AOA Forums AOA Forums AOA Forums Folding For Team 45 AOA Files Home Front Page Become an AOA Subscriber! UserCP Calendar Memberlist FAQ Search Forum Home


Go Back   AOA Forums > Software > OS, Software, Firmware, and BIOS


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2005, 04:30 PM
barneygumble742's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 397
Send a message via AIM to barneygumble742 Send a message via Yahoo to barneygumble742

linux and integrated NICs

i want to build a linux box with in an all-in-one board. i'm concerned about linux and its support for the nic that comes with it. i had one nic card (pci) that rh6 just wouldn't recognize but i heard they're better these days. same goes for a sound card i had (onboard) that rh6 didn't recognize. how good is linux when it comes to supporting onboard NICs?
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.50GHz
GTX 260
2GB RAM
32in + 24in LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2005, 05:23 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

In my VERY limited experiance they have come along way and it should see your onboard nic just fine.
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2005, 05:48 PM
barneygumble742's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 397
Send a message via AIM to barneygumble742 Send a message via Yahoo to barneygumble742

thanks rob. i checked on http://www.linuxcompatible.org/compatibility.html and that's very resourceful.
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.50GHz
GTX 260
2GB RAM
32in + 24in LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2005, 06:21 PM
robbie's Avatar
AOA Staff
 
Join Date: November 2001
Location: Out in the desert of Ca.
Posts: 12,548
Send a message via AIM to robbie Send a message via MSN to robbie Send a message via Yahoo to robbie Send a message via Skype™ to robbie

Nice read, thanks for the link
Rob
__________________
Taking each day as it comes
Grow, learn and OVERCLOCK. Need help?? Ask me.
Your Mommy!! (Aug/02) Welcome to the fold.
Buy it, Sell it, or Trade it in the AoA classifieds!!
AOA Team fah
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th March, 2005, 11:57 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Linux is pretty good, on the whole, with network interfaces. However, do make sure that linux supports the board that you're going to get before buying it!
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 7th March, 2005, 04:24 AM
barneygumble742's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: June 2003
Posts: 397
Send a message via AIM to barneygumble742 Send a message via Yahoo to barneygumble742

that's what i came here to check. after being on aoaforums for a while and knowing that i can get some great help with epox boards...i'm leaning towards an epox board that supports a sempron chip (which will be my first amd chip). i'm kind of exciting because i hate dual-booting linux and i'm at a stage where i need a linux box 24/7 to keep up. also want to check out amd so i figured its the right time. i want to get a all in one system to keep costs down but then i realized that linux was giving me headaches when it came to ethernet support. so if y'all know of a good epox board for me, i'm all ears.
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.50GHz
GTX 260
2GB RAM
32in + 24in LCD
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 7th March, 2005, 10:39 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

Tell you what - why not provide a shortlist of EPoX boards that will suit your needs. That way we can give you suggestions as to what is and isn't supported. The nForce 2 network adapter is supported under linux, as are the realtek adapters.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2005, 03:23 AM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

interestingly, linux doesnt support my VIA K8T800Pro "velocity" onboard gigabit NIC. On the other hand, OpenBSD does
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2005, 10:39 AM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

The VIA Velocity NIC is supported with the 'via-velocity' driver. If your distro doesn't already have it, you can download it from VIA themselves.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2005, 01:11 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

OMG does it really? I went through the horror of a full Fedora core 3 install, followed by a SuSe install, followed by a Mandrake 10.2 (mandrake isnt much fun to use but its cuddlesome interface and great driver support helps) and none of them worked. My realtec 10/100 half duplex works fine, but the velocity never works. OpenBSD was a charm. .

It also is like having a superiority complex, linux users consider themselves to be superior to the windows/mac public, BSD community heavyweights spend their time calling brilliant linux programmers noobs and pointing out security flaws in popular distros. Its like being the unix guy thats even cooler than the other unix guy LOL.

That and i got 2 free T-Shirts with my OpenBSD disks. And one of them says "CHIX DIG OpenBSD". Now THAT is cool. That and it works fine with my NIC.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2005, 08:17 PM
Daniel ~'s Avatar
Chief BBS Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Seattle Wa.
Posts: 45,606

Can you run games on it?
__________________
"Though all men live in ignorance before mystery,
they need not live in darkness...
Justice is foundation and Mercy ETERNAL
."
DKE

"All that we do is touched by Ocean
Yet we remain on the shore of what we know."
Richard Wilbur

[img]/forum/attachments/random-nonsense/16515-sigs-dan_drag.jpg[/img]
Subscribers! Ask Pitch about a Custom Sig Graphic

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2005, 08:30 PM
Chief Systems Administrator
 
Join Date: September 2001
Location: Europe
Posts: 13,075

OpenBSD is a production grade OS, and isn't really suited to games playing. It's fantastic if you want a really stable OS that'll sit there and do exactly what you ask it to do.

OpenBSD has it's security reputation simply by the fact that by default, it offers only one service to the outside world. Of course, once you start to install applications on the system, it's a different matter.
__________________
Any views, thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. They don't necessarily represent those of my employer (BlackBerry).
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 8th March, 2005, 11:54 PM
dsio's Avatar
Steve Jobs
 
Join Date: October 2002
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 8,037

i play Unreal2004, CS1.6, DOD, Jedi Knight 3, Doom 3 on OpenBSD through Cedega. Anything you can run on linux can run on OpenBSD and it doesnt have a performance overhead either. Unix on unix is virtually seamless. The thing i cant believe is the stability. My mail / FTP server on OpenBSD (Athlon XP 2400+, 2GB ram, EPoX 8K3A) has 240 days uptime on it since 3 days ago. That is scarey... Try to run a windows server for 240 days. And i know for an absolute fact, that there is NOBODY reading my damn email, or leeching my FTP.

Its peace of mind, just because it sits there and shuts the hell up, and does what its told.

The other bit i like is that its less fragmented than linux in terms of applications, drivers, and libraries. Linux has severe version skew issues in every aspect of the operating system, and very few "standards". Because OpenBSD has a council of people agreeing on standards, it is alot simpler to run and maintain. If you need something that isnt on OpenBSD, get it from linux. Easy.
__________________
Notebook: Apple Macbook Pro 13" i7 2.7Ghz (3.4Ghz max) 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz (Mac OSX 10.6.7)
Desktop: ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 (Yorkfield) @ 3.60Ghz (Folding SMP Linux)
Running Fedora 15 Linux (GNOME 3)
Dual Dell 2407WFP
AOA Team fah

Drivers, Games, Demos, Mods and Overclocking Tools At AOAFiles
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double NICs captaincurran Mobile Devices and Networking 5 28th January, 2006 06:38 PM
why few integrated video? barneygumble742 General Hardware Discussion 5 29th March, 2005 02:03 AM
Gigabit NICs Gizmo Mobile Devices and Networking 12 23rd February, 2005 04:24 PM
Is the Integrated AGP on 8RGA+ controlled by NB or SB? cintrone EPoX MotherBoards 2 1st September, 2003 06:46 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Copyright ©2001 - 2010, AOA Forums
Don't Click Here Don't Click Here Either

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0