240GB SSD | 4TB RAID0 (Samsung HD204UI) | Logitech G930 Wireless Headset

YouTube - Benchmark Results (Coming Soon!)
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2005, 06:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2005
Posts: 5

I have:
System Information report written at: 21/12/2005 17:48:18
[System Summary]

Item Value
OS Name Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional
Version 5.0.2195 Service Pack 4 Build 2195
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Name ICTUS-2000
System Manufacturer MATSONIC
System Model MS8157E
System Type X86-based PC
Processor x86 Family 6 Model 6 Stepping 2 AuthenticAMD ~1533 Mhz
BIOS Version 02/20/03
Windows Directory C:\WINNT
System Directory C:\WINNT\system32
Boot Device \Device\Harddisk0\Partition1
Locale United States (although I'm in the UK)
User Name ICTUS-2000\VJRS
Time Zone GMT Standard Time
Total Physical Memory 523,760 KB
Available Physical Memory 138,216 KB
Total Virtual Memory 1,801,548 KB
Available Virtual Memory 1,052,976 KB
Page File Space 1,277,788 KB
Page File C:\pagefile.sys

This has not changed since 6 months before the problem arose. Paint Shop Pro 8 worked fine until about 6 weeks ago; I have reinstalled the operating system, service pack, updates and all programs, and the problem started again after a further few days. (It is JUST possible it might have begun after running RegFix, but restoring an old backup has not restored the previous stability.)

I have an up-to-date spayware and virus checker, and I am confident there are no viruses on board, and I have run all the motherboard and memory checks from the MicroScope diagnotsic tool. I am at a complete loss as to what to do next.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2005, 06:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2005
Posts: 5

Addition: reinstalling PSP 8 cures the problem for a few hours. Then it's back...
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2005, 08:37 PM
Favu's Avatar
AOA's resident barman
 
Join Date: October 2005
Location: /Wales/Abergavenny
Posts: 4,004
Send a message via ICQ to Favu Send a message via AIM to Favu Send a message via MSN to Favu

Maybe something is tripping up PSP as they try to access the same memory location at the same time?

Just a vague thoguht there.

Have you checked to see that there are no other applications running that you don't ABSOLUTELY need?
__________________
AOA Team fah
 

Custom 8-bit Sharp Z80 @ 4.194304 MHz
Reflective LCD @ 160 × 144
8 kByte S-RAM






Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2005, 09:02 PM
danrok's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 18,917

Quote:
Originally Posted by vjrs
I have:
System Information report written at: 21/12/2005 17:48:18
[System Summary]

Item Value
OS Name Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional
Version 5.0.2195 Service Pack 4 Build 2195
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Name ICTUS-2000
System Manufacturer MATSONIC
System Model MS8157E
System Type X86-based PC
Processor x86 Family 6 Model 6 Stepping 2 AuthenticAMD ~1533 Mhz
BIOS Version 02/20/03
Windows Directory C:\WINNT
System Directory C:\WINNT\system32
Boot Device \Device\Harddisk0\Partition1
Locale United States (although I'm in the UK)
User Name ICTUS-2000\VJRS
Time Zone GMT Standard Time
Total Physical Memory 523,760 KB
Available Physical Memory 138,216 KB
Total Virtual Memory 1,801,548 KB
Available Virtual Memory 1,052,976 KB
Page File Space 1,277,788 KB
Page File C:\pagefile.sys

This has not changed since 6 months before the problem arose. Paint Shop Pro 8 worked fine until about 6 weeks ago; I have reinstalled the operating system, service pack, updates and all programs, and the problem started again after a further few days. (It is JUST possible it might have begun after running RegFix, but restoring an old backup has not restored the previous stability.)

I have an up-to-date spayware and virus checker, and I am confident there are no viruses on board, and I have run all the motherboard and memory checks from the MicroScope diagnotsic tool. I am at a complete loss as to what to do next.
Image editing is quite demanding on memory. You have a minimal amount of physical memory. Not a problem in itself, but Windows will be doing a lot of swapping to disk.

So, a staring point would be to check your RAM and HDD for errors. You can use a tool called MemTest to check your memory. It needs to run for a number of hours. If the memory checks out OK, then run some diagnostics on the HDD.

I used to have frequent problems with PSP, but only prior to version 8. PSP 8 seems very stable to me, in general.
__________________
Desktop PC: AMD FX-8370E / Asus M5A99X Evo R2.0 Motherboard / 16GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce GTX 970
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 21st December, 2005, 10:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2005
Posts: 5

Both good ideas; thank you. In fact PSP crashes on loading, so I don't think the useage of (specifically) large sections is the problem. I will do the checks suggested, however.

Everything lse is, I'm afraid, closed down, unless it is needed.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 22nd December, 2005, 12:32 AM
Chesso's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: January 2005
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 877
Send a message via MSN to Chesso

On that information post a very small amount of physical ram is left is this normal for your? i boot into windows only using 84mb lol.

I would have argued 512mb ram would be fine but with that much left perhaps not.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 22nd December, 2005, 01:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: December 2005
Posts: 5

Thanks, Chesso. Increasing RAM is sensible and I'll try that.
__________________
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
C1 Error! brunobm CRASHED! 21 19th January, 2005 11:39 PM
who had Error CF before ?! |Oc|REvO_HsARC EPoX MotherBoards 1 8th March, 2004 07:31 PM
A Error Microgers87 CRASHED! 4 4th December, 2003 09:39 PM
FF error JP! CRASHED! 3 12th February, 2003 02:58 PM
AOA error eobard Forum Feedback and Suggestion Box 3 29th May, 2002 08:17 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0