AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2004, 01:16 AM
Phat Pat's Avatar
Phat Spammer
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: /home/pat
Posts: 1,432
Send a message via AIM to Phat Pat

Help me with a laptop

Told my friend I'd help him put xp on his laptop (free from his dad).

Xp encounters an error when installing (kindof expected it might)

so I tried to use a knoppix cd (A distro of linux that runs off of a cd) to try and diagnose it, and maybe give him a little practice with linux (maybe convert him, mwaaahaha), but it wont boot to it.

It will boot to the xp install cd, but not the knoppix cd. is there anything I can do differently when I burn the iso to a cd (knoppix) to make it boot?

the laptop doesnt have a floppy drive (that would be too easy :P). Im really lost, could use some help today or tomorow preferably.
__________________
God's got this all wrong. We are not special. We are not crap or trash either. We just are, and what happens just happens.
And God says, "No, that's not right."
Yeah. Well. Whatever. You can't teach God anything. -Tyler Durden

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2004, 01:19 AM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

did you burn it as disc at once and close the session?
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2004, 01:26 AM
Phat Pat's Avatar
Phat Spammer
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: /home/pat
Posts: 1,432
Send a message via AIM to Phat Pat

I burned the iso to a disk. not quite sure what you are asking.
__________________
God's got this all wrong. We are not special. We are not crap or trash either. We just are, and what happens just happens.
And God says, "No, that's not right."
Yeah. Well. Whatever. You can't teach God anything. -Tyler Durden

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2004, 01:37 AM
Phat Pat's Avatar
Phat Spammer
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: /home/pat
Posts: 1,432
Send a message via AIM to Phat Pat

wait, I think I figured it out, couldnt get nero's wizard to turn off.

Edit:

I lied, I still cant figure it out. someone tell me how to do this pretty pretty please!
__________________
God's got this all wrong. We are not special. We are not crap or trash either. We just are, and what happens just happens.
And God says, "No, that's not right."
Yeah. Well. Whatever. You can't teach God anything. -Tyler Durden

AOA Team fah

Last edited by Phat Pat; 12th November, 2004 at 01:57 AM.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2004, 02:38 AM
Gizmo's Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
BassTeroids Champion, Global Player Champion, Aim & Fire Champion, Puzzle Maniax Champion, Othello Champion, Canyon Glider Champion, Unicycle Challenge Champion, YetiSports 9: Final Spit Champion, Zed Champion
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Webb City, Mo
Posts: 16,178
Send a message via ICQ to Gizmo Send a message via AIM to Gizmo Send a message via MSN to Gizmo Send a message via Yahoo to Gizmo Send a message via Skype™ to Gizmo

It should be as simple as selecting 'Burn Image To Disk' after you open the ISO.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2004, 02:46 AM
Phat Pat's Avatar
Phat Spammer
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: /home/pat
Posts: 1,432
Send a message via AIM to Phat Pat

I did that and it wont work.
__________________
God's got this all wrong. We are not special. We are not crap or trash either. We just are, and what happens just happens.
And God says, "No, that's not right."
Yeah. Well. Whatever. You can't teach God anything. -Tyler Durden

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2004, 04:01 AM
Repo Man's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 513
Send a message via ICQ to Repo Man Send a message via AIM to Repo Man

I have to wonder if the problem XP encountered is going to continue even with Linux?
__________________
AOA Team fah

It is the dull man who is always sure, and the sure man who is always dull.
H. L. Mencken
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2004, 06:53 AM
Phat Pat's Avatar
Phat Spammer
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: /home/pat
Posts: 1,432
Send a message via AIM to Phat Pat

doubt it, the error was specific to a file. in otherwords, I blame Bill Gates
__________________
God's got this all wrong. We are not special. We are not crap or trash either. We just are, and what happens just happens.
And God says, "No, that's not right."
Yeah. Well. Whatever. You can't teach God anything. -Tyler Durden

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2004, 07:13 AM
Repo Man's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: September 2002
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 513
Send a message via ICQ to Repo Man Send a message via AIM to Repo Man

In my many Windows Xp installs, those types of problems have only been caused by an underlying hardware problem (usually memory related), or bad media.
__________________
AOA Team fah

It is the dull man who is always sure, and the sure man who is always dull.
H. L. Mencken
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2004, 07:01 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

open nero burning rom (not smart start or nero express) then close the wizard page and goto Recorder, Burn Image and make the page look like this
Attached Thumbnails
Help me with a laptop-nero.jpg  
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2004, 08:45 PM
Phat Pat's Avatar
Phat Spammer
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: /home/pat
Posts: 1,432
Send a message via AIM to Phat Pat

that didnt work, it still wont boot to the cd,

the knoppix cds I have made work fine on other computers but not the laptop

when I use the xp cd it shows "press any key to boot from cd"

when I use the knoppix cd it just shows "operating system not found" which is the same thing it says when it tries to boot from the hard disk (boot order is cd-rom drive, harddisk)

Im so confused.
__________________
God's got this all wrong. We are not special. We are not crap or trash either. We just are, and what happens just happens.
And God says, "No, that's not right."
Yeah. Well. Whatever. You can't teach God anything. -Tyler Durden

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2004, 08:50 PM
GrahamGarside's Avatar
Member/Contributer
 
Join Date: September 2004
Location: England
Posts: 4,572

does the bios have an option for the cdrom along the lines of 'performance or quiet/stability' if so try changing it
how old is the laptop?
__________________
"Well yes but I'm afraid I prematurely shot my wod on what was supposed to be a dry run if you will, so now I'm afraid I have something of a mess on my hands."

Tobias Fünke, M.D.

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2004, 09:09 PM
chrisbard's Avatar
Benchmarker
 
Join Date: March 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,252
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisbard

Hey, did you try using a different XP installation cd? Maybe the XP cd is not in perfect condition !!!
__________________
I've heard that linux community came up with better implemented security in it's latest Linux Mint Gold version, it's actually preventing the user to log in, thus posing 0 risk in contamining the computer with malware! Well done to the open source community!

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2004, 09:57 PM
Phat Pat's Avatar
Phat Spammer
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: /home/pat
Posts: 1,432
Send a message via AIM to Phat Pat

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrahamGarside
does the bios have an option for the cdrom along the lines of 'performance or quiet/stability' if so try changing it
how old is the laptop?

It's a pentium 1, yes it has that option, its set to performance. I'll try changing it.


EDIT: changed it to 'variable', and the problem is still here.
__________________
God's got this all wrong. We are not special. We are not crap or trash either. We just are, and what happens just happens.
And God says, "No, that's not right."
Yeah. Well. Whatever. You can't teach God anything. -Tyler Durden

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 12th November, 2004, 09:58 PM
Phat Pat's Avatar
Phat Spammer
 
Join Date: July 2002
Location: /home/pat
Posts: 1,432
Send a message via AIM to Phat Pat

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbard
Hey, did you try using a different XP installation cd? Maybe the XP cd is not in perfect condition !!!
I only have the one he gave me, and yes it is a bit scratched.
__________________
God's got this all wrong. We are not special. We are not crap or trash either. We just are, and what happens just happens.
And God says, "No, that's not right."
Yeah. Well. Whatever. You can't teach God anything. -Tyler Durden

AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
laptop mic captaincurran Graphics and Sound cards; Speakers and other Peripherals 8 10th January, 2006 12:13 AM
2GB in a laptop! cadaveca Hardware Hacking 5 21st April, 2005 05:58 PM
What laptop to buy..... graftonater General Hardware Discussion 4 13th August, 2004 12:13 AM
LAptop without OS stigweed General Hardware Discussion 9 13th September, 2003 03:03 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0